Trezor Firmware Update: New Coins Have Been AddedsteemCreated with Sketch.

Trezor has just announced their latest firmware update, which includes support for no less than 4 extra cryptocurrencies.

trezor_update
Image Source

Trezor Hardware Wallet

Recently, Trezor announced it's new firmware update. This new version - 1.6.0 - comes with a couple of new features and - which is more important - supports 4 extra cryptocurrencies.

Before the update, you were able to use your Trezor hardware wallet to secure the currencies listed below:

  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Litecoin (LTC)
  • DASH
  • Zcash (ZEC)
  • Bitcoin Cash / Bcash (BCH)
  • Ethereum (ETH)
  • Ethereum Classic (ETC)
  • ERC-20 Tokens

 

Quite a list, if you ask me. But with the new update, 4 more coins can be secured on the Trezor device.

newcoins

New Coins

In november, Trezor users could already claim their Bitcoin Gold. The new update gives this crypto a permanent place in the list of supported cryptocurrencies.

The second coin that has been added is Expanse (EXP), which can be accessed by using  MyEtherWallet.

Ubiq (UBQ) is the third coin that can now be securely saved on your Trezor device. Just like EXP, you'll be using MyEtherWallet to get access to it, but the difference between both is that you'll have to input the correct derivation path (m/44'/108'/0'/0) manually for now. However, Trezor announce this should be fixed 'fairly soon'.

And last but not least, NEM has been added to the list of supported coins too.

You can read the announcement on the Trezor blog

 

Question

I love the Trezor hardware wallet. I also own a Ledger Nano S, but personally I prefer Trezor, because it is much user-friendly. I'm very pleased with the integration of the new coins, because in spite of owning both devices, I still have to keep some of my coins elsewhere, since they're not supported by either Trezor nor Ledger Nano S.

question

Storing them on a hardware device is still the safest way to keep your cryptocurrencies, so I'd like to see even more coins added to Trezor, IOTA being one of them.

I'm really curious which coins you would like Trezor to support in the future. Please let me know.




If you like this post, feel free to follow me, upvote it or resteem it!


Some Other Posts You Might Be Interested In:


Great Content ánd Free Coins...? That's Refind! Here's Your Invitation Link

New Cryptocurrency Airdrops December 12th, 2017

Envion ICO - A Worthless Marketing Gig Or A Future Goldmine?

NXT, The Second-Generation Crypto That Will Be The REAL Competitor For Bitcoin

Man Is Selling Real Estate In Exchange For Bitcoin. Smart Move Or Risky Business?

Sort:  

Which is the most secure to invest in?

In my personal opinion: none. What is hot today, can be gone tomorrow or next week. I don't have the technical background to perform a decent analysis and make predictions. But even if I could, it'll always be a gamble.

When you upgrade the firmware on a Trezor that you're already using, in order to add support for new coins, is there any risk that your existing private keys can be lost/damaged? I ask, because there's no way I'd want to take the risk of losing my private keys.. on the other hand, I'd prefer not to pay for a new Trezor just to provide support for additional coins.. Any insights that anyone could provide..?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55