Scam Warning! Bitcoin phishing scam.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

is this a Russian phishing scam? source

So I got the strangest text around 10 PM last night, it came from an 40 digit number "@h":

SUBJ: (a ten digit number)
MSJ: You just received 2.2 BTC in your account, please confirm it: http://gg.gg/9m2ku (coinbase)

DON'T Click on that link! Unless you are someone who is savvy about this sort of thing. I'm not so I didn't click on it. I don't actually have a coinbase account that I know of and I sure was not expecting 2.2 BTC. This is a scam right?

Has anyone else gotten such a text?
Are they targeting me because of my Steemit.com account? I did give them my phone number.

I just wanted to give everyone a heads up, let me know if this or something similar has happened to you or if you know what the heck is going on here in the comments. Please resteem to spread the word. I have gotten probably millions of scam emails but this is my first scam text, have you gotten one yet?

Check out some of my recent posts:

The adult coaching all the Florida children calling to have their gun rights stripped from them in Soros' Children's Crusade

If this is not defamation, what is?

British thought criminals convicted of speech crimes.

New study shows that you have probably been drinking a lot of plastic

They said they weren't coming after anyone's guns, well now it is time to turn them in kids.

Sort:  

Growing up, I never got anything for free unless someone tried to offer something for something...not free. Why do people fall for obvious scam shit like this?!!!

It was pretty tempting, if I actually had a coinbase account and had BTC coming and going I might have clicked on it.

You can try searching the number online or just the web address in Google so you don't actually go to the website.

But yeah, if you're not expecting somebody to give you any BTC or don't have your address out there much, it's a scam. This is probably the equivalent of something in your spam email folder saying you have millions of dollars ready to be deposited into your account and they just need your personal info :).

Delete and move on. Even block the number in case it continues.

I get texts like that all the time. Not always Bitcoin related, but usually just things like:

"Here's that link I was telling you about," from an unknown number.

I got a call from someone the other day asking me if I wanted to make money investing in "the Bitcoin" (his words). This completely interested me. I ended up completely schooling him and making him hang up on me when I started asking him questions about blockchain and cryptocurrency that I knew he wouldn't be able to answer. He just wanted me to send him money to buy me Bitcoin I guess. I wonder how often that actually works on people.

"the Bitcoin" LOL can I get that at "the Walmart"?

All scam alerts are much appreciated, especially by this newbie crypto trader. Good post - keep it coming.

Thanks for the heads-up. I haven't gotten one like that, but I'm resteeming this post to reach my followers. They need to be warned too.

Thanks, it both tempted me and creeped me out. It would be pretty great if someone sent me 2.2 BTC but I knew it was too good to be true.

Thanks for sharing. It has really helped us to know and point is noted.

Congratulations @funbobby51! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24