Am I a Crypto Bro?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

What a derogatory name.

And you know, events like those described in this article with a masterfully crafted title: "At This Crypto Event The Attendees Really Were High". If you read it fast like me and with a particular bias, you would have assumed the number of attendees was really high. Yeah... no.

In the article they mention "Bitcoin Bros" as a particular type of group that is emergent. And yeah, we've all seen it if you've ever braved the various cryptocurrency talk forums like reddit, and even some here, actually. But these people, while helping with adoption, do us all a disservice in their blind hype.

One day I was discussing this topic with coworkers and I was labeled as a "Crypto Bro". I took offense to that, because I don't believe I should be grouped into that same category of mindless HODL fanatics. With these people in mind, it's no wonder that all discussions involving cryptocurrency with friends end up in a one-sided "This is crap" attitude.

Although, I'm sure I am not entirely innocent in propagating the hype train. I've observed myself getting way more excited than I should be about the subject. There's plenty of holes in my ability to explain why I believe in it. But even then, I take a more measured approach to cryptocurrencies, and it's rather annoying when the person you are arguing with is completely dismissive of this current phenomenon.

The full benefits of this blockchain paradigm (by which I pretty much mean decentralization of trust) is still being explored, and people that don't understand its limitations will be lead to ruin. To the skeptics' credit, it's valuable for them to continue to ask the questions:

  • "Does this project really benefit from decentralization?"

I think it's hard to put a value on decentralization, because centralization in companies is proven and already works well for so many applications. Yes, there are trust issues, but it is it enough? And is the alternative good enough? Though I suppose that's just a matter of time. One might argue that there's a certain amount of inefficiency in a decentralized system that cannot be overcome. Not sure myself....

  • "What are its fundamentals in terms of value?"

Cut out the speculation effect. What does the platform offer for people with money? Obviously the value isn't meant to keep going up. It needs to put a price on the offerings. And the benefit cannot be merely "the more coins you have the more of the coin we'll give you". That's like a company paying dividends without providing any other service. It's going to bleed to death.

Anyway that was quite a ramble. Point is, I'm not your crypto bro, bro. Also, HODL all the coins!


eonwarped_tax.png
steemengineBanner.png
eonwarped_red.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income:
MannaBase and SwiftDemand
Trade STEEM on Binance
Sort:  

But you're my crypto brother from the internet mother... right?

If you want some fun entertainment, check out my good friend , @buttcoins he is a real hoot. He recently started vlogging and he has a little project he's doing where he plays the character, "Crypto Bro".

Ooh this looks pretty interesting, I'll give it a watch. Thanks!

Yo, Bro. Hahaha. Nice rant. How dare they lump you in with the likes of...

SIGNATURE.png

Thanks for sharing this post. I agree with the two questions that you have proposed towards the end. I have been trying to keep up with all of the new stuff that is coming out every day with blockchain technology. I see that this project or that project has just started and I often ask myself, is that something that really needs to be moved to blockchain? I uderstand it can be built on it, but does it need to be? I don't know all of the ins and outs, but I get passionate when I talk about it too. My amount of investment though would separate me greatly from the Crypto Bro club I hope.

As long as we are critical enough, we should be good in this crazy landscape :)

Regardless of the negative connotations of crypto bro, I think you're a crypto bro. All those other "crypto bro"s aren't crypto bros because they're not that good. But you're really good and nice and crypto-brotherly. <3 So I agree with Amy too!

Hahaha. Fake crypto bros. I always feel "bro" rubs me the wrong way when I read it out loud. Must be a cultural thing.

Ooooh, for me it sounds cool :) Although I don't use it. Must be a lack of cultural immersion!

Crypto brofist!!....oh wait :D

You’re such a hoot Eon! If you don’t like Bro then you are just our OpalDad that has many talents.

What am I supposed to do with this with no image in the post? Have you seen how I work? Have you even looked at my audition tape? (If you were a David Letterman fan, you'll recognize the quote.)

I don't recognize it :). I didn't feel like finding an image. I suppose I could scribble something but eh. Just let it be I suppose.....

That's ok. I fixed it for you. You'll see.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #90 (3/31/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44