Still Smiling After My Biggest Crypto Loss: What's Yours?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

cry_smile.jpg

At the moment there is no denying that the crypto market is depressed. We have moved from the exhilarating highs of last year to the depressing lows of today. Some cryptos are still up if you take the average over 18 months or so, like Bitcoin and Verge to name but two, however most of us are in the doldrums.

Laugh When You Want To Cry

If you've read any of my motivational stuff then you'll know that I am a big advocate of positive thinking and training your mind to react positively in the face of adversity. So I felt I should write this short piece on my biggest crypto failures and invite you to share yours too!

Zed Is For Zero

So as you're probably aware in January everything was very much rosy in the crypto garden. We had a nice high Steem price, Bitcoin was still five figures and the whole market was generally buoyant.

So like most of us, I was using up a portion of my profits to buy up cryptos whilst trying to increase the size and spread of my portfolio.

As I was perusing Bittrex one afternoon I spied upon Z-Classic and used the stupidest criteria I think I've ever used when it comes to buying a cryptocurrency for the purposes of investment.

My thinking went something along the lines of this;

"Hmm yes, I'm still a bit upset that I slept on the whole Zed Cash thing. I could have bought that for a dollar, indeed I meant to but for some reason didn't.

This Z-Classic seems good, there's been a fork or something hasn't there...?

Ach, things are going well, I'll buy some . . .

Huh, they're worth about $150 each, ah well, things are good I'll get a couple and see how it goes."

Seriously, my thinking was not much less woolly than I describe above, so I bought two.

Crash Bang Wallop

One week later as I was cashing in some SBD, I decided I wanted to get some MANA and for some reason that simply escapes me now, some Dogecoin.

So I had a look at the value of Z-Classic and it had fallen from about $150 to around $139.

Luckily I decided to sell one in order to buy the MANA and Doge and I think a couple of others I was looking at.

Today Z-Classic is worth approximately $8.82

LOL

Zed actually fell to around $2.70 about a week later and when I logged in to check the price I actually laughed, seriously; what else are you going to do?

"Oh well"

I told myself;

*"At least I managed to sell one for only around a 15% loss."

I flirted with the idea of buying more, but seeing as I had bought it on a whim in the first place, I had no idea if it was undervalued or not so decided not to. Which is a shame as I could have made quite a bit of money back as it soon bounced back to roughly $8 and went to over $17 a few weeks ago.

Ho-Hum

So there we have it, my biggest loss on a single coin, I make that roughly 94ish%

Don't even get me started on Einsteinium which I purchased with zero research purely because the legendary physicist is my hero.

"Hmm, what did I say above about using stupid criteria to buy a coin?"

I bought 100 for around $1.58 and a few days later another 100 for more or less $1.85. Today Einsteinium (EMC2) is worth around $0.08.

I am actually laughing as I write this, what else is there to do?!

Oh well it reminds me of the old adage, don't invest what you can't afford to lose. I would definitely have preferred to have made money on those investments, and I could do with some extra cash at the mo, but at least it hasn't ruined me.

*“That which does not kill us, makes us stronger.”

- Fredirich Nietzche

WHAT ARE YOUR BIGGEST LOSSES IN THE CURRENT CRYPTO CRISIS? OR MAYBE YOU'RE ONE OF THE SMART ONES WHO HAS CLEANED UP WHILE THERE IS BLOOD ON THE STREETS?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Title image: Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Cryptogee

Sort:  

My initial investment is down 80% :( but still HODLing strong, I believe patience is key!

Patience indeed, it's the only thing we have left! :-D

Cg

I haven't invested a penny but i started earning steem and sbd when they were around 7$, and today they are below dollar!
should i count it as lose or not?
but i have earned it with hardwork and fully dedication.

Yeah that's tough one, it is a loss because your time is worth something, however it is not as painful as losing actual money I guess.

Here's hoping that at least Steem bounces back!

Cg

I hope the coins you have invested in will allow bouncing back to the value you have bought it, in the next bull run.
My prayers are with you.

Hmm, I don't want to say sorry, because I know you are much more stronger than that... Smile

I'm not one of the early adopters of anything, I want to see many people doing it before I do it, this habit is bad as I have lost so many opportunities as a result, but it has saved me from fallen into some troubles as well. For this reason, the only money I've ever lost on cryptocurrencies are as a result of drop in value of my steemit reward and the loss of my first steemit account. At least, I've lost something too, and I need to laugh instead of crying.... Smile

Yup, caution will definitely protect you in times like these! :-D

Cg

Smile, sure...
I do hope that all the coin bounce back very soon. It's getting discouraging already

I put about 10kUSD into a company called DPW that just opened a bitcoin mining operation when bitcoin was flying. I made the biggest rookie mistake and chased a stock that was shooting up. I bought at $5 a share. It quickly plummeted, and to make matters worse, they immediately started diluting the stock. It's at .40 now and it's so low it's not even worth selling at a loss. I'm just stuck holding the bags and hoping it goes back up someday.

Oh man, sorry to hear that... I don't think bitcoin mining is profitable unless you own dozens of miners and even then...

Well hopefully they'll bounce back when the Bitcoin prices bounces; here's hoping!

Cg

I hope you are aware how lucky you are! The sums you are talking about is really not much.
In December I made 40k+ and a lot of that I exchanged for Steem and did the biggest mistake in converting it into SP!
Now this was really the worst move to make, because my money got locked into Steem and all I could do was watch my investment get lower without being able to park it in USDT as everybody in his right mind would have done.
So by now, I have not only lost all my gains, but also most of my initial investment of several thousand US$.
And you know what? Even I am lucky compared to people who have lost MUCH more...

Ouch, I'm really sorry to hear that, the only (slightly) comforting thing I can say about that is Steemit does seem to be cyclical, so hopefully around November you'll see a boost, not sure if it'll go back to 8 bucks though :-(

Remember next time, you can power down and get back 1/13th of your total SP every week, small consolation but it helps.

Cg

Yeah, I'm already powering down, but this is a slow process and it hurts to just be able to sit and watch week per week.
Well, at least I learnt a lot. One thing being, that in crypto you should never bind your investment longterm. Lesson learned...
Thank you!

I don't know your situation, but if you can hang on I would do it. I'm just speaking from personal experience.

I'm an early adopter and joined in May '16, after the initial payouts the price rocketed to $5 and I had at one point about $140,000 worth of SP, I was so high...

Then the price started to slip $5, $4, $3, $2, $1.50, $1.25...

I started powering down around the $1.50 mark (also powerdown ratio changed from 2 years to 13 weeks), and watched the price go down and down. Managed to cash in roughly $15,000, almost all my SP, by that point the price was around $0.50.

Then I watched the price go up again and saw how I could have been a whale if I had just been patient...

Anyway, whatever you do make sure you DO NOT POWER DOWN EVERYTHING as then you won't be able to use your account, leave at least 1 Steem in there.

Health, wealth, and a $10 Steem price!

Cg

My account here was over 16 grand, now its barely 3. The part that hurts is I knew better and was even telling my friends to take some off the table. I took out some, but not nearly enough!

Yeah I hear ya! When mine went up to around $30,000 or so, I thought to myself 'should I power down about $5k and just stick it in a fiat account?'

'Nah, wait it'll be even more in a few months and you'll regret that' I said to myself.

In the words of one H. Simpson Doh!

Cg

Yo soy de las personas que piensan que cuando una moneda está baja, es momento de invertir en ella, porque seguro va a subir...
Dejando de lado esto (el aspecto monetario) me concentraré en hablar del aspecto social y emocional, es natural que tengamos incertidumbre, pero no por esto debemos dejar de publicar nuestros artículos.
Steemit es una excelente plataforma para drenar nuestras emociones, sentimientos y cualidades, yo soy un blogger a tiempo completo y steemit ha cambiado mi vida, estoy seguro que como a mi, "mucha gente es feliz gracias a Steemit"
Este es el mejor momento de invertir en nuestra plataforma, pero no solo dinero, sino también nuestro conocimiento, habilidades y destrezas y dar lo mejor de nosotros.
PD: Gracias @cryptogee por tu apoyo con mis post, amigo
I'm one of those people who think that when a currency is low, it's time to invest in it, because it's sure to go up... Leaving aside this (the monetary aspect) I will concentrate on talking about the social and emotional aspect, it is natural that we have uncertainty, but this does not mean we should stop publishing our articles.Steemit is an excellent platform to drain our emotions, feelings and qualities, I am a full-time blogger and steemit has changed my life, I am sure that like me, "many people are happy thanks to Steemit"
This is the best time to invest in our platform, but not only money, but also our knowledge, skills and abilities and give the best of us.
PD: Thanks @cryptogee for your support with my post, amigo
Again...
THANK YOU!

Work is slow so all I put in is time. I still learn something every once in a while so its worth it.

Ohhhhh everyone sad for down market....everyone hopes market going up soon....some peoples says market going up for december....the cryptocurrency continous to suffer a major this below this...coin is going down with the market dip....The outlook for next year rising and rising rates...thanks for sharing..

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34