Steemians: WARNING: Day 3!! Do NOT use Poloniex at this time for your STEEM and SBD transfers, Ethereum, and maybe other things - Here is why:

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

TODAY!! Poloniex issues this STEEM / STEEMIT message in yellow, saying they have disabled STEEM wallets and direct the wording towards blaming the STEEMIT team!


--

It says:

"STEEM is currently under maintenance or experiencing wallet/network issues. Deposits and withdrawals will remain disabled until a solution is found, which may require an update from the STEEM team. Any updates must be tested and audited before enabling."


SBD is taking a huge dump now, down ~15% and likely is closely tied to Poloniex problems, with the Steem currencies we all use and need to have working! Forget the last few days of being in the red, as the whole market took a crap and bled out, SBD were still performing strongly, until something like this goes up!!!


Please share this post and help warn others NOT to use Poloniex, and the Ethereum wallet issues at Polo are still ongoing similarly!

--

I still have $500 SBD lost there from DAYS ago, not showing in my wallet that I transferred out to there, and now we all have no access to our funds????? - which is why I started doing these posts, tied to the following Steemian related issues:


Late last week / this past weekend I stated:

--

Our friend here @teamsteem had a very strong warning to all of us here, he does not want to see anyone hurt - he has a good heart -- he warned people like others have done to NOT USE POLONIEX for any Steem or SBD transfers right now:


Please Resteem this post!! Help others also! They are your family.


On top of yesterday's warnings we gave you in a post very late last nite (EST which I have included again here today to spread word, the last 24 hours, Poloniex has now also disabled Ethereum wallets!!!!

See here in the bottom R. of this screenshot - that I have highlited over in green by my cursor and below that, I have pasted their NOTICE on this word for word!! :

--

NOTICES:

Due to ongoing network instability, we've disabled Ethereum deposits/withdrawals. We'll enable once we know the network is functioning properly.

Posted by MobyDick at 2017-06-22 17:50:35


I use and have regularly used Poloniex charts as an example, at times, for graphic purposes but here is what @teamsteem said in the comments section of my post earlier tonight. I edited that post as it was important to him and I like him - he is a good guy!!

Neither of us, nor others -- want anyone new to crypto or who have been in crypto awhile to get hurt and if you like -- please go look at my wallet and see that I have $500 SBD sitting at Poloniex myself -- that money is my SteemFest money to get to Portugal.

I am writing this warning, with the words and blessing of @teamsteem, showing you that we can all be a TEAM - Together Everyone Achieves More! - That we can and should care about each other - and I am working with him to show you--- Steemit family this and we care.


If anyone here does not want you hurt, it is people like me and @teamsteem who have money sitting at Poloniex, I have $500 SBD there and almost as much - so does @teamsteem !!


You can see from my wallet screenshot, I am backing up what I am saying...... my SBD deposit to Poloniex was sent, nearly 12 hours ago, and it is NOT in my Polo wallet!! (Today, June 22nd ~ 12 noon or so)


Poloniex is the biggest exchange going - most people know their name and logo and charts, it was for a graphic illustration only! That's why I use their charts much of the time - people recognize them but man, do they have a lot of problems these days, the news has been everywhere for months, my friends!

--

teamsteem68 · 43 minutes ago

I've sent 490 SBD 23 hours ago to @poloniex and I haven't received them. I've triple check my memo code and opened up a ticket to @poloniex to let them know. I also seen a lot of Steemian in the last hours to days who talked about the similar situation.

@barrydutton as soon as you see my comment, correct your title so that it tell people not to sent SBD to Poloniex. Also make a clear warning that it might be the same for Steem as I've also seen people mentioning that the same happened to them in regard to sending Steem to poloniex.

I will remove my flag when you do so and I might even replace it with an upvote.


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.




If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/steemstock/@barrydutton/steemstock-update-1-steemstock-still-happening-event-organizer-says-life-got-in-the-way-date-changed-to-feb-march-so-it-does-not

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/official-poll-results-just-in-steemit-wins-again

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/some-good-news-2-steemit-milestones-thanks-i-hit-2000-followers-and-14-000-posts-or-what-a-ride-steemit-family-thank-you

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/the-steemu-asks-what-are-you-blogging-about-today-or-e-3-or-drop-your-links-and-ideas-here-like-mad-pictures-thoughts-ideas-etc

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/steemians-warning-day-2-do-not-use-poloniex-at-this-time-for-your-steem-and-sbd-transfers-ethereum-and-maybe-other-things-here

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemit-weekend-camp-fire-series-or-weekend-8-or-we-are-steemit-family-come-visit-around-the-fire-with-your-family-every-weekend

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/facebook-wallet-fridays-show-me-yours-or-e-3-or-that-s-right-think-on-that-a-new-series-for-outreach-and-to-give-fb-the-business


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

Could also apply this to Polo -- or to those people thinking Gov't regulation is the key.....

Gov't regulation is part of the constant problem in life.

That is partly why we are all here.

They screw up and or gouge everything they touch!!


I had a 2 hour argument, check that, "conversation", with my Dad about regulation this weekend. He kept insisting government regulation was necessary for one thing, but not for others, and I kept showing him why we don't need any regulation. He'd get to the point where he obviously was confounded and all he could do was laugh and shake his head. His cognitive dissonance was blatant.

Solid replies today, followed!!! The Cog. Diss. reference sealed it for me man, LOL

Thanks, followed you as well. Was on vacation for the past 2 weeks, but I'm back on steemit, renewed and refreshed!

Oh shoot, lookout now

LOL, welcome back and start givin er!!!

Day 3? It's been weeks for many others. They've had the wallets disabled for more than 3 days too. Luckily I only have a small amount outstanding on Poloniex and Bittrex is working great!

Consider Resteeming this post and help others!!!!

Agreed!!!

I just mean this is my 3rd post on this issue trying to warn people and put Polo on notice.

It is true the BTS wallets are disabled too.

That was in my post near the top also.

Good job.

Say it with me... Openledger.io

There you go LOL!!

More reasons they or @tradeqwick needs more coins and we know the people running these things!!

You've just answered the question I was going to post.

https://openledger.io/create-account

I switched back to Bittrex a month ago when Poloniex began showing issues.

Truth.

Spread the word, and this post and help others learn too!!!

I always check a few platforms before purchasing or selling cryptos.

Remember a penny saved, is a penny earned! Always appreciate the heads up @barrydutton

Thanks for the detailed warning. IMO, Poloniex is dangerous for all crypto, not just Steem. If you ever experience a problem, good luck getting help. I switched to bittrex and haven't experienced problems since.

Yeah I lost a lot of money on poloniex recently.

I started moving off Polo a few mths ago and have done barely anything there.

It was just my way of trying to be smart and not send all my stuff to one place, as a rule, which was a good idea at the time LOL

Thanks for the Bittrex recommendation. I've been using Poloniex but I don't want to run into this issue so I'll look into switching over.

So, you're saying it's like Coinbase...

I've never had a problem with coinbase that I can recall. But then again, the only thing I do with coinbase is make USD purchases and then immediately transfer my money out of it.

Thanks for the warning keep us posted.

Sounds like a good idea to avoid Poloniex all together

I think so.

I think a full out boycott before they wipe everyone out would be a good lesson.

Try a week for me. Using Bittrex now.

seems like a good reason to go to bittrex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22