Explaining the benefits Cryptocurrency is like getting a child to eat vegetables

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Image source

I got back home over the holidays and had to spend some time explaining Cryptocurrency to my family. See, most of them side with Jamie Dimon and believe that Bitcoin or Cryptocurrency for that matter is a scam and they are concerned that if it comes crashing down, it would wipe my finances with it. While I try to explain how it is beneficial to them, most of them think that it is an unsustainable and intangible system. They even thought that Steemit was a Ponzi scheme at some point.

Despite much effort trying to explain to them, I find that most people when they hear about Cryptocurrencies in general are like little children who refuse to eat vegetables. Don't get me wrong, most of these people are either my family or friends and I love them. However, sometimes it is just not easy to have a good discussion with them when bias is involved. Much like a child.

Children


Image source

First off, I refer to children in not a condescending manner. I have children of my own and I love them to bits but have you ever tried getting a 3 year old to try greens? Any vegetable, as long as it is green or if they even hear the mention of the dreaded V-word, they will immediately reject it. I once tried to use some pasta sauce to cover up the vegetables and my child took a look and asked what was it? I promptly responded that it was crunchy salad. My child then took a look and took a bite and said 'I loved it!'

That crunchy salad was celery and just the day before, my child was fighting to not have to eat it. The dramatic change of heart is of course, marketing. Market a certain vegetable well enough and they will not suspect a thing. The same goes for explaining about Cryptocurrency to those who are against it. I do believe there have been much bad marketing going on calling Bitcoin and the likes of it the next Tulip mania.

While I can explain the benefits of a decentralized monetary system, I suppose just like convincing a child to eat it, it takes good marketing, patience and a whole lot of convincing. Of course, seeing the results of one's work also helps. In this case when they see the returns or all the news of Bitcoin going parabolic in the news.

Vegetables


Image source

Vegetables can be extremely difficult to sell to children. They do not exactly taste great and they are very easily identified. Unless of course you cover the vegetables in cheese or batter for deep frying. Of course doing so would make it a very yummy but less healthy option. Furthermore, the results are not immediate, the child would often not see the effects of not eating vegetables until it is too late.

Like Cryptocurrency, I suppose the only way to know for sure which is going to succeed or fail is through a crystal ball. In addition, it is not exactly something that can be easily sold to everyone, especially since that it is something tangible. Furthermore, with the very negative media from governments, it makes convincing others on Cryptocurrency all the more difficult.

However, I do believe all of us who believe in the Blockchain technology, Steemit and its future are the ones who have taken our vegetables. Who knows? We may end up being that healthy kid in the classroom as compared to the weak looking one who did not have his vegetables in Cryptocurrency.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Time will tell. Steemit still survive today without revenue from any advertisement whatsoever compare to facebook leeching on peoples personal info and garbage ads. Steemit has huge potential to be the next big thing. Keep steeming on ;)

Agree, the moment Steemit starts advertising, its going to shoot through the roof I reckon.

What a thoughtful message and a parable of crypto

Thank you, appreciate you stopping by.

I'll take some broccoli for a snack while ready anything blockchain please :D

Yeah, blockchain vegetables are good for you =)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Nice bitcoin

What did you say to get them out of Ponzi scheme thinking (for Steem), curiously?

I pretty much aim for: Uh... you know it's free right?

Definitely, but.. Somehow everything is a ponzi scheme here. It's like they shut their ears and go lalalalalalala

Most people have the notion that cryptocurrencies are virtual which stays in our computer and hence they can't have a feel of it like real money.

But if we look objectively, even paper money is not backed by anything. Yet they are not able to wrap their head around this concept. Don't know why...

That's right, maybe if we print bitcoin on some paper, they will see 'value' in it. That being said, more people are jumping on the bandwagon now, which makes me afraid.

Printing Bitcoin!! Nice one :)

People who knows in what they are getting into jumping is not the problem.

Those who don't know what Bitcoin is and just investing is the scary part.

I feel like a child when I'm trying to understand it! lol I find it very difficult to wrap my head around. All I know for sure is that I really like the Steemit community. The rest I'm happy to leave to the experts :)

That's all that matters at times, as long as you enjoy doing something, there's no reason to crack your head over it. Blockchain on the other hand needs explanation at times because some people are particularly against it. At times I do wonder why.

I like that phrase "no reason to crack your head on it". I think I shall use that :)

totally agree with you... my family doesn't believe in cryptocurrency as well... and I have given up explaining to them as I am not good in explaining it... So I just keep on with my own crypto journey and show them the proof... even if they still don't believe it with proof... I am still fine with it...

You can buy all their christmas gifts with crypto. Perhaps then, they will believe.

They will listen to outsiders on this kind of things... similar situation as in MLM... So I am ok with that, as long as I know what I am doing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52