🎬 "Keep Smiling" - for Happy New Year Digital Art ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptoart5 years ago (edited)

MakersPlace, represented by @rito7 is holding their first of a series of contests here on the steem blockchain. Theme is "Happy", so this one is for me :-)

At first the "natively digital" condition seemed to be a big hindrance, but after checking back with the friendly and always helpful team at Makersplace, I was told, that this was to prevent someone just taking a picture of an existing physical piece for an entry and that my collage work was indeed acceptable. Yay!

I had a kind of "cheesy" picture in mind, with really bright colors and a funky animation.

keepSmiling_01.jpg



My first attempt came out a bit too silly, even for me.

keepSmiling_01a-1000x1333.jpg

I merged it into a background layer I had made from some glitched art file and chose a drawing I wanted to use for the eyes.
NikxStock.deviantART.com used for drawing reference (face)

keepSmiling_02-1000x593.jpg

I placed it on a separate layer and adjusted the colors to match the feel I wanted to create.

keepSmiling_03-1000x1333.jpg

Then I masked out the mouth from another artwork and changed the colors accordingly.

keepSmiling_04-1000x503.jpg

Together with another glitched segment and some "earrings" I added the mouth to the file, knowing that I wanted it to swing back and forth in the final piece. On a new layer I painted some exaggerated eyelashes, which were to only flash up for moments in the animation later.

keepSmiling_06-1000x595.jpg

Finally I wanted some daisys to run accross the bottom of the picture.

keepSmiling_07-1000x320.jpg

Since I had created all the elements on their own layers in Photoshop, I could add them to a library, for easy access of all the pieces for the animation in Adobe Animate. There I placed them again on separate layers and added the movement.

keepSmiling_08.jpg

After I trimmed it all a bit, I could export "Keep Smiling" as an animated gif. (Large file, may take a bit to load).

keepSmiling_09.gif

Finally I tokenized it on MakersPlace, where it is added to my store

https://makersplace.com/authenticity/0x2d9e5de7d36f3830c010a28b29b3bdf5ca73198e/1954/


keepSmiling_10-1000x640.JPG



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on BeScouted


My tokenized collectible art at on

MakersPlace


Planet Crypto (Play at your own risk)

Sort:  

Hihihi - hilarious!
Your animated creations are getting wacky-crazier every time!
upvoted and resteemed - shared on Visionary Art Twitter: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1090566459829440512

Awesome, thanks, Otto! Glad you like it. How did you do that sharing to twitter again? Trying to get my account going there... 8 years after singnig up ;-)

So greatly done and how funny ! ^_^
Would you have some animation app to recommend for someone who do not have photoshop or adobe animate..?😊

Thanks a lot for liking it.

I haven't tried any other software, so I don't know...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much, as always!

I have to try and find time to enter this! I love your colour here @reinhard-schmid and of course, your humour :)

Hehe... shouldn't encourage you to create extra competition, but yes, please enter. And yes, I'll be happy for you, if you win! In the meantime, maybe you could give a vote to your favorite on the contest page?

Ohh this is cool! I love the aesthetics and colours of this

Thank you! Looks like both chose flowers for a symbol of happyness :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43