The need for development - My Story

in #crypto8 years ago

Javascript, C#, C + +, HTML, CSS, Java, Python, Ruby, SQL, PHP...need I go on?

There are hundreds of languages and frameworks out there, many are outdated, many are very new but one thing we do know is that for the world to develop, for the world to build applications that solve global problems, and for the world to inspire, we, as the millennial generation must take it upon ourselves to learn languages. In 2016, we are present in one of the most exciting eras within the last 1000 years, technologically speaking. Yet, why was coding and programming not incorporated into our school syllabus? Why were we not empowered to go forth and create a product or service that could change the world? We were failed.

Throughout my school years I never knew what I wanted to do for a career - and why would I!? I fumbled through my school years choosing subjects that had the most interesting looking course, not knowing whether learning about the theory of pavlovian condition would actually benefit my career progression. Recently turning 23, I was inspired to start learning languages around 6 months ago by a post I saw on Reddit and it was the greatest decision of my life. I, for the first time in my life, are creating things. I love the word "thing", because it could literally mean anything. It could mean a new website homepage or an algorithm that can predict the movement of future crypto markets that enable us to make better decisions when trading on Bitfinex and Polo.

Now, I am in no way an expert in any language and I don't pretend to be. But what I do understand is that if our generation is not inspired to start learning languages, then how will our technological world advance and how can changes be made for the better. I guess this little piece was to try and inspire the average guy, like me and you, to pick up a laptop and dive straight in at the deep end. You will be making "things" quicker than you think and believe me you will not be able to stop smiling when you see it working after scratching your head for 6 hours.

I am inspired by decentralisation and the blockchain but it is all extremely new. Start now. Start now and we can all create some"thing" that could one day change the world.

JH

Sort:  

I upvoted you.

Congratulations @steemthisandthat! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

реrfесtly!

Writе gооd

Congratulations @steemthisandthat! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steemthisandthat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31