Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #5 - Crunchy Apricot Cheddar Thimbles & Muesli Choc BitessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181214_165803.jpg
Today we continue with Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen - Crunchy Apricot Cheddar Thimbles & Muesli Choc Bites.
I'm sure you all gathered I was somewhat stressed and strained last week when I made those special Indulgent Hampers but now with all the guests settled in and bookings sorted things are back to normal.
I had not made cookies for a long while but once I got going, I realised this still is my all-time favourite kitchen therapy with music playing in the background.
So I'm a Gemini and the mood changes from classics to pop to rock to stage shows to folk and even some country music to name but a few genres; just don't give me punk rock though!

While we start prepping for our baking session I would like to share one of my all time favourites with you - Leonard Cohen's Take this Waltz - and we'll be baking up a storm here in my kitchen making Crunchy Apricot Cheddar Thimbles which we will pack later to make up delicious home-baked gifts from the kitchen :)

Onto our baking class!

The crunchy and very cheesy Apricot Cheddar Thimbles are filled with Apricot Jam/Jelly or extra Cheese - I used Blue Mold Cheese, Crumbly Cottage Cheese & grated Cheddar cheese.

IMG_20181214_162459.jpg

Crunchy Apricot Cheddar Thimbles
Yields approx 5 dozen cookies

  • 250 gram Butter, softened
  • 500 ml Self-Raising Flour
  • 2 ml Salt
  • 625 ml grated Mature Cheddar Cheese
    Place into food mixer and blend till smooth
    IMG_20181214_132233_1.jpg
    IMG_20181214_132939.jpg

Form into small balls, place into sprayed patty pans, make a hollow in centre with a cork bottle stopper or back of wooden spoon.
IMG_20181214_144538.jpg

Fill with Apricot Jam
IMG_20181214_154729.jpg

Or cheese of choice
IMG_20181214_155430.jpg

Bake at 170C fan oven (or 180C regular oven) till light golden brown, cool on wire racks before placing in airtight containers to make up gifts later on.

IMG_20181214_132233_1-ANIMATION(1).gif

IMG_20181214_162451.jpg

Chewy Muesli Choc Bites are filled with Chocolate and topped with glace Cherries - delicious and nutritious little bites.

IMG_20181215_131738.jpg

Muesli Choc Bites
Yields approx 5 dozen

  • 150 gram Butter
  • 100 ml Honey
  • 2 ml Baking Soda
  • 500 ml Muesli
  • 250 ml Cake Flour
  • 125 ml soft Brown Sugar
  • 250 ml Coconut flakes
  • Approx 150 gram Baking Chocolate
  • 75 gram Glacé Cherries, halved

Melt butter and honey, stirring in baking soda
IMG_20181214_134445.jpg

Mix remaining dry ingredients, add to melted mixture and mix well to blend ingredients
IMG_20181214_135418.jpg
IMG_20181214_135749.jpg

Spoon 12,5 ml mixture into well-sprayed small patty pans, pressing down to form a slight hollow in centre.
IMG_20181214_140632.jpg

Bake at 160C fan oven (or 170C regular oven) for approx 8-10 minutes, leave to cool slightly before carefully removing from pans, cool on wire racks, then transfer to baking paper
IMG_20181214_163520.jpg

IMG_20181214_134445-ANIMATION.gif

Melt chocolate, fill centre of Muesli bites and top with half a glacé cherry

IMG_20181214_164634.jpg

Store in airtight container in refrigerator till use

As promised, I will give you some lovely ideas for packing your gifts from the kitchen using stuff we'd normally toss into the bin by the end of this week, a little peek at that :)

IMG-20181216-WA0010.jpg

Christmas time is full of nostalgia, a bittersweet time for me as I lost two brothers way too young around this time, so I will share the haunting If it be your Will performed by Leonard Cohen and The Webb Sisters, enjoy!

But whatever happens, let us never forget to stop and listen to the music!

IMG_20181214_165723.jpg

Hope you enjoyed having a virtual baking and music session with me, till next time for Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #6 when I will show you how to make magical shortbread cookie dough done various ways, which can be stored in the refrigerator, sliced and baked when required, followed by #7, where we will magically turn ordinary wine into Ouma Lily's Herbal Tonic Wine.

LINKS TO THIS SERIES
1. Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #1 - Drunken Fruit
IMG_20181205_124429.jpg

2. Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #2 - Passionfruit Curd & Apricot Mustard
IMG_20181207_094322.jpg

3. Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #3 - Sugar & Spice and all things nice Christmas Wreath
IMG_20181211_161425_1.jpg

4. Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #4 - Indulgent Gift Hampers
20181213_144518.jpg

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

This series of yours is really on a roll (pun intended), those little apricot thimbles look just like some my Mother used to make when I was knee high to grasshopper. She mainly stuck to the fruit fillings but cheese also sounds like a great choice too.
Nice choice on the music, I don't do music much anymore but I agree on the punk, to me it is junk.

Haha mr Papper, I've certainly been busy rockin n rollin :)
The cheese cookies is an old recipe, glad it brought back memories!
You should turn the music on during your long trips, may just make it feel shorter ;)
Thank you for your support!

It did bring the memories, Mom was a great baker and mother.
You are most welcome for the support.

Cheddar thimbles with more cheese... I think that would go a treat with my little one! Not sure about the older one, she's a bit more funny with cheese... but the little one will definitely wolf that down!

Oh they are very cheesy indeed, but my favourite still is the Apricot jam ones, having a sweet tooth! Thank you for the lovely feedback @bengy :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 183 (12/19/18)

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you so very much for the awesome support @adsactly-witness!

All this food look so delicious😊

Thank you so much @denissemata!

Wow, those look delicious! And you included such great instructions and step by step photos. Thanks!! ♥

Thank you for your lovely comments @squishysquid, they are delicious indeed:)

So lovely @lizelle! Christmas cookie baking is so fun, your guests, friends and family must certainly love you! A taste of both sweet and cheesy love it! :)

I just love the sweet and savoury combination of cheddar and apricot jam, you know my sweet tooth;)
Thank you for your support my friend :)

Dang your making me hungry these look so so good

Ah wish I could send some your way, thank you for your support @tattoodjay :)

Lol me to
Have a great day

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57