Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #3 - Sugar & Spice & all things nice Christmas WreathsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181211_161425_1.jpg
Life's getting pretty hectic here at Lily's Cottage with the school holidays almost upon us, my phone has been ringing at all hours with guests trying to do last minute bookings, but we're booked almost to the brim as everyone flocks to Durban every December!
Some guests struck it lucky by getting an upgrade when we received a longer booking in our smaller unit. Running a bnb & self catering establishment can be quite a juggling act during the busy season!
We simply love our job and to us every guest is a VIP, so we do go the extra mile; but really, guesthouse hosting is one of the most rewarding jobs I have ever had!
Many guests arrive looking quite strained but it's great seeing them at the end of their stay looking absolutely relaxed and reluctant to leave. That's when you know you have done your job well!

Back to Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #3 - Sugar & Spice & all things nice Christmas Wreath

As you can see, we will be using Chocolate, Marshmallows, Smarties, Jelly Tots, Peanut Brittle, Coconut, Sprinkles as well as Choc coated Pretzels - all ready-made sweets, so it really is no sweat
IMG_20181211_134649.jpg

As I hinted, today's gifts require very little skill in the kitchen and really make great little gifts. I will show you how to package them in my very last post. For now, the choccies are all safely inside the refrigerator, waiting to be used - it is summer here after all, we don't want them to melt to a sticky mess before we give them away!
IMG_20181211_161521.jpg

1. Chocolate clusters
IMG_20181211_142324.jpg

  • Cooking chocolate
  • Peanut brittle, coarsely chopped
  • Chocolate vermicelli
    Melt chocolate over double boiler, add peanut brittle
    IMG_20181211_140243.jpg
    Shape into small balls and roll in vermicelli or medium coconut flakes, place on baking paper in refrigerator to set
    IMG_20181211_141105.jpg

2. Jelly Tots & Smarties Chocs
IMG_20181211_161542.jpg

  • Cadbury's Milk Chocolate
  • Jelly Tots
  • Smarties
  • White Choc coated Pretzels, broken up
    This brand melts beautifully for this treat - melt over a double boiler, pour into molds
    Arrange the small sweets & pretzels into the chocolate and leave to set in refrigerator
    IMG_20181211_150256.jpg

3. Choc Marshmallows
IMG_20181211_144511.jpg

  • Cadbury Milk Chocolate, melted over double boiler
  • Pink & White Marshmallows
  • Sprinkles
  • Toothpicks
    Dip bottom half of Marshmallows into chocolate
    IMG_20181211_143304.jpg
    Roll in sprinkles to cover melted chocolate
    IMG_20181211_143514.jpg

IMG_20181211_161425_1~2.jpg

Sugar & Spice & all things nice Christmas Wreath
IMG_20181211_161432.jpg
A quick look for all the busy people
IMG_20181211_134649-ANIMATION.gif

LINKS TO THIS SERIES
1. Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #1 - Drunken Fruit
IMG_20181205_124429.jpg
2. Gifts from my Heart, Gifts from my Kitchen #2 - Passionfruit Curd & Apricot Mustard
IMG_20181207_094322.jpg

Hope you've all enjoyed the choc treats, till next time for Gifts from my Kitchen #4.

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

I used to have a guest house, but targeted mostly business travellers (being in Secunda), and actually closed from 15 Dec - 15 Jan ... was very convenient to be closed during the holidays ;-)

So you had the best of both worlds hey;) We love having business guests too!

Do you need a child? Can I be it? :D These look wonderful and like something that would make my day amazing. I love simply looking at these wonderful creations and I am sure that I would love eating them even more! 💚

Ah I would adopt such a wise child anytime ;)
Thank you for your lovely comments @zen-art!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 338 (12/12/18)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine, really appreciate this!

I think I am also up for adoption Lady Lizelle! Lovely sweets here! Blessings!

I'll adopt you anytime @papilloncharity, but for now you'll have to enjoy the sweets with your eyes :)

Christmas delights!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback :)

All yummy treats, children love these @lizelle they never last long....

Abd I'm the biggest kid of them all, have such a sweet tooth;)
Thank you for your lovely comments!

Sour, salty, anything but a sweet tooth here, even chocolates I prefer black chocolate for the bitter side. Enjoy a sweet end of year with sweeties all around...

My mother was a notorious Christmas treats maker, and you look like you've taken that to another level.

They are absolutely lovely and just looking at them make me think good thoughts of my past. Thank you for that.

So very glad this brought back good memories for you @bigtom13, thank you for your support!

omg the child in me wants it all!

You can enjoy it all virtually, sorry I cannot let you have a taste!
Thank you for stopping by :)

It is great that you have work that you love so much and go the extra mile to make everything just perfect, including this sweet wreath.

Thank you Mr Papper! The only problem is my sweet tooth, have to hide these from myself ;);)

Omg, these are Christmas feast!
I wish you are my neighbor @lizelle! Hahaha

Have a fruitful Merry Christmas !

Oh that would be lovely @joyrobinson, then I could get a taste of your cuisine not so ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55