THis Is Where I Live

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

P_20190701_124356.jpg

@derangedvisions has created this wonderful contest called Tell Me About Where You Live and I just had to enter it as I think I live in a very beautiful part of the world. Above is what the local traffic jam looks like. I moved to Southern Spain 4 years ago after living a nomadic life with my family. The plan was to stay for a few months and move on, but 4 years later and we are still here, in the Alpujarra's in Andalusia. We are surrounded by mountains, and our Truck is parked in a valley where lots of people live alternatively.

IMG_7027.JPG

the above picture shows you the valley I am in, if you look closely you will see a Yurt and my house truck is behind that, but because it is wooden you can not see it as it blends in with the trees. My neighbours either live in yurts or trucks.
boat.JPG

Everyone in the community lives a minimalist lifestyle and the above boat was created as a space where everyone can leave the things they no longer need, so that others can use them. You will usually find clothes, books, shoes, car seats for children, toys, electrical appliances and lots of home decor. Things get exchanged quiet rapidly and the community makes sure that it does not get turned into a dumping ground.
IMG_2217.JPG

Next to it is the giant swing, that all the local kids love to play on. I live next door, which can be seen as both a blessing and a curse. Blessing because I do get the chance to see what people leave, but a curse because my girls are always trying to bring stuff home. But we have a rule, if you take something you have to leave something.
IMG_1023.JPG

Up above is the nearest Town to me, which is a 25minute walk from my truck. It has everything I need, wholefood store, weekly market, where I get all the fruit and veg I need, that I do not grow on the land. There are lots of musicians and artists , circus performers living in the area so there is always a lot of performances going on.
onsite.jpg

There are regular get together's where we like to celebrate life and one another, with music, good food and singing and lots of children running wild around us.
P_20190602_141202.jpg


There is also a Rastro one twice a month where folk can sell their creations and also second hand items. There is always music played and it is a great social gathering, it is sheltered by some beautiful Eucalyptus trees which brings such welcome relief from the sun on the hot summer days.
P_20190628_192944.jpg

In the summer I spend a lot of time down by the river, where me and my girls cool down. It is one of my favourite spots and it is a beautiful walk that takes you to the bottom of the valley with amazing views of the mountains that surround me.

P_20190730_175035.jpg

There are so many majestic Olive Trees near where I live, I had to include one of my favourites in this post as I love to go visit them and sit a while with my back against their trunk. This one is a 15 minute walk away from my home, but my home is also surrounded by beautiful Olive trees.
P_20190823_154746.jpg

Less than an hour away and you hit the coast, this is one of my favourite beaches and also the last one I visited, the water was crystal clear and a perfect temperature and me and my girls had so much fun being carried by the waves back to shore.
P_20190526_150259.jpg

There are so many amazing walks in the mountains that surround me. I spend 2 months walking the GR7 trail 3 years ago with my girls, so we have got to explore some of the region, but there is so much more to discover.
P_20190721_125948.jpg

A few weeks ago we discovered this waterfall, which had a wonderful pool to cool off in. I love living close to nature and spend most of my time outdoors. There is so much more I could talk about, this area is quiet well know for it's retreats and yoga centres and it also runs a very impressive permaculture course. It is also well know for hosting really good parties, as a lot of the folk here work at setting up festivals.
IMG_2371.JPG

Although it is nestled in the mountains, it is also a creative hotspot with so much going on. For me, it's all about the wilderness it as and the great dancing to be had at the parties that are put on.
Unfortunately I do not have any photos, from the parties as I am always too busy having fun!
Women Circle  (11 von 26).jpg

I created a women's creative circle last year and we meet up regularly to create, to talk and to support one another, whilst our children hang out together or get involved in what we are making. I also like to attend a singing group as well, as singing is such a wonderful way to release and connect with others and it is so much fun. It is not about how we sound, but rather that we are coming together.

So there is a little about where I come from, make sure to check out some of the other entries into this wonderful contest.


8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Looks like a lovely place; in some ways like one of those rare spot time seems to have (at least partially) forgotten, which is surely a rarity in Europe. And so many of the villages in Andalucia seem to have become little more than glorified tourist traps.

Bright Blessings!

thank you, yes especially close to the Mediterranean but up in the mountains it is different xx

puts Andalusia on mah bucket list

you should come visit xx

as soon as i win the lottery ;)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

thanks so much for your support xx

Wow, that is one lovely place!

You have a most amazing life, thank you for your post and stay happy.

Oh had I had the guts to live like this! It seems dreamy, so beautiful you are right about that. I am happy that you and your girls have such a lovely place to be.

it is beautiful but also hard work at times, but I would not live any other way xx

Life in a suburban house is hard work at times, and my neighbors are nothing like yours. I'm so happy you and your girls have this kind of life, you're in a little incubator of sanity.

You are seriously blessed! This looks fabulous! I used to live in intentional communities. At one of them, we house shared. It was several families living/sharing one house on 76 acres. There were other structures there that needed fixing to make them habitable. We grew gardens, had drum circles, and just lived....easy, peacefully....Living in an intentional community is both a blessing and a challenge. A lot of different opinions, lifestyles, and ideas to work with. As much as it can be a pain, now that I'm not in community I crave to be back there. Enjoy it while you can. ;)

thank you @kindredacres, yes there are challenges for sure, but it is worth it xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49