She's My Little Deuce Coupe...

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

More than 1,300 vintage cars were in town last weekend for Northwest Deuce Days.

650 of them were Deuce Coupes making this the largest gathering of 1932 Fords anywhere in the world. The rest of the cars were various models all built before 1951. As you might guess, I've got a photo or two to show you!

ku1k09lwk0.jpg

Ford built 15 different models in 1932. Of course I learned this after the show. If I had known in advance I might have made a point of trying to capture all the different models but instead my selections were pretty random, and mostly based on splashy paint jobs.

juqwoq382p.jpg

The crowds were huge. Something like 100,000 people came out over the weekend. They closed down several streets for the main event which was yesterday.

itydsh88mb.jpg

It's tough getting good shots in a crowd but now and then there is a moment with nobody blocking your view.

pxsk5njchp.jpg

One thing that struck me is how heavily modified most of these cars are. I wonder what the original owner would have thought of this?

gq5xua0ssz.jpg

These cars are 87 years old... just think about that for a moment. Here's something that looks much closer to original. Do you think this colour scheme would have been available then?

ukzyo8ewnb.jpg

I took a lot of shots on Saturday before the main event because I knew the crowds and the heat would get to me pretty quickly on Sunday. I actually much prefer to capture these vintage cars in their natural environment... cruising on Saturday night!

a573tr48rz.jpg

An 87 year old car... what do you think, original owners? Naw couldn't be. Maybe the grandkids of those original owners. I wish they'd speed up but there was too much traffic.

b1v6q0cdgt.jpg

So picture me, running up and down the sidewalk, looking for spaces in the traffic. Whenever an opening of a few car lengths would appear, I'd stop and wait for the next car to rev its engine and speed up for a few feet, giving me a chance to pan with the car and create this background blur.

0qfyz1beax.jpg

Faster would have been better, but this was fun!

5sabnys79d.jpg

All photos taken by me, @keithboone in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.

I'll leave you with the soundtrack for this post, enjoy!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That look really classic

Thank you very much!

This post earned a total payout of 0.090$ and 0.068$ worth of author reward which was liquified using @likwid. To learn more.

Wow ... Some have flamboyant colours ! ^_^
I love the blurred effect on your photos that makes think these cars are speed engines ..LoL

Thank you Barbara! They were driving 20 km/h! :-)

Haha ! I could have bet 😉

I love these old cars, we would never see so many of these Ford'sin South Africa. I think the beige and brown truck's color scheme could be available in the day, but the other flashy colors definitely not!! Nice photos and it looks like a great even!!

Thank you! That was my guess too... I think most of these cars would have been black.

Beach Boys are looping in my head now thanks to your post! 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny! Mine too... :-)

Cool shots! We have vintage car shows here every month at the beach, and a car cruise too. I'm sure you would enjoy it!

Thank you! Sounds great to have a monthly show. This big show only comes to town every three years.

Yours is probably much bigger though. There are a lot of old car enthusiasts in Florida with the time and money to fix them up! There is always something going on somewhere!

Really cool photos of these old fine looking cars. Great work!

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

So cool! I love the old cars too, but I am not as brave as you are. I wouldn't have gone out in the crowds! I love the shots of the cars in motion. The visual you painted of taking them was pretty funny too.

I could only handle the crowds and the heat for about an hour. Yes, people see me running around with my camera and they think I'm nuts. I'll climb a tree or lie down in the street or whatever... I like to think I'm entertaining the tourists! ;-)

Well, I would pay to see it! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Come up here for a visit and I'll let you watch for free :-)

That would be awesome! I bet your weather is nice these days!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, the weather is kinda perfect right now. If you like sunshine and warm days that is...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99