PLAYING WITH YOUR FOOD

in #creative5 years ago

IMG_6832.JPG

While staring at my blank canvas sitting on the easel I would never stick the wet paint brush tip in my mouth. Inadvertently cover myself with oil paint yes, but eat paint? Never. Neither would I ever feed food colouring to myself or my family. Not happening. Ever. The knowledge of all those preservatives and the actual colouring going into our body makes me cringe! How could unnaturally coloured food be healthy? And so it was quite ironic to find myself marching down the food aisle last week, in search of - yup, you guessed it - food colouring!

IMG_6828.JPG

Not only that; my purpose was to put the colouring in food. Yoghurt to be specific. My precious goats milk yoghurt to be very specific. Shocked?! I know. It horrified my husband too. He bends the rules as far as healthy eating goes but he could never imagine his read-all-the-labels-if-you-can't-read-it-neither-can-your-body-does-it-grow-in-nature-or-in-a-science-lab wife buying food colouring to put in food! Have I got your attention? I think you'll love my reasoning. I thought my toddler would. I was wrong. Seems he is even more adverse to food colouring than I am!

IMG_6836.JPG

A friend sent me a photo of her toddler covered with paint. She said they had been finger painting and he loved it. As an artist I have been eagerly awaiting the appropriate age that my little boy will enjoy art. He likes pencils and using them on floors and walls, but I'm talking colour. On paper. My friend who is not at all where I am on matters of health, was highly amused to advise me.

IMG_6845.JPG

So following her advice I bought the food colouring. Back home I gulped down the horror of colouring my beautiful white goats milk yoghurt and filled four tubs. Red. Blue. Yellow. Green. And voila! Finger paint! My little boy finally abandoned his games to inspect my efforts. He was very excited about stacking up the tubs. But after throwing a handful of grass in one. And pouring the yellow into the red (which turned out pink instead of red), he laughed and ran away. All my sweet words and colourful efforts were in vain. Although the kittens were very grateful for my efforts.

IMG_6868.JPG

Sort:  

Hmm, what would make good color substitutes for purists? I'm thinking maybe oranges, blueberries, strawberries, and... does anything sweet dye things green?

Absolutely @creativetruth! I've already started playing around with food colourants. Beet is fabulous. When I next make green juice with spinach, kale and brocolli leaves I'll spare a bit for our finger painting fun

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hello @buckaroo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

My gorgeous nephews tootsies ;P Glad to see you posting more regularly steemqueen :P x

Would be nice if the crypto currency would make more effort!

Yogurt and food dye, that is very creative!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

ha! howdy buckaroo! Nice try, that was a valiant effort and next time it will probably work but that was very creative!

Thanks @janton. At least the kitties enjoyed it! But with art in the DNA of both parents it won't be long before my little boy is painting his own masterpieces - hopefully not with food!

haha! Yes Ma'am it will be interesting to see what he comes up with since he has all those artist genes!

I like your sense of fun, humour and the urge to get your 'baby' involved artistically....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78