Stranger In A Strange Land

in #mindfulmonday5 years ago (edited)

Feeling not quite into it and not quite out of it

I’m writing this in a weird space.

I’m in my local pub, which is visually quite strange. The Kinks are playing on the hi-fi, and I’m sitting here with a glass of red.

It’s my day off; what feels like the first real day off in some time. It’s a chilly but sunny autumn day in Melbourne. It’s happy hour and outside the end-of-day peak traffic is just starting.

I’ve spent the bulk of the day in a meditative space. I sat for a few hours contemplating then writing up notes for this week’s section of the I Ching translation, which is already proving to having subtle effects in my field. I then did some Tai Chi, then had a deep immersive mediation in a hot bath.

I’m feeling rested, calm, and content; ready to tackle the week of work I have starting from tomorrow.

I’m thinking about all the tasks I have to achieve this week... it’s daunting but I don’t let overwhelm get me. There are so many changes happening at my work, it’s insane!! But all leading to very generative outcomes for all involved, I think.

That’s why I haven’t been online much since returning from Japan — it’s been really busy since then.

And looking at all that’s happening on Steem and the communities I’m part of... there is so much happening there also, what with the SCOT/Steem-Engine stuff, and writing challenges, contests, and back-end development stuff happening. Again, possibly overwhelming but taking it in my stride.

I could have FOMO. But I don’t let myself.

I feel like I’m in an in-between world with these two worlds... and this silence within can observe, witness, and be detached from it all.

I can understand why some folks could get rattled being in this kind of state, especially if they’ve never been here before.

It’s taken me over 20 years of actively (and passively) engaging in meditative practices that I can slip into this state almost at will and exist in the ordinary, mundane world whilst in it.

I’ve always been drawn to liminal spaces however. The twilight zone, the edges.... whatever you choose to call it, it’s that space where 1+1 doesn’t have to equal 2.

More importantly, this is the state where you can be ‘meditating’ at the same time as doing normal, day-to-day things.

It’s being present, yes; and it’s also being present to my thoughts and imaginings, attending to my embodied sensations as well as my dreaming and fantasies.

Not sure a glass of wine is going to maintain this state, but it certainly grounds me back into my body. And helps me gather and collect my thoughts enough to string some words together.

I don’t think I want to perpetually live in this state, nor do I think any of the texts or teachings around this promulgate the idea. However it’s useful to be able to access this state from time to time.

That’s what I feel is one of the many benefits of some kind of meditative practice, however that looks like to you, and from whichever tradition, school, or belief-system it comes from.

The ability to easily state-manage, and shift from one appropriate, generative state to another. I understand that in this context, anxiety is the inability to shift one’s state in a fully-embodied manner from one context to the next. These meditative practices therefore enable us to learn how we do that, as individuals.

The method is not as important as the effectiveness.

That’s why I would say to anyone wanting to learn or develop a meditation/mindfulness practice..... understand the purpose of what you want such a practice for, and find ways to fulfil that purpose. There is no absolute right way, just the way that works for you.

Ramble over. I’ll get back to my wine now.

😊🙏🏽🍷


signature gif v3.gif

bannerCREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Member of the SmartVote community

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 8.38% upvote from us for your 1989 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Yes! All the going ons are kind of mind blowing but similarily I've allowed myself to take it in stride and having a meditation practice has really been beneficial. It's been wonderful too, to have the new "Mindful Life" discord community be there

  • To unite meditators across the Steem blockchain so that we can share and strengthen our own practices
  • To provide a space to discuss the philosophy, science and practical application of such practices in our lives
  • To inspire and motivate each other
  • To provide support if we might be struggling, connecting with like minded people who might offer solutions

They are having a group meditation on Wednesdays 8:30 pm and Sat. 6:00 pm London time with everyone welcome.
--- ##### Come join us in the Natural Medicine fortnightly competition for a chance to win Steem rewards. The theme for this challenge is Home Remedies!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡ Discord

Yes, yes and YES. My hubs would argue something along the lines of Zen and the art of landrover maintenance. Me, today... ocean, walk, yoga, lunch on my own... slipping into that SPACE. Such a pleasure. Just... BE.ing. breathing. In whatever it is you are doing. Love this. Alot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @metametheus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That was an awesome ramble! Not sure what to think of the look of that pub though haha. Is that where the twilight zone meets the red room in Lynch's Twin Peaks?

@metametheus Hope you enjoyed that glass of wine ;-) I often find myself in those blissful “in between” states of mind from time to time. I enjoy them quite a lot. As it is said, “life is meditation.” Just depends what state is meditation your in.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a wonderful glimpse into mindfulness and I agree I think it is not possible to be in that state all the time. But to be able to be in the twilight zone at will sounds exciting :))

You went to Japan! I wish I had known. How was it? Where did you go?

Japan was AWESOME!!! We were in Tokyo for three days and then Kyoto for three days, and then another day in Tokyo before flying out.

It’s an enchanting and intriguing country, and I’ll definitely be returning (again) to go experience the rural areas and go hiking!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let me know next time! I'd love to explore with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73