Upcycling Project: DIY Organizer

in #crafts5 years ago

When you got a kid who is formula fed, you accumulate lots of milk cartons at home. I haven't been throwing these ever since I started my trash reduction journey. So I decided I would make a DIY organizer for my tiny trinkets.

image

The Plan

I started out with a plan. I hope my trade drawing teacher way back in high school forgives me for my drawing but here is what I planned.

image

The Parts

Then I started gathering the cartons I need. I reserved 4 boxes for this project but I ended up using only 3 boxes. This means I still got some more boxes available for another project!

image

Next, I cut out the pieces I needed.

For the biggest chunk of the project, I cut off the top flaps of the box and roved the front part. I wanted a nice smooth curve on both sides so I just used a protractor to guide me with the curve.

image

Then I cut out two rectangles with a curvy corner fornthe top shelf.

image

I also cut out 4 rectangles for the bottom shelf and the divider. 2 will be used to strengthen both sides of the lower shelf and the other two will be for the divider.

image

I wanted to make a nice sturdy shelf for my organizer so I cut out 4 big rectangles the same size as rhe base of the box. 1 will be used for the bottom shelf, the other three will be for the top shelf.

image

To make sure the back of the shelf will be strong, the front part of the box, which I removed earlier, will be used.

image

Putting together the Pieces

The fun part of DIY-ing is watching your project slowly turn into completion. I only needed a masking tape and some glue to stick them all together.

image

image

I used the masking tape to give the edges a smooth finish before I go ahead and paint it.

image

My sister made a mickey mouse organizer last Christmas so she has some left over black paint. If I had been not too lazy to go out, I'd have bought a green paint but I am already in the mood to paint it black so be it.

image

I just doyble coated it with black.

image

Et voila!!! My very own DIY Organizer.

image

At least now if my husband asks where the stuff are, I can just point him to organizer. I wasn't informed that part of being married is knowing where all the stuff are in the house. So there you go.

This was an easy project. All I needed was the mood to create one, a couple of milk cartons, some glue and some masking tape.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

image

image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

What a great, and truly simple idea! I love seeing stuff like this on the platform. I never really would have thought to convert these boxes that would just be taking up space in a landfill into a useful shelf. Great way to save money and cut down on the trash.

Next up - your kid's first bookshelf?

I was thinking of another organizer with drawers for her scrunchies and hair clips but bookshelf seems to be a great idea too! Good thing I still have lots of boxes.

Oh, I like the idea of drawers. You could simply cut a couple of holes in the front and use some decorative rope as the handles.

Oooh! That's nice! My sister suggested I use a button-like thingy for the handle. I think I'll use the decorative rope instead. 😍


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.259 which ranks you at #20350 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 35 places in the last three days (old rank 20315).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95