Couponing is an addiction

in #couponing7 years ago

Hello, my name is Sheila and I'm a couponaholic.....Yes, folks, couponing is an addiction. But, a good addiction. If you love to save, then you must be a couponer. I got into couponing in 2011 when watching the extreme couponing show. I told my husband it's probably fake. Yup, most of it is. I thought what the heck, let's give this couponing thing a try. I went to the nearest gas station and bought 4 Sunday Papers with the coupon inserts. Went to Walmart and saved $7.00. So, I decided to see if I could save more. I went to coupon sites to get the store matchups. Meaning the sales the stores are having and match up my coupons to those sales, for extra savings. My total before coupons was around $175 and I paid $98. OOOWEEE I was excited now....And that is when I was hooked. I did it again each week. And each week I got better.

I'm actually on a coupon break. I'm so stockpiled with everything that I just finally decided to take a break from it.
I have not had to purchase any toiletries in over three to five years now. As of 2016, I have completely stocked on all that stuff. I always say, * If we have a tornado and you see toilet paper, paper towels and wash soap flying, it's my house the tornado decided to take. *
Lucky our house is big enough to hold everything. I even bought two freezers for the garage. I've actually turned one freezer off and just using the upright freezer.
We had one store that would double to $1.00 so if something was $1.99 and I had a $1.00 coupon, that shit was free after the coupon. AND, my husband is a 100% disabled vet so we don't pay sales tax either. That is more awesomeness.
I used to coupon a lot at our PX, Military Store, but after my friend and I got too much stuff for free, they decided to change the rules. It really pissed off a lot of people, but oh well. We got ours. We knew we didn't do anything wrong. We just knew our couponing rules and they hated that we were getting it all for free.
This was from the PX back in 2013 when my friend and I got cases of Gain wash soap for around $.25 after price matching and using store coupons with Sunday paper coupons. We also got a lot of toothpaste for free, shampoo/conditioner and more!PX.jpgto have a ton of patience when couponing. I can't tell you how many times I've had to hold my tongue and sometimes I didn't. Some cashiers have no idea about coupons or they just play stupid. I don't know, but I know that I've had some run in's with cashiers not doing their job. And other customers? Yeah, they can be vicious too. I always tell the folks behind me, "Hey, just to let you know, I have a lot of coupons and it's going to be a while."
I have had customers tell me, "there should be lines for people like you." AFTER, I just told her that I had a lot of coupons. Dang lady, wth? SMH So I turned and told her. "There should be lines for old bags like you." I let the guy behind me, in front of me before I was about to do my 2nd transaction and told her she can just wait now. I tell ya...lol It can get crazy.

I would go to Target to shop and the cashiers would literally close down the line for me. I would have at least 100 or more coupons. It would take me 45 min to an hour to check out. And that was after shopping for 6 hours. That's right SIX hours in one damn store. By the time I got home, I was exhausted.

So, if you want to get started in couponing. Here are a few tips.

  1. Start out with 4-6 Sunday paper inserts. Buy from your local gas station or sometimes a store might have them at a discount on Monday, just call the stores and ask. Or call your local paper company and ask if you can purchase 5 or more for a discount.
  2. Google store matchups for your favorite stores and follow those deals. Most will give you the store, the deal and what coupons to use.
  3. You can also print coupons from online. printable coupons
    There are some other great phone apps to use as well for more savings.
    Saving Star
    PHONE APPS MUST HAVES
    Ibotta
    Checkout51
    Receipt Hog
    Shopkick

another great earn way is by doing your searches with [Bing](ebates: http://goo.gl/FSsiuX) I use Bing instead of Google to earn points for free amazon gift cards. It might take a while to get to the points you need, but every bit saves.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask and I will try to help out as much as possible.
Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 5.17.48 PM.png

Sort:  

It always amazes me seeing how much you actually save doing couponing, not to mention all the valuable resources a person can accrue to help others with.

Congratulations @thisismenow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48