Cook with Us #14 – Scotch Egg Pastries

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

ingredients.jpgHello, my fellow Steemians! I am once again going to enter the @cookwithus challenge being that I had such a great time participating the last time. I remember years ago going to the Central Florida Scottish Highland Games and having scotch eggs, wonderful hard-boiled eggs covered in sausage, breaded and fried. It doesn't get much better than that. Now being that I got this dish at the highland games I figured they were Scottish and I thought that until about 5 minutes ago. Actually scotch refers to chopping and mincing of meat into sausage hence an egg covered in sausage is "scotched". The London department store Fortnum & Mason claims they invented scotch eggs but were most likely inspired by an Indian dish. This is my take on the scotch egg instead of a breadcrumb coating I'm gonna replace with puff pastry and cook in the oven.scottish collage.jpgFortnum_&_Mason_logo.jpg

Ingredients:
7- Eggs
1- pound of Jimmy Dean regular pork sausage
1- package of puff pastry
6- slices of cheddar cheese
1/4- cup all-purpose flour
1- Tablespoon of milk
salt and pepper to taste
garlic and onion powder to taste
meatball collage.jpg
scotch collage.jpg
Place 6 eggs into a pan of cold water and bring to a boil. Boil for 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer to a bowl of cold water and slightly crack each egg. This will allow water to seep in and make it easier to peel. Put sausage in a bowl, add spices and mix well with hands. Cut puff pastry into squares big enough to cover meatballs and place a slice of cheese on each square. Peel eggs and place on paper towel to dry. Take the extra egg and beat with the milk for an egg wash. Put flour on a small plate.egg collage.jpg

Now you're ready to assemble your scotch eggs. Flour your hands and take a ball of your sausage mixture and flatten into a patty. Take an egg( make sure it's totally dry) and roll in flour and place it in middle of the patty. Gently roll the sausage around the egg evenly until its completely sealed. Place meatball onto the slice of cheese and form pastry over, make sure to completely seal puff pastry. Repeat with remaining meatballs and then brush with egg wash and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Let stand for the time it takes to preheat oven to 400 degrees. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes. dinner collage.jpg

These eggs are great right out of the oven or cold at a later time. They are great for breakfast or a snack. Take them along on a picnic or to a bbq. Serve with your favorite mustard. I went ahead and served the eggs with fresh vegetables, gherkins, and watermelon. Well, I had a great time putting this recipe together and I hope you enjoy! Thanks to the @cookwithus team @chefsteve, @pandamama, and @offoodandart, this is such a great contest.I'm looking forward to season two. See you then- @slowcookingchef , Bon Appetit!
dinner.jpg

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Place meatball onto the slice of cheese and form pastry over, make sure to completly seal puff pastry.
It should be completely instead of completly.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T22:09:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This sounds like a great recipe to try - other than I shall try it with minced beef or beef sausage as I am not a big fan of pork - (I do, however, love bacon and ham) - so a bit of a contradiction there. Great photographs too and I love your name - enjoy using my slowcooker so much - my favourite kitchen tool so to speak

Thank you @pandamama! I have had beef scotch eggs and they are just as good. I don't think there are many people who don't love bacon. I'm definitely not one of them, I go to bacon fest once a year in Orlando. Not to sound redundant but thank you for mentioning my photo's, I have been giving myself a crash course on photography. - @slowcookingchef

Keep up the good work - we are loving your entries @slowcookingchef

Hey I saw those carrots on sale in Wal-Mart! lol

Another great post my friend!

Thanks, Danny boy!

I've always been a fan of scotch eggs but I have never made them. I like anything with hard boiled eggs and gherkins, you've made my day! Thank you for the information about how the scotch eggs got their name. Lovely post @slowcookingchef.

Thank you, @loveself. You can't go wrong with gherkins and eggs! They are actually pretty simple to make the hardest part is peeling the soft eggs.

Glad you had a great time putting this recipe together as I, too, enjoyed walking through your process. It's ingenious to use puff pastry instead. Loving that idea! Baked, not fried ... yes!

Who would've known the origin of scotch eggs? Learned a lot from this post and was truly entertained.

Thanks for your entry @slowcookingchef! Can't wait to see what you come up with in Season 2!

Thank you @offoodandart. Sorry, I missed your comment. I threw my back out and haven't been able to move for a couple days, but I'm back in the game today! Thank you so much for choosing my post as 2nd place, I'm going to make it my mission to get into the winner's circle in season 2. See you then. - @slowcookingchef

Hey @slowcookingchef! I like your version of a Scotch egg. I always assumed it was from Scotland! Thanks for educating me!! Great idea to pair the eggs with some pickles and watermelon. Nice combination. Thanks for your entry!

Thanks so much, @chefsteve. Sorry, I missed your comment. I threw my back out and haven't been able to move for a couple days, but I'm back in the game today! Looking forward to trying to ascend into the winner's circle next season. See you then. - @slowcookingchef

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63