Cook with Us #12 – Creole Shrimp and Andouille Sausage Kabobs with Grilled Watermelon

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Cook with Us #12 – Creole Shrimp and Andouille Sausage Kabobs with Grilled Watermelon
()
1 pound of jumbo shrimp
1 package of andouille sausage
1 container of grape tomatoes
1 medium butternut squash
2-3 red bell peppers
1 large red onion
1 package of mushrooms
extra virgin olive oil
red wine vinegar
creole seasoning
mushrooms.jpgtomatoes.jpg
1 medium watermelon
1 lime
salt and pepper

sausage.jpg

Hello Steemians! Today I thought I'd try my hand at the @cookwithus contest. When I read that the challenge was grilling I knew this was right in my wheelhouse. I thought about this long and hard and came up with a dish that in my opinion is pretty great. I took my inspiration from a shrimp and sausage boil that I went to last summer. I thought I would make Kabobs with that in mind.
shrimp.jpg

I combined jumbo shrimp with andouille sausage. For the vegetables, on my kabob, I chose red peppers, onions, and tomatoes. Potatoes are traditionally in a seafood boil but really don't work in my dish so I made an executive decision and replaced them with butternut squash and I also added mushrooms because it didn't feel like a kabob without them. To be honest, I didn't come up with grilled watermelon, actually, I forget who told me about it but its a great side dish. I know it sounds odd but the grill caramelizes the sugar and it gets slightly smoky and really tasty.veggie mix.jpg

Peel and de-vein your shrimp. To de-vein hold, the shrimp at the bottom and with a small knife make a shallow slit down the back of shrimp to expose the intestine. Lift out the vein with the tip of your knife. Now take sausage and cut into chunks.
I went with Johnsonville sausage but any brand will do. Cut up your vegetables into small pieces to put on your skewers.kabob collage.jpg

I wanted to make a quick marinade for the shrimp and vegetables. I picked up some creole seasoning and combined it with oil and vinegar. Mix three parts of oil for every part of vinegar and seasoning to your taste. Taste it as you are making the Creole seasoning can get very strong. You'll want to marinate the vegetables for a couple hours and the shrimp for 30 minutes.

Peel your butternut squash.If you're having trouble peeling the squash pop it into your microwave for 2 mins and let cool. If you don't have one invest in a heavy-duty vegetable peeler it makes all the difference when peeling a squash. Cut squash in half and scoop out the seeds. cut into small chunks. Use a little marinade for squash and pre-cook in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes and then skewer and cook on grill until soft.

Now you want to assemble your kabobs. This is up to your preference combine the vegetables, shrimp, and sausage on your skewers. Cook for about seven minutes per side.

watermelon collage.jpg
Cut watermelon in half and then in half again. Slice into triangles with the rind on. Brush lightly with oil and grill for about 3 to 5 mins per side until it slightly softens and you have grills marks. Sprinkle lightly with salt and pepper. Squeeze a half of lime over the cooked melon. It's best if served immediately.This is also good as a dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
dinner.jpgdinner collage.jpg

I hope you enjoy!- @slowcookingchef
IMG_20180524_133224.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-24T18:20:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks Good! Grilled Watermelon, how about that. I bet it's sweet! Best of luck with the competition.

Grilled watermelon??? I have to try that! Your post is full of useful tips such as how to de-vein shrimp and peel a butternut squash. I can almost taste the smoky andouille, the grilled shrimp and sweet watermelon. YUM! Good luck!

If it is very tasty and the white part takes a smoky flavor you can even do the same with the pineapple, with the apples.
It is very nice to cook outdoors
what an amazing colorful and tasty entrance

Thank you! The grilled watermelon was delicious.

great post! keep up the good job..

Comment removed

The whole lot looks amazing, but there are few pleasures in life better than a watermelon hot off the grill!

Thank you very much! It is very good.

Thank you so much for choosing my recipe!

Hey @slowcookingchef! Welcome to Cook with Us! It is great to have you here. Your Creole dish of grilled shrimp, andouille and vegetables sounds like has some nice spicy flavors. I really like how you served it with grilled watermelon. That is a great way to make the watermelon have a more complex taste. Great dish! Good luck this week.

Thank you, I had a great time participating! I'll be back for the wrapped dish week as I don't know the first thing about vegan cooking.

Welcome to Cook with Us @slowcookingchef! Your kabobs look delicious and your post is fun to read.

I'm glad you made the 'executive decision' to use butternut squash in place of potatoes. Great call! Shrimp, sausage, mushroom, etc, all delicious on a kabob. And the grilled watermelon is perfect complement to your kabobs.

Thanks for all the tips! They're most helpful. Looking forward to your future entries!

Thank you, @offoodandart. I really had a great time doing the contest and 3rd place my first time out is great considering all the excellent entries. I'm skipping the vegan week. I don't know the first thing about vegan cooking, but Ill be back the next week.

You did well @slowcookingchef, congrats!

Other than vegan, the mystery theme this week is onion. Feel free to share an onion dish if you feel like it. It doesn’t have to be vegan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49