Cook with Us #23: Asian Meatballs with Hoisin Sauce

in #cookwithus6 years ago

I couldn’t be more excited about the @docsmith Handcrafted Knife Contest. And I’m definitely looking forward for the next week which are going to be quite challenging to say the least. For this first leg of the contest I didn’t want to go overboard or all crazy on the bitesize challenge. It was a matter of being measured but provide a dish which was enticing and tasty. It is not common in my culture to have heaps of finger foods at a party. We would instead have a large main and extravagant desserts. But it is different in my husband’s culture where finger foods are important to help set the mood of the evening.

This weekend is Father’s Day in Australia. So I’ve tried to get on early with preparing the Bitesize challenge. The advantage with the dish I’ve chosen (from The Kitchen Whisperer) is that it is fairly simple and does not require much time. And that was an important factor in choosing this dish beside the fact that I ran out of cooking oil. But that’s ok because the meatballs will be oven-baked! 

I remember the first time I had my husband’s family over. For the occasion I’ve prepared Pork chops and a delicious dessert made out of Nutella. They brought some Asian BBQ Pork as a starter. I didn’t quite understand why as we were already having pork for dinner. But through time attending various Mauritian parties I’ve discovered that more finger foods was well always better. Most of them would be bitesize and others not so much. And at the end of it, most plates would be cleaned up empty and they would still go have their main and dessert.

As a result, the second sit down party I organised at home I went all out with plenty of finger foods and nibbles. Everyone enjoyed them and we hardly had any left overs for the night. Through that experience I’ve always attempted to have a right balance of bitesize food and the rest of the meal. For me bitesize foods are not an entrée but definitely what we commonly called finger foods in Australia. Traditionally in Aussies parties you may have meat pies or dips or even wedges. At my Indian friends I would be greeted with Samosas, deep fired bhajas, like vegetable fritters, or mini-roti (purris). The Mauritian parties would have more meat based finger foods, normally pork or sometimes seafoods. Interestingly most of them would have an element of Asian food to serve.

 

This is why I thought an Asian based finger food would be an interesting element to bring to the challenge. While researching some recipes for this week I came across the Asian Meatballs with Hoisin sauce. I’ve been introduced to Hoisin sauce whilst visiting a Vietnamese restaurant for a nice hot Pho. The sauce was an important part of the dish and I’ve tried it again afterwards when having Peking Duck.  As for the Meatballs I’ve prepared a fair bit over the years but always the European way. Adding an Asian element to it was an interesting twist and I thought it complement the taste fabulously. 

Earlier I’ve mentioned that I was being measured for the first leg of the @docsmith challenge. This came about after viewing an old series of The Australian Greatest Bake Off. It was the 2016 edition! One of the contestant, explaining her approach to cake making, made the following comment:"Before this show I always thought of the look of the cake rather than what goes into making the cake. I’ve learned to do the opposite now."

I’ve tried to learn from this. The Asian Meatballs tasted amazing and the addition of the Hoisin sauce took it to a whole new level. I didn’t plan on having any chilli on it but then rescinded on my initial thought and added some fresh red chilli to complement the whole dish. I’m grateful I did as they were amazing.

I hope you enjoy it too!

Bon appétit!

And good luck to everyone.

INGREDIENTS

Meatballs

  • 1/2 kg ground pork
  • 1 tsp Sesame Oil
  • 1/2-3/4 tsp Sriracha Sauce (go with how hot you like it)
  • 1/2 cup Panko or Gluten Free Panko
  • 1/2 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp garlic, minced
  • 3 heaping Tbl of green onions (whites and greens) ~ 3 green onions minced plus additional for garnish
  • Sesame seeds, for garnish

Hoisin Sauce

  • 1/2 cup Hoisin Sauce
  • 2 Tbl Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 2 Tbl reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp Sesame Oil
  • 2 tsp garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1-2 tsp honey
 

METHOD

  1. Preheat oven to 205 degrees Celsius with a rack in the middle. Line a baking sheet with foil and lightly spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine ground pork, sesame oil, Sriracha, Panko, ginger, egg, garlic and green onion.
  3.  
  4. Using clean hands (or a clean mixing spoon) stir until combined but try not to overwork the meat. Roll the mixture into 1 1/2” meatballs.
  5.  
  6. Place the meatballs onto prepared baking sheet and spray with olive oil. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the internal temperature is 75C.
  7.    
  8. To make the hoisin sauce, place a small sauce pan over medium heat. Add in hoisin sauce, rice vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, ginger and honey. Whisk until combined and just heated through.
  9.  
  10. Place the meatballs on the soup spoon, dip in the sauce and garnish with green onions and sesame seeds. You can also dip them and plate in little serving dishes.
   
Sort:  

It looks absolutely delicious! You should write a cook book! ;)

Oh thank you that’s a very nice compliment.

Oh my word @foodforsoul, we both seem to be thinking along the same lines - I just love meatballs, even for dinner it's one of my favourites but these look absolutely divine! I love the way you presented it, would love to pick up a spoon of that! Good luck :)

Too late all eaten by now! Got the new slate plates just in time for the weekend. Good luck this week.

I love your plates, the food really looks great on it! You should do a tutorial on plating and photo shoots, you are so good at it! I know @whattheduck did one a while back, missing seeing her in action! Well, she's missing in action for sure hey, must be busy filming somewhere ;)

I really like this kind of hors d'oeuvres. With meaty, sweet and salty flavors you can't go wrong! This one is also simple and fast to put together. The plating was so pretty in the spoons. Very nice entry and congratulations for advancing to round 2!

Thank you @chefsteve. It was a real treat for us at home. I’ve made roughly 20 meatballs and luckily enough I had enough sauce to go with it.

I apologize for commenting so late for this round.

Delicious appetizer with a really flavorful sauce! The sriracha, sesame oil, garlic and green onions with the pork come together to make tasty bites. And I love that they're baked ... won't make me feel as guilty eating them =D! Topped with the flavorful gingery hoisin sauce ... yumm!

Thanks for your wonderful hors d'oeuvres entry and congratulations on making it to Round 2!

Thank you @offoodandart. Did you know that the sriracha sauce is actually made in California? I was watching this show on the Food channel and presented by Carlton from The Fresh Prince of Bel Air and was surprised to find out that this sauce was ki d of American! The meatball had all the flavours I enjoyed as well as being very easy to make. I think that’s what hors d’oeuvres are all about at the end of the day.

Yes, it's made in California. Fun fact! How surprised I was when I heard it the first time.

OMGosh!!
These are the perfect mouthful of flavor I bet. Your husband has got to be thrilled to have you cooking for him.

Hoisin sauce is an unbelievable dipping sauce that doesn't get used in western cooking enough in my opinion.

Thank you @goldenawne. Hoisin sauce is indeed an underused sauce. I really enjoyed it the more so that it tends to go well with most finger food. I really enjoyed making this dish.

@foodforsoul just came back from the gym and it's looks so tasty love it♥️♥️♥️

Maybe you should try and make them and then hit the gym straight after indulging in them lol.

Your recipe sounds amazing and your photographs are excellent @foodforsoul

Thank you @edenmichelle. And they taste great too you should give it a try.

Definitely - will do @foodforsoul

Hello foodie steemians!

You get an upvote from SteemKitchen! 👍

This was given by hand and not by a bot.
You have received this as motivation from us, so you can keep going on with your great dishes.

-Hey @foodforsoul very good photos, and also a good desciption. The meatballs looks very cute :-) -

We are looking forward to see you soon on our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk , so we can exchange fresh new recipes and delicious meals with each other 🌮🍔🍩.

With friendly regards, your curator of today @avizor


W3Schools

That's one great looking dish, and I'm sure it's delicious as well!

Thank you @docsmith. It did taste really great and it was a real pleasure to enter this dish for the current challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50