Cook With Us #26 Yuca Mofongo

in #cookwithus6 years ago

yucadone - Edited.jpg

The first thing that comes to my mind when I hear the words “root vegetable” is yuca. Yuca or Cassava, is a starchy tubular root. The taste is a combination of creamy, nutty and sweet. Here in Puerto Rico, yuca is very common. You can even find plant growing wild in grassy areas. This is always a great find since you can enjoy fresh yuca, and it does not have that wax covering that it comes with in the supermarket.

yucaraw - Edited.jpg

There are many ways to cook yuca. You can simply boil it, fry it or mash or puree it. My favorite of all things to do with yuca is mash it in a dish called Mofongo. Mofongo is a traditional dish here in Puerto Rico and is traditionally made with green plantains. However, there are many variations to this dish, my favorite being the one made with yuca. It is a very simple dish to make and my version is a little different because I have adapted it to suit my families taste. Mofongo is usually made by frying the plantains and mashing them with oil, garlic, and pork cracklins or chicharrón. My daughter does not eat meat, so I do not add the pork. To compensate for the loss of this crunch factor, I first boil the yuca then pan sear it. This mofongo can be served with a variety of accompaniments, traditionally served with some type of sauce and protein. I am preparing my dish today with chicken in a garlic sauce.

Here is what you need;

For the Mofongo

1-2 lbs Yuca cleaned and cut into pieces
Olive Oil
3 Tbsp Butter
2 Cloves of garlic minced
Salt and Pepper to taste

For the Chicken
2 chicken breasts cut into strips
1 Onion
1 Clove of Garlic minced
Salt and Pepper to taste
Olive Oil

yucapeel - Edited.jpg

To clean the yuca, place the flat side on your cutting board and run your knife down to remove the peel. Yuca is very tough so be careful, you can use a vegetable peeler, but it can get quite slippery, so be careful.

Method
Boil the yuca until tender
Remove the yuca from the water and let dry.
Remove the fibrous center from the yuca.
Pan sear in a little oil until it has a golden color.
Using a pilon or mortar and pestle, mash the yuca pieces with butter, and garlic.
Add olive oil, salt and pepper until you reach the desired consistency.

For the Chicken
Saute the onion in a little oil until tender
Add the minced garlic
Add the chicken strips
Salt and pepper to taste

yucaboil - Edited.jpg

Boil in water until tender, about 15 minutes

yucacook - Edited.jpg

After the yuca has cooled, remove the fibrous core

yucatoast - Edited.jpg

Saute the yuca in oil to toast it

yucamash - Edited.jpg

Mash your ingredients. If you do not have a large pilon, you may have to do this in stages

chickenforyuca - Edited.jpg

Cook the chicken with onions and garlic. You can add extra butter or olive oil if you want it saucy.

To serve, form the mofongo into a dome and put the chicken on the side. Or for a more traditional plating, serve in a small pilon with the chicken.

yucadone - Edited.jpg

This is the traditional way to serve the mofongo

I really you hope you enjoy this recipe and taste of Puerto Rico!

IMG-20181014-WA0002.jpg

Here is my proof that it's really me!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Ah welcome to @cookwithus @dalipops, so nice to see your lovely entry! I've never eaten yuca but your dish sounds real tasty. Good luck with the contest :)

Thank you @lizelle. I am so excited that I was able to participate.

Hi @dalipops and welcome to Cook with Us! We are so happy that you joined our community!

Your mofongo looks amazing and sounds like it would taste great with the chicken and garlic sauce. I remember having mofongo once when I went to Puerto Rico and I really enjoyed it. I like how you fried the yuca after boiling it. This will add to the flavor of the dish. I also like how you served the mofongo in the traditional way. Thank you for sharing this dish with us and good luck this week!

You make it look very easy to prepare...and it looks very good. Can another type of meat be used instead? Maybe like some steak?

You can use any meat, or no meat at all. The dish is very easy to prepare. I hope you try it!

This looks good!
My husband is Cuban, but I am not, and he grew up eating dishes with yucca in them, but I never buy it because I dont know what to do with it! Thanks for the recipe!

I can't believe you haven't tried it yet! It is very easy to work with. I hope you try it soon.

Welcome to Cook with Us. Thanks so much for your beautiful entry @dalipops! Could you also do the following:

Once you've done the above, your entry will be considered valid.

Thanks and let us know if you have any questions.

Ooops, I forgot. I did it now, hope it wasn't too late

Hi @dalipops - welcome to cookwithus and for sharing your unusual root vegetable recipe -good luck

Thank you so much. It was fun, I look forward to the next one!

Great entry @dalipops. And good choice of root Vegetables. Cassava is good either as a dessert or in a proper meal or even boiled with just some butter on top. I love cassava I wish we had more of them in Melbourne.

Thank you. Yes, it lends itself well to a variety of uses.

that's not how we peel the yucca or cassava here in Indonesia @dalipos, we just scratch the peel until the second layer then using our hand to take it off the yucca meat, so we use the knife. I think we almost have similar way to make yucca recipe, but this mofongo is really interesting recipe. thanks for sharing..

I think it's the safest way to peel it. I am glad you enjoyed the recipe.

Congratulations @dalipops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Cook with Us @dalipops! Glad to have you here.

I love yuca. I grew up eating it but it's not as accessible where I currently reside, so seeing your dish is a real treat!

I haven't tried mofongo but I can now imagine how it tastes like. My son goes to Puerto Rico a lot and he's told me about this dish. I like the step where you toast the yuca. I'm sure it gave the dish a heightened flavor. Yumm!

Thanks for your entry @dalipops and good luck! (Btw, I also love chicharrón! =D)

Thank you! Toasting the yuca really adds a nice nutty taste and a little crunch. I hope you are able to have it sometime.

Oh no, the comment above was from me, not @cookwithus. Sorry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63