Cook with Us #8 - Breakfast Arepa

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Some of you might already know arepas. I mean, the Venezuelan diaspora has done a good job in presenting one of our favorite dishes to the world. Even Nicole Kidman has tried them.

But for all Venezuelans this is not just some food. It's the epitome of Venezuelan food and to us it means family and love. Closeness. This is the food your grandma makes every Sunday morning when the whole family gets together. We cook arepas when we need comfort or when we have no idea what to eat and are starving.

It's even perfect in the afternoon as a quick lunch when you have no time to loose, or at night it's best shared with friends after dancing or drinking.

arepalado.jpg

An arepa is a kind of corn flat bread that you can fill with literally anything. Cheese, ham, eggs, meat, avocado, chicken, beans, plantain, and even make a filling with other typical Venezuelan dishes. There is no limit to creativity, and with so many combinations it's a very nutritious meal. Although the one thing that never changes is the power that arepas cooking on a budare have of calling the whole family to gather around the table.

Ingredients for arepa:

  • 1 cup corn flour
  • 2 cups water
  • salt to taste
  • oil

I like to add 2 tablespoons of flax seeds for a punch of fiber and omega 3.

Ingredients for filling:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 small onion diced
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 cup spinach leaves washed and rinsed
  • salt to taste
  • cheese to taste

Preparation

  1. Heat a frying pan, skillet or budare on medium heat. Grease to prevent sticking.
  2. Mix the corn flour, water, flax seeds and salt until you get a smooth dough. If needed, add more water.
  3. With your hands make balls with the dough and then flatten out. Make the edges round.
  4. Put on your heated surface and cook until it browns. Then flip and cook on the other side.
  5. While the arepas are cooking, heat one tablespoon of oil on a frying pan and add the chopped onion. Let cook.
  6. After, add the spinach and wilt.
  7. Whisk the eggs with salt and incorporate to the onions and spinach. Let cook on one side and flip.
  8. Once your arepas are done, cut them in half with a knife and fill with the omelet and cheese of choice.

Arepaarriba.jpg

arepalado2.jpg

Now all you have to do is enjoy your breakfast! If you wish, you can mash some avocado to put inside the arepa or cut it in slices to eat as a side.

Thank you to the @cookwithus team - @chefsteve , @pandamama and @offoodandart. Just like last time, I found this contest very fun!

Sort:  

Thanks to you, I learned about new food. If I have a chance, I would like to try it!

I'm so glad I helped you learn something new! Making and trying new dishes is my hobby, so it's always nice to know I could pass a bit of knowledge onto another person :)

This is what I love about these contests- to get to learn about new food and new foodies!
Nice to meet you @amandagomez 🤗
Thanks for showing me sonsthing new ! Im sure it tastes great😊

I just found out about this contest two weeks ago and have been loving it! It's so much fun to make the recipe and then learning new things from everyone else. If you ever get to try arepas I hope you like them :)

Thank you!🤗 I look forward to see more !

Love arepas! I have never had them with flax seeds, great idea! Now you got me thinking of arepas...yummy.

So glad you love them! Sometimes I also add oats to get my fiber or sesame seeds for fatty acids. The dough and fillings are so versatile that it can be as nutritious as you want. In fact, I'm making plantain arepas right now! My absolute favorite.

Thanks for joining our contest @amandagomez - I'm so glad you're having fun and meeting some of the contestants. Love the way you add healthy ingredients. I will definitely try your recipe

Thank you for your entry @amandagomez! It is great to have you here! I just adore arepas and your breakfast arepa looks so good. I was wondering, do you always make the arepas fresh each time? or do you make a large batch of arepas and then freeze them? I imagine they freeze pretty well and then you can eat arepas anytime!

Hi! I don't personally freeze them but I know people who do. In Venezuela you can also buy frozen arepas in supermarkets. They're very convenient to have. What I do is on the weekend I prepare all the dough I'm going to need for the week and keep it in the fridge.

I'm so happy that you're participating in Cook with Us! Arepas is kinda new to me. I first learned about it last year when I went to Colombia and I loved it right away.

Thanks for sharing the importance of arepas in the Venezuelan food culture. It puts arepas at a more important place in my food library.

Your arepas definitely look like a delicious breakfast. Yummmm!

I'm so happy you like it!! Don't tell Colombians, but arepas are originally from Venezuela hahahaha. The whole origin of arepas is like a mini war between the two countries. But it's a friendly war, nothing too serious.

Ok, I'll keep quiet about that little not-so-secret information. Haha =D!

Congrats on your wonderful entry!

Congratulations @amandagomez! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66