The Most Ass Kicking Filipino Dish - Pork Adobo - Cooking Food Photography

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

adobo7.jpg

This is what I would call a Desert Island Meal, a dish so good that I could not live without it. I’m eating much more vegetarian, but I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to quit this incredible Filipino classic.

The dish I am talking about here is Pork Adobo. This is a classic recipe that I have not altered since I first had it as a child the way my Mom made it and the way her Dad taught her how to do it. Don't be fooled by how simple the plating is, this dish doesn't need any bells and whistles. If you have not had this, follow along…it’s easy and it will blow your mind.

When I make adobo, I go big and do up a big pot of it!

adobo8.jpg

INGREDIENTS
• Pork Shoulder or Pork Butt
• Soy Sauce
• Vinegar
• Bay Leaves
• Peppercorns
• Water
• Canola Oil

adobo2.jpg
adobo3.jpg

Take your pork and cut into about 1" chunks or so. Don't try to use a less fatty cut of meat because it needs the fat to become SUCCULENT. Heat a small amount of oil in the pan to keep the meat from sticking too much, put in an amount of chunks to cover the bottom, but don't over crowd. Brown the meat and continue doing this in batches until you are done.

adobo4.jpg
adobo5.jpg

While the meat is browning, you can prep your garlic and by 'garlic' I mean do the whole head! It is not going to be overly garlicky or be too much for your delicate palate, believe me. Prep it all and cut up or smash.

garlic.jpg

Once all of your meat is browned, put it all back into the pot and now you will add all of the other ingredients.

Generally, you will want to use equal parts vinegar and soy sauce and twice that amount of water. So if you use 1/2 cup of vinegar and 1/2 cup of soy sauce, you will put in a full cup of water. All that being said, you will want most of the meat covered by the liquid so you may have to adjust the amount to accommodate this. Use a large cast iron or Dutch oven especially if you are using a big piece of meat like I did.

Take your peppercorns, a small handful of 25-30 and give them a light crush in a mortar, don't pulverize them, just lightly break them. It is fine if some are still whole. Put that into the pot along with the garlic, 3-4 bay leaves and set stove top to med high and get it to a boil, then lower it to a slow simmer and cover. The meat will now need to cook for at least an hour or more. Set your timer for every 20 minutes and circulate the meat and make sure that the liquid is not evaporating. Add more if needed.

adobo6.jpg

After about an hour, test the doneness of the meat. It should be starting to get very tender and the house should be very fragrant with this mouth-watering aroma. If you've never had this, you may have a tricky time determining the exact flavor. Don't be afraid to add more water (slowly) to even out the taste because the vinegar and soy sauce can be intense, but that's the beauty of this dish...it is intense!

When it's done, remove as much of the oil that will be floating on the top. I braised a bit of savoy cabbage to go along with it. Pour some of the cooking liquid over the top of your plated dish and enjoy!

Adobo will continue to gain flavor and intensity over time and it keeps well for several days.

I really hope someone who has never tried this takes the plunge. Let me know what you think!

adobo1.jpg

See you next time, @tacostate

tsstets.jpg

ALL ORIGINAL CONTENT.

Sort:  

Oh, this brings back wonderful memories of a time a bunch of Filipino Navy chiefs invited me to join them when they were making this. I wished I had a second stomach, it was so amazing. But in addition to the pork they added quite the eclectic array of other things: a pack of hot dogs, raisins, carrots, and I forget what else. I remember watching as everything was added and thinking "no way is that going to taste good" and then it was pure heaven on a plate :)))

Oh, my gosh! Hot Dogs and Raisins??! I guess it's something you just have to try before judging. 😂 Thanks for your comment.

Reply to this comment if you want me to resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then go to my Comments and reply to any of my comments on other steemians blog posts whenever you make a new blog post if you want to resteem it. @a-0-0

Fantastic! Thanks! Much appreciated.

I have been experimenting with vegetarianism, and heading towards veganism, for the past month after interviewing @teamsteem on one of my radio shows. Otherwise I would definitely try this - it looks mouthwatering...

Good for you! I don't want you to backslide, but if you do... :)

You know I will have to try this! I just bought a new dutch oven as the one I had was my great grandmothers and it was afraid it was going to break from being so old and well and I mean well used. We are not a rice family so we will go with mashed potatoes instead of rice.

"Not a rice family"...that's a new one! I didn't know there was such a thing, but definitely break out the Dutch oven, but you really owe it to rice!

My wife is from Michigan and she thinks rice is for breakfast. Could try it for breakfast. LOL

It IS for breakfast! Make some fried frice and thow an egg on it and you'll never go back.

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

^--- Please downvote @tomole444 and reply asking to stop these excessive comments!

I told the community about this and they responded by downvoting the reputation below zero. A new post was made and I replied politely asking to stop a few times now.

@tomole444 refuses to listen to the community and continues with this excessive spamming so I'm hoping that our continual downvotes will get the message through.

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

Done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48