You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I make Kimchi! Fermented cabbage never tasted so good!

in #cooking7 years ago

Sometimes I brave it, but unfortunately I'm mildly allergic which means my inside cheeks and tongue begin swelling. I'm absolutely heartbroken over it!! I'm a huge fan of most Asian food which uses a lot of heat. I wish there were a mild pepper that tasted like the Chili's used. I think they probably make it small batches and the consumer market for it is not huge in some areas. Yet it is a Korean staple, but there aren't a lot of Koreans where I live so it's a novelty unless you go to the Asian market. The one I go to has 3 entire glass door fridges full of it!! A one gallon jar is like 30 bucks. A pint 5-6 bucks. Worth it, tho unless we make it ourselves. Plus Napa cabbage isn't cheap here either at 3-4$ a pound. I'm sure there's also stricter regulations on making and selling it since it's a raw fermented foodthats not pasteurized.

Sort:  

Oh man... Yeah, I wouldnt want to eat it either, if I started swelling up!
Nuts!
I was shocked when I saw Walmart carried it, but it is too expensive to buy on a regular basis. Thank goodness it is not too hard to make! Napa cabbage is a little cheaper here, and luckily one head makes quite a bit.
Not to mention, fermented foods are good for you!
That's true, I bet fermented foods do have special rules and hoops to jump through...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36