You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I make Kimchi! Fermented cabbage never tasted so good!

in #cooking7 years ago

Oh no!! I dont know what I would do without my spicy foods! 😱
Thanks! I havent tried this batch yet, but I sure am hoping it tastes as good as it looks!
Its so expensive! Im not sure why... Maybe the fermentation process makes it more difficult to mass produce?
Thanks for the kind comment!!

Sort:  

Sometimes I brave it, but unfortunately I'm mildly allergic which means my inside cheeks and tongue begin swelling. I'm absolutely heartbroken over it!! I'm a huge fan of most Asian food which uses a lot of heat. I wish there were a mild pepper that tasted like the Chili's used. I think they probably make it small batches and the consumer market for it is not huge in some areas. Yet it is a Korean staple, but there aren't a lot of Koreans where I live so it's a novelty unless you go to the Asian market. The one I go to has 3 entire glass door fridges full of it!! A one gallon jar is like 30 bucks. A pint 5-6 bucks. Worth it, tho unless we make it ourselves. Plus Napa cabbage isn't cheap here either at 3-4$ a pound. I'm sure there's also stricter regulations on making and selling it since it's a raw fermented foodthats not pasteurized.

Oh man... Yeah, I wouldnt want to eat it either, if I started swelling up!
Nuts!
I was shocked when I saw Walmart carried it, but it is too expensive to buy on a regular basis. Thank goodness it is not too hard to make! Napa cabbage is a little cheaper here, and luckily one head makes quite a bit.
Not to mention, fermented foods are good for you!
That's true, I bet fermented foods do have special rules and hoops to jump through...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37