I made Ghost Berry Jam today

in #cooking6 years ago

0intro.jpg

Earlier this week @papa-pepper sent me a package filled with ghost peppers, almost 30 of them!

1peppers.jpg

I immediately knew that I wanted to create a jam with some of these peppers. I thought the sweet and the heat would go really well together. For the fruit, I went with local marion berries from the Willamette valley.

I gathered my four ingredients and started by combing:

2 lbs of berries
3 Ghost peppers cleaned and diced
2 lemons worth of juice
1 cup of sugar

2ingredients.jpg

ornate.png

3diced.jpg

After everything is all together, it is just a matter of a slow boil for about an hour. Be sure to check on it, stir it, mash up all the bits. This gets all of the water out of the fruit .

4cook.jpg

Lots of berries have a natural pectin in them. Once the mixture cooks down, you can see it start to gel up and you know its time for the jars.

Put the hot mixture into your clean jars and place the lids on. After 30 minutes to an hour you will hear the jars sealing as your jam cools down. All ten of my jars sealed so that's cool. :)

These ingredients yielded 9.5 four oz jars of ghost berry jam.

5jars.jpg

This method is not the long term way to can things. Refrigerated, these will last a few weeks. You can also freeze the jam for months.

I tasted it while it was still warm and the amount of heat was perfect. I also think the marion berries were a good choice for the flavor but this can be done with any fruit. I can't wait to try it on a grilled cheese sandwich. (Don't judge it till you tried it.)

Thanks for reading and always...

Keep being Cool Steemians!!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Mmm spicy Jam!,..how have I never tried such a thing?!? jam with grilled cheese sounds good,... sweet + savoury = yummm

Yea it's great.
I was raised on jam on grilled cheese or quesadillas.
Try some regular jam on there... You won't be disappointed.

I'll be trying that.. enjoy your spicy jam!

Grilled Cheese Sammie with Jam ???

I may try and make some jam myself. Homemade is always better then store bought.

That is excellent! I love that idea! I bet it'll be great on a grilled cheese! Man, way to go on this one!

Thanks for sending them out. :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Oh, YUM. @tipu, tip! this man's delicious post!

Hi @doctorcrypto! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @improv!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27