What's in Your Library Challenge: I Might be a Book Hoarder

in #contests6 years ago (edited)

What is it that I fill my mind with? I couldn’t have answered that readily prior to having a bit of a review of my bookshelves. What I found doesn’t surprise me in the least.

So, which wing of the library shall we visit first? By wing, I mean which bookcase, as they are scattered about in every room of the house. Let’s begin with The Bedroom Wing.

rsz_1rsz_dsc09683.jpg

I have a bookcase filled with lots of miscellaneous subjects, but probably my favorite shelf is the classics, with a strict focus on Jane Austen. I’m secretly about two hundred and fifty years old, and reading Jane Austen novels takes me back to my prime. Aww, I miss those wild teenage years.

rsz_1darcy.jpg

source

Some of my other favorite books from these seven shelves are my old college philosophy textbook, and lately, some books on honoring nature year-round. Yep, we take gardening to the next level.

rsz_1rsz_2dsc09688.jpg

Next, nestled against the corner of the other side of the room is a bookcase devoted to all my homeschooling texts. I will call this the North Branch of the Bedroom Wing. Here sleeps many books we are not yet ready for, waiting for their day to come. My family assists me in collecting all sorts of second-hand materials from yard sales and I’ve picked up quite a few at the thrift store. It is so fun to get another book full of teaching possibilities. I get all goosebump covered thinking about all the information my children will absorb.

rsz_1rsz_dsc09690.jpg

We also have nearby our bedtime reading, consisting largely of The Chronicles of Narnia. Oh Aslan, you are just the best.

rsz_rsz_dsc09694_1.jpg

Now, let us carry on to The Living Room Collection (Living Room Wing just doesn’t have a ring to it). This is my four year old son’s collection really, so we could call it The Children’s Department. As you can see, we take reading seriously. I must have read thousands of books to him since his infancy, and now he reads at about a first grade level. Reading was so easy for him, swimming in this sea of sentences. Here is a shot of some dolls I picked up at the thrift store, which prompted us to read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

rsz_11rsz_1rsz_dsc09697.jpg

Every time a new character was introduced, we fetched the corresponding doll. There is also a whole shelf devoted to Dr. Suess, because what is childhood without a healthy dose of Suess?

rsz_11rsz_dsc09703.jpg

Now we will visit The Baby Corner in another room. Above is a picture of my two year old’s books. She gets a chair and strains her little self to reach what she wants. A particular favorite, here is a loved nearly to shreds Mother Goose, beautifully illustrated by Scott Gustafson. I want to dive inside these pictures sometimes.

rsz_1rsz_dsc09708.jpg

Oh, wait, I forgot the stack of library books that are also in the Children’s Department/living room. As in actual library books—this is getting a bit muddled now. I’m starting to realize maybe we have a problem. Who needs library books when you already have a library? Homeschoolers, evidently. You just can’t have too many books. This coffee table is in a permanent state of disarray as the actually-not-ours-library-books live here, as they shuffle in and out of our lives. Behind them is a CD player for when we pick up audio books.

rsz_1rsz_dsc09700.jpg

Then, there is the coffee table on the opposite side of the couch, hidden away in a corner. This one has my books that I am supposed to be reading, but I don’t read in spring. It’s not too likely I will in summer either. Too many gardening projects, beach trips, schooling plans, and long days making for later bedtimes, which suck all introspective energy from me. Winter is my time of reading, as I turn inward, even though winter weather is pretty mild here. I will probably get back to these books on teaching and science starting around the autumn equinox.

rsz_1rsz_dsc09709.jpg

So there you have it, a tour of our library. Hope you enjoyed it. I certainly did.

I love the idea behind this challenge from @wizardave and @happysmileyman. If you are a book lover too, check it out: https://steemit.com/contest/@wizardave/what-s-in-your-library-challenge-by-wizardave and https://steemit.com/contests/@happysmileyman/what-s-in-your-library-challenge

Sort:  

I loved the tour of your library @ginnyannette your children are very lucky to have a mum that enjoys reading so much, your son sounds very much like i was at his age, i was always reading as a child.
Your now officially entered into the whats in your library contest.
Wishing you good luck in both competitions 😊

https://steemit.com/contests/@happysmileyman/what-s-in-your-library-challenge

Forgot to include you and contest in post. Will edit.

Thank you @ginnyannette i have just boosted the post a bit so hopefully all our posts will get out to more people, and more will join in the fun, please resteem my post to your page too 😊

It's wonderful that you take those kids on adventures all over the world.

  • I can see the excitement in their eyes as they learned about the interesting people Dorothy met during her quest. Just curious did they like the movie as much as using their imagination with the book? I like reading a book, watching the movie, then reading the book again...
    • Mom got me interested in books at a very young age. Seuss was how I learned to read. Mom was amazed when I read her Green Eggs and Ham. I have since been fascinated with books. Learning to read gave me a thirst for information and adventures. I can never thank her enough! I'm sure your kids will appreciate you giving them the wonderful world of books.

Good luck in the contest!

Thanks @wizardave.

The kids were a little thrown by the movie. So many differences, and it was their first old movie. They did like it though, although I think the book was preferred.

Green Eggs and Ham is wonderful reading practice. My favorite of the beginning readers is The Cat in the Hat. No kid can resist all that drama.

Your mom sounds like a lovely lady. It is such a great feeling hearing your child take off reading for the first time. :)

I just realized I didn't include you or mention the contest in the post. Sorry, I'm new at this. This is my first contest entry. Will edit.

Love love love!!! Books everywhere.. like at ours!! I love how you have physics next to kids books at the end!

I love that you also love books everywhere. We are united in book chaos.

totally!!!! I am a bit anal retentive though, so they are neat stacks of chaotic books....

Neat stacks of chaos sounds like a lovely combination.

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a wonderful and bookfull day!

Nice selection. Good to see so many books around the house! Any Munch Bunch in there?

Thanks. No, I hadn't heard of Munch Bunch, but I looked it up and it looks interesting. We will have to add it to the library books coffee table area :)

Ebay is reliable sourceto get them.

I love that you have books all over the house. At least you have a great reason to hoard books with the homeschooling. I admit to having a shelf of children's books even though there is rarely a child in my house.

Thanks. Children's books are wonderful to keep around. I plan to store a box of our favorites once the kids outgrow them...but I am a book hoarder so maybe that is to be expected.

My daughter wore to shreds a paperback copy of Goodnight Moon. I salvaged the illustrations for modge podge projects. Any excuse to keep a favorite book, right?

That's a great idea! We too have a torn Goodnight Moon.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71030.89
ETH 3824.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52