The Deadpost Initiative - Week 44 - Share your most undervalued work ($15 SBD rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlooked during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

I love those weeks when we have stellar engagement and a variety of different kinds of posts. Not much else to say except that this week was a great one for deadposts. I really enjoyed all of these posts!

Last Week's Winners

@eoj - $3 SBD prize

@eoj shares with us the unlikely story of the birth of surfing in Bangladesh. This was a really fun read, and something most of us probably have no idea about.

Cox's Bazar Surf Report and the Father of Bangladeshi Surfing

—-

@oldmans - $3 SBD prize

A surreal photo blog of an unlikely place to find out in the dessert. Very beautiful photography.

Alder Springs Hike

—-

@paradigm42 - $3 SBD prize

Some fascinating American history/photo blog about one of the worlds first democracies. The culture and lifestyle of Native Americans and indigenous people around the world is something I would love to learn more about. I loved this post.

Not Your Typical Landscape Photos - Large Scale Diorama of an Iroquois Village

—-

@steemonkey - $3 SBD prize

This post was insane! I thought I had some bad bathroom stories but this story blows mine out of the (toilet) water. I hope @steemonkey has gotten over his trauma.

Tales From The Toilet - Disaster in Debenhams (Comedy Open Mic - Round 23)


@getencored - $3 SBD prize

I learned a bit about the situation for mothers giving birth in Nigeria from this post, @getencored once again shares some culture with us, it's not exactly something happy but at least there seems to be some solution to the problem.

A REKINDLED HOPE TO REDUCE MATERNAL DEATH


Week 44

pexels-photo-460617.jpeg
(From pexels)

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with the fluid payout from this post (split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.

Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.
Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)
The prize pool will be the fluid rewards from the post plus any donation to the initiative.
Thanks to @krnel for his delegation and @tribesteemup for their trail support.

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.

—-

If you like what I do, check out my work at Patreon and consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!
If you want to chat, come join us to talk about deep shit in the Be awesome discord (no post promo!)
Sort:  

Congratulations to all of the winners from last weeks contest, and thank you for choosing my post among them! :)
Here is my entry for this weeks contest.
https://steemit.com/pc-macro/@paradigm42/american-dagger-moth-catapillar-macrophotography

Lovely pictures. You did a great job capturing the moment. The lighting was perfect too.

Beautiful photos. I love the detail on those little caterpillars in particular!

I was pretty proud of this one. I was sad it didn't get noticed. Congrats to all the winners this week.
Fun Facts About Prohibition: Walgreens, Nascar, and Chhildren's Menus

Maybe you should write about where did the mobs invest the money gained during the prohibition, or about names that become brands and the story behind it, like Max Factor and the like. And, humph, about that peace guy on the picture, there is no wonder why they use wine as a representation of the blood since the Christian religion started spreading out of Rome, and old Romans were known to be heavy drunkards and so it looks like they transported themselves straight into the US prohibition time.

Hello @whatamidoing :) , Here is my entry for this week:
Success & comfort zone.

The irony is that, in chasing success, we seek comfort. We work hard with the ultimate goals of financial freedom, acknowledgment, independence and liberty. All of which mean we no longer need to deal with circumstances we are not comfortable with.

That is pretty profound, right there. Well said.

You make some very good points here. I am very much an introvert and can definitely relate to how forcing ones self too far outside of their comfort zone can lead to almost crippling anxiety.. Yet it is indeed important to expand your horizons and keep moving forward in a meaningful way.

tell me about it, I'm constantly pushing myself out of my comfort zone. I wouldn't call it crippling but it sure is unnerving haha

nice read, really like this:

We do evolve, we change, so our inner world needs as much exploration as our external one.

I love food history. Good one.

Yea, food history is a good one. Have you ever read The Diseases of the Presidents by P. Accoce and P Rentchnik? It narrates how Stalin poisoned Roosevelt with food serving only food that would aggravate Roosevelt's health on Jalta?

I hadn’t heard of that. That’s awesome. we’ll, not for Roosevelt.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, and Mussolini had syphilis. But I haven't found that book in English ,only in German, French and Spanish.

I really enjoyed this read! I love learning a bit about the history of a dish. That it took two centuries for the corn seeds to really take is crazy!

Yes, it looks also cruel, for if you plant corn than you don't have a place for anything else, so you end up with nothing or close to nothing.

Here in Nigeria, corn is quite common. Never heard of polenta though. We eat corn boiled, roasted or grinded to make custard. This one is worth a try though.

It was also interesting reading the history of corn.

Just give it a try and make it as tasty as you wish.
Otherwise, history (in Europe and I guess elsewhere) is full of starving people where food is all around them in abundance yet it is someone else's property, or it was wars or messed up weather. But as the fruit trees started mutating and bearing quite some siam-twins as their fruit I'm just wondering what's going to happen with the rest of the plants, apart from drought during past years.

My entry for this week is my #introduceyourself post: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@eoj/allow-me-to-introduce-myself-or-husband-father-humanitarian-traveler-expat-abroad.
@eoj introduceyourself.jpg

I guess it's pretty common to have Intro Posts not produce much of a payout - this one made under $2. I wasn't really connected to any communities yet and had one or two friends on Steemit, max. I actually thought $2 was pretty good, considering there's a ton of really good intro posts that don't get any love at all!

Impressing that you are working in a humanitarian organization and have a possibility to bring an actual help for the people in need in the toughest zones all around the world. This planet needs more people like you

Thanks @cubapl, I appreciate the kind words!

Interesting life, no doubt.

Hey there: I really loved this post, it made me feel like I knew you - super approachable. Your story is so interesting, I can tell your blog will be filled with interesting stories. :) Following you, because I want to know more.

Thanks so much @lilyraabe for the kind words! I remember seeing your blogs a while back - glad to see you're back and will be following you as well :)

Congrats to the winners!! I have an entry for this week, where I explain the Pagan holiday Samhain, which is where Halloween comes from (and I'm a Pagan who celebrates Samhain, not a Christian who read some fluff piece and thinks that's that): https://steemit.com/samhain/@phoenixwren/pagan-holiday-primer-samhain-101

I'm working on a similar post to this one right now. I didn't know about the wicker man. Thanks for the knowledge.

awesome read, I learned a lot of interesting stuff, very cool.

Nice read and very informative. Thank you.

Yea, happy New Year, and may the dark night not be too dark and the bright light not too blinding. I finally read something else about this time of the year.

Hi there, thank you so much for hosting this contest! Here is my entry for the week - it’s a piece I wrote about Joseph Campbell’s The Hero’s Journey

https://steemit.com/culture/@lilyraabe/the-hero-with-a-thousand-faces-a-monomyth

hero.jpg
image source

Nice Joseph Campbell one of my favorite guys!

I love his theories! I find that this relatively simple storytelling formula really does play out repeatedly in so many stories we see/hear/experience!

I really enjoyed reading this story! It is an extremely well written dark thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat. You are a great writer. I am now following you and look forward to reading more of your posts! :)

I wouldn't describe it better ! Agree in 100% with every word that you wrote. This story should be definitely rewarded this week

To me, it looks like you were describing some Black Axe triggered event, only without black sorcery rituals in it. Well, I learned just recently that that name doesn't represent only a male perfume.

Congratulations for all participants, winners and obviously @whatamidoing for running this great competition !
At this week I would like to represent a bit scandalous, multi-disciplinary artistic concept represented by a lovely couple called Fecal Matters

https://steemit.com/contemporaryart/@cubapl/cultural-foxes-001-or-fecal-matters

Its my first time seeing something like that except in movies though. Quite informative and also gives me weird thoughts.

Creepy but interesting

Our Evolution Begins (Songs of Eternity)

Our evolution is swelling from the insatiable drumming of eternity
Our evolution is the heartbeat of the universe
Our evolution is the spark of life itself
Our evolution is willing to give everything for this
Our evolution is overthrowing the state of bliss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97