The Deadpost Initiative - Week 2 - Share your most undervalued work (SBD prize)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Our first Deadpost Contest went great, we had a bunch of entries and discussion and we hope to have even more this time! There are a few changes to the rules so check below. @kendewit @lindahas and @avrdan won! Check out their posts here (I will merge the next Deadpost contest and the winners announcement next time)

Also want to mention a very kind act by @kendewitt , he returned his prize to me so I didn't have to suffer the loss myself and so I wouldn't lower the prize pool too much :-D Thanks Ken! Let's try to raise the payout so I don't come in at a loss and everyone can keep their prizes!

pexels-photo-116909.jpgpexels-photo-116909.jpg
image link

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlookeed during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also to generate discussion.

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with half of the payout from this post (or a minimum of $15 SBD, split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

  • Please only submit 1 post.
  • Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
  • Posts must be at least one month old.
  • I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
    -Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
  • Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments.
  • There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or just for fun and to share their old work.
  • There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
  • There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.
  • @surfyogi proposed in his recent post that we make comments worth as much as posts in order to encourage discussion. I'd like to encourage something similar here, upvote submissions generously as if you are voting for the posts themselves, this will help even those who don't take the prize to earn some payout

The prize pool will be half of the post payout or at least $15 SBD

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.

Deadline

Please enter your posts before October 5th!
The winner will be announced on that day.

And please resteem to help raise the payout so we can increase the prize pool!


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (my fiction at Patreon)

Sort:  

Here is my post about how I believe that our minds are our only limitation. :)
Had to scroll down for this one a little.
How strongly do I have to believe to have wings

Kicking ass with deadposts!

It sounds much like the law of attraction, although I like how you don't label it as such. I always love to hear stories like this, examples of thoughts manifesting. I met a girl who became pregnant with thoughts and lost her baby with thoughts. I have many of my own experiences like yours. It's very real. Science is trying to disprove it because most scientifically oriented people believe matter gives way to consciousness and not the other way around.

You might have inspired some future posts of mine. I have wanted to talk about the law of attraction and how it's a bit misrepresented in pop culture. I hope to start soon. :-)

Oh, that is so cool, it makes my day that my post inspired you. I am a big believer in thoughts being able to influence circumstances. And I do believe the scientific part of it as well, to a point. My minds still believes in all the magic and beautiful things in the world, so I am kind of that fairy tail person living in my own magical world :D

Well, my dear @lindahas. Regarding your post. I guess I am a too old chap who have seen & heard already too much. In fact, I am indeed a research scientist extremely observer who has always put too much attention to everything around. Constantly analyzing, dissecting and scrutinizing things down to the smallest detail with such load of logic, reasoning, acumen & curiosity, that I have irremediably become a formidable skeptic of beliefs and all kinds of optimisms.

So, at this point in my life, I no longer have any other choice but to enjoy what I have left of it, simply exercising my very personal, cynical. ironic and sarcastic version of the optimism, to which I affectionately and decidedly have called long time ago Defensive Pessimism. :)

How about the fact that people who are afraid of certain things, for example spiders, are more likely to encounter them, because their brain is attracting what they are thinking about. This applies to extreme fear, not just dislike of something.

As for this quote above. Not necessarily because their brain is attracting what they are thinking about. I bet these experiences are more exactly the same as when you have the big toe hurt. It is just in those moments that you notice that there are more rocks and stones in your path than usual and ever before. To kick them all with that bad toe specifically all the time. LoL

I totally agree, we notice what we think about and that is partly what I meant that people fearing things attract them. On the other side I do believe that the ability of our brains is much higher than we would like to think. I believe that what we believe in and visualize is easier to achieve than things we would never imagine.

I see the world as this beautiful place, but at the same time I see the dark corners and scary alleys, too, it is too early to call me cynical as I still have hope for humanity, even with all the messed up stuff going on in the world. I do believe that if humans left the planet today, it would become so much beautiful with time, but I also believe that we can care about the world and live in kind of harmony. Sometimes it is hard to stay positive about people, I have met some pretty shady characters and I have seen far too many messed up things, but there is always that hope for me, there are always good people in the world.
I would like to believe that the world is changing for the better, but I guess we will see. If we do instead of just talking we might actually get somewhere.

Best of luck,
Linda :)

there is always that hope for me, there are always good people in the world.

Oh! no doubt there are good people in the world. And probably the majority too. Perhaps, the only handicap with this is that this majority are the powerless ones, as to really achieve some collective positive change in the world.

And yes! I agree. I also believe that it is too early for you to join us on our cynical club. Since everyone can notice through the avatar in your profile, that you are indeed a beautiful and very young girl with a long way to go yet across all this current mess. ;)

I personally loved reading through this @lindahas. :c)

It seems to me that we have more in common than I imagined (not that I typically imagined much of such).

The ability for a person's will to bend the sentiment of the universe is real - and some things are easier to bring about than others.

I personally really liked the way you unfolded your message. Yes, we are all connected. :c)

Nice one.

Yeah, I live by the thought that I am the only person that can influence my life, that way I do not have to be scared of others making decisions for me :D

Thank you!

That is half correct. :c) Other humans can certainly influence you - but you do get to curate what gets through and what doesn't. ^_~

As for peoples' ability to affect your life - again there is a degree to which they can - but a strong spirit on your own part can go a long way to resist that.

You are welcome.

That is what I meant, in the end I need to decide and control what I want to listen to and what can affect me!

Wow thats lovely picture. Different for sure :) Love the clear blue sky :)

Thank you :)

Thank you :)

This is a dead post, about how death is depicted as sleep in art, throughout the ages.

It is four months old, took tons of effort with regards to layout, and didn't get much love!

This read less like a post and more like an academic expose'. The formatting is downright impeccable - and appears strongly referenced.

Also, while the subject matter is morbid - the bits of information themselves - and how perspective can take the subject of death through a startling contrast of meaning beyond the simple existence of a dead person in the portrayal - makes this very worthy of consideration as a 'dead post' in more than one sense. :c)

I also agree with @playfulfoodie that it was deserving of much more attention - and I feel that one factor might have been peoples' reluctance to approach death upon any medium.

Pretty sure that "Death, Drugs and Death Metal" doesn't have the same ring to it as the more famous phrase. ;c)

Well-written @holoz0r.

Thank you. This text was actually an adaptation and major reworking of one of the chapters of my thesis. There was about 40% of the content rewritten, for the post; in order for it work on a standalone basis.

This was also written in my very, very, early days on Steemit, and since then, I have significantly 'dumbed down' my content as it appears that this sort of material doesn't travel well due to the complex subject matter, complex expression and language, and the fact that you need to be willing to focus to read the content.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, @pathforger!

This seems unfortunate, due to the limited scope of payout we are incentivized to lower the academic quality of the documentation we are sealing into the blockchain.

Definitely something to think about for hardfork 99 (or earlier!).

I agree with @ecoinstant that this is unfortunate.

Not that I haven't found myself tempted to shift my own behaviors also (otherwise, for example, I'd skip the image searches at the end of each article written).

The steemit model is far, far from ideal - but even if it doesn't improve upon it people will one day look back upon it and call it an intriguing fossil that fits in the evolution of the medium.

This is one of the limitations of the current format of steemit. I would like to see better organization than just tags. People have been talking about communities for a while but it's hard to imagine what they will be like. It'd be cool to have an academic database on steem and some good payout on the better posts. It's not really my thing but it's one of those things that steemit make work and I do think there are people who would enjoy it.

Limitations have been faced in many forms in the past. those who faced them either adapted, persisted or fell.

Steemit is at such a juncture in several respects - and while there are some developments occuring, it persists on remaining static at its core. It may prevail. It may not. Time will tell. :c)

Agreed that a database over and above the oresent data layer would be beneficial - if done right. A good suggestion.

Well, my well considered and esteemed @holoz0r. I see we both have about the same time on steemit. So we know better now. And while I notice that this specific post that you are nominating for this contest is of very considerable value in terms of height content. IMO this is indeed one of a very sophisticated and academic density cut as to invite debate and discussion effectively as it would really deserves. Specially as to be properly appreciated on social Networks and similar platforms like steemit.

Since we both know that the only fauna that use to inhabits these online platforms, is basically the same as that one of a bar full with a drunken crowd replete with this well known generation which all of them suffered already from the same "short attention spam" ailment. Only that in this case, sharpened and multiplied exponentially.
So no surprise that you've only gotten one comment and so poor rewards and appreciation.

I know it, because while same as you, you have tried to induce engagement & interaction and provoke discussion and exchange of ideas through your content in more academic and educational terms. I kinda tried more and less the same goals through Humor and I have also failed miserably in my attempt to make people simply READ!!

Incidentally, I enjoyed reading it all. However, for the moment you wrote it, I dunno if after read it I had commented something of value on it. Since the subject of which the post is about is not really my thing and also is not one of those that I generally consume. But most likely I bet I would have commented something of my usually extravagant nonsense, if by chance, just to make you laugh at least. :)

It is a very fine balance, and I do have to say that the quality of expression that we find on steemit is a lot higher than other social media platforms, which is what attracts me to it so much.

I've had several lovely conversations in the comments sections of people's pieces, and read the sort of content that I wouldn't normally seek out, which is the fantastic thing about this platform!

Oh my gosh, I can imagine that took a lot of effort! Definitely deserves more than it got.

Brilliant piece of work @holoz0r. It would be fitting for your article to have the acknowledgement it truly deserves now.

Personally, I don't find the subject matter at all 'morbid' ~ Perhaps it's because there have been several incidents in my own life where had it been 'my time' I wouldn't be here right now answering you. So the thought of death is present with me constantly, as a reminder to live whatever time I now have, with purpose.

Easy to understand why we like to think of the being who has 'departed' from their body as simply being in a deep sleep. And so death can be romanticized in art in this way.

One of my favourite paintings was 'Ophelia' by Sir John Everett Millais. Although looking at the painting again now, the model has her eyes open. 🦋

Leaked Transcript - Secret Meeting at an Undisclosed Location - Parody




The title is kinda self-explanatory... and is meant to both get people thinking while also tickling the strings of humour. Enjoy the read. :cP


One reason why it bombed:
I labelled it as 'conspiracy' when it should have been labelled 'humour'. ^_^

Aaand my vote goes to @pathforger's post.

¿What can I say? I just like and enjoy humor. Specially clever humor sprinkled wit a good dose of mischievous wit, irony and sarcasm.

Because the truth be told... you will never find people more serious than those who makes humor. And definitely nobody else will talk to you about matters, topics, subjects and stuff so real & serious like those who always talks in humor key. :)

¡Upvoted!

Thank you very kindly for the review @por500bolos, as well as your vote. :c)

It can sometimes be a bit of a balancing act - as I know that some persons simply get annoyed when I introduce any humour into that which I say - and likely the same is true of what I write.

I just figure that if one is going to take a bitter bite then it hurts not to down it with something sweet. :c)

Thanks again.

I just figure that if one is going to take a bitter bite then it hurts not to down it with something sweet. :c)

¡You have all this issue totally deciphered my friend! :)

And as for those who dare to get annoyed by the humor.
It is only by their perception that even when being in the middle of a garden full of beautiful butterflies fluttering around them, none of them ends up posing in their hands or specially on their heads ever. }:)

this was fun. I was wondering as I read if you believe in these kinds of heroines or not. I do agree that it's not quite as organized as all that , there is no way such competitive people could cooperate on such a deep level, I believe it's all about different factions vying for power over the masses through different strategies and not exposing each other because it would risk self exposure. Some of the terrible things are caused by oversight and profit over people, some are side effects of power struggles between large forces and some are outright intentional manipulative.

Thank you, @whatamidoing, not only for your up-vote and your comment, but also for orgnaizing this contest (which I can now feel comfortable saying since its over ^_^).

Heh... It is certainly reasonable to ask oneself if the author believes in thaw which s/he writes about. I like to think that an author of any integrity will discern in one's choice of topics and ingredients that one chooses for inclusion in one's writings.

As such I at least feel that the various elements mentioned bear some merit of consideration.

As for whether there is a global concerted effort to reduce the populations of the non-elite classes, such remains open to speculation. I'd ask Warrill about it but he is still royally ticked off at me for sharing info on 'Wilting Weed'. ;cP

Loved this one for the reason that it has so many conspiracy theories in it that in the end focus on one thing, population reduction. I come from a country that people are leaving and it is happening fast, we have a lot of space there if anybody feels like their corner is overpopulated.

I have heard the theories that there is a group of people trying to take over the world a lot of times, and it may be true is a sense. I most definitely believe that wars are organized to an extent, there are always reasons for going after another land (ahem, oil and resources).

The post is funny, but it is sad that the world of humans is actually facing so many problems, I do hope that we will be able to overcome all the negatives, though.

Thank you @lindahas, both for your vote and your great comment. :c)

Yes indeed I do believe that there is 'method to the madness'. ;c) It is one of those 'Emperor has no clothes' moments that I figured translated well into a post of this sort.

As for whether there does exist a group - I'd suggest that there does - but that the links between the members of the group in question are (for the most part) looser than imagined. One interesting corelation between recent wars and the interests of the self-proclaimed elite - is that many did not have a "central bank". I think only North Korea and Iran lack such as of this day.

The post was intended as a wake-up call to individuals upon multiple levels - both to question what they could perceive every day if their eyes were open to it, as well as how their life choices might make them more or less vulnerable to such a scenario.

Thank you again. :c)

Yeah, we, humans, need a wake up call! I think we are too self centered, don't get me wrong, I believe that we have to first take care of ourselves to help others, but there are people who just take and take and never look at the bigger picture. I love the people who are thinking of what they will leave behind for others, because those people tent to have wider views about the world as a whole.

Wow great writing. It read like a movie script which I really enjoyed. My only question/ suggestion is that if you had more posted of this story a link to that being included would be awesome. If you ever want to collaborate with me I can make some original artwork for a cool story like this.

Thank you, @emptyintentions, both fory our up-vote and your great comment. :c)

I was certainly aiming for a narrative script of sorts - though not specifically of the movie kind (kinda fits though ^_^).

I am not sure if I understand though. Are you suggesting that I link the post in the comment in question? If so then I did - right above the image. :c)

It seems that your article link takes us to your blog - but not to your post. Could you fix this? I'd like to see more of your art work (reserving comment for when I see the article). :cP

If, on the other hand, you're asking if there is a story that I drew inspiration from - I'd say that I took inspiration from various portrayals of villains (and supervillains) with a tendency of revealing their whole diabolical plots due to a special kind of vanity. :cP

So the script and backing story is an original - even if some things referenced are common mainstays of conspiracy theory (sometimes audiences are more amenable to new information if it makes them laugh).

It'll be cool to get into a collaboration. ^_^ Definitely open to the possibility!

Also - if you are interested - I am presently (taking my sweet time as I want to do this right) to write up an "immunization to suicide" post. Its less of a story and more of a personal address. /:c)

Thank you for letting me know that I will fix that link rite now. I was asking if you had wrote any more of your story, like if there was a prologue or part two I would love to see a link to it . Immunization to suicide? Very interesting idea, I can't wait to see it!

Oh it was typed out as a standalone comedy 'skit' (Monty Python's John Cleese-style).

I like to think that we are living the prologue - and there is certainly potential to take the escapades of the Premium BEERS beyond this one chuckle-inducer.

The other post is a work in progress. As you may understand it is a very sensitive subject and so may take a couple more days (juggling with other things in life) before published.

Woah, that'd be cool!

Yes it would. I can't count the hours lost to image search in my as-yet-not-published up-coming post. ^_^ I'm stubbornly not breaking it into portions. :cP

This is great contest. It is always sad to see quality post with very low earnings. This initiative will enable quality posts to gain more exposure.

Here's my post of some artwork I made that I really enjoy, maybe you will too https://steemit.com/drawing/@emptyintentions/w-i-p-original-artwork-occult-skully
DQmPekwmB9FYyDXWVMDapLocVsPjj9ggm6F5MPtwwu7qaUp_640x480.jpg

I love this so much!!! The artwork I love the most is unusual, something you don't expect to see and have never seen before. So this just lit me up inside. I love occult stuff and cats too, which means there's pretty much everything for me to love about this. The colors are cool too.

Thank you very much I appreciate your kind words

One thing that I found interesting about your artwork - it is very geometric in design. This gives it its own style that might not necessarily lend itself equally well to all subject matters - but makes for an interesting perspective.

I also notice and appreciate the shift between the warmer colours of the surface and the cooler colors of the bubbles and background. The one thing I'd suggest as a 'necessary' improvement is shadows. You have at least six light sources - presuming the bubbles/ gems are non luminescent, and these have difficulty travelling through objects.

The 'one' place that this would have been necessary is with regards the inner skull beyond the eye sockets. I'd have suggested that the far sides' walls be lighter - disappearing into darkness - as the current fill makes the skull look a little more 2D than it strictly needed to look.

I really like how you etched the signature or title into the drawing. It doesn't take anything away from it. The flowers could have been given a slightly different shade from the rest of the ground, like a shade of deeper red, or purple, with tiny contrasting pollen center.

Its an ambitious drawing though so don't mind me on the feedback. :c) Well done.

Thank you for the complements and wonderful critique! Constructive criticism is the best way to improve besides practice of course. do you know of any good techniques about the light sources I always have this problem :(

I am afraid not. :c)

My feedback is just based upon thinking things through.

that being said - before filling something in that has 3 dimensionality - consider where shadows (or semi-lighting) could be placed to enhance depth of field. In this case the inside of the skull could have "cheated" with a dim shading of the inner skill (perhaps light bounces upon the bone-white/yellow surface (scattering effect)).

As with all things - practice makes perfect - and it doesn't hurt to look at art shading to see how other artists do it. :c)

Well, well, well @whatamidoing. ¿What do we have here? ¡Deadpost Contest! ¿Huh?

To me, this great initiative looks like an authentic proposal to try create actual COMMUNITY to encourage true ENCOUNTERS, ENGAGEMENT, INTERACTION and valuable discussions. And although I am not a very optimistic chap but in fact, more accurately, a very daring one... I will just say, that this "Deadpost Contest" should also be a very gratifying thing. }:)

Therefore, ¡You've convinced me! I will try to test my luck on this contest. Although I think you have made it very difficult for us when you say: Share your best Deadpost. Actually the tag BEST in my case, is indeed a very difficult concept to classify and really pinpoint any of my own posts.

But yeah! ¿How dead would you want one of mine? Uhmm, ok, let's start with the most stiff and rigid of all of them. My first post on steemit 14 months ago. However, for this second edition of this Deadpost Contest. I suspect it would be more appropriate to share a newer revamped version published a month ago when with a Repost, I tried to rescue this buried pearl of mine from the depths of oblivion without much success either.

Everything in the name of generating comments and discussion of great value through this great initiative of yours. :)

Hence without more ado. Check this little gem as my nominee for this contest. :)

Yes, yes I know! I talk too much bollocks and I apologize for it. But I can't help it pals. I am simply a reckless babbling beast. }:)

Btw, ¡Upvoted & Resteemed! to help raise the payout!! :)

Well @por500bolos, I must admit that reading through this was interesting - being both a mix of folding aside the density as well as extracting the interwoven messages within. :c)

I am fairly sure that if you had divided it into three posts, and expanded upon the messages within each (without matching the density - as many don't like to work that hard to extract meaning) - you would have gotten far greater combined payouts. :c)

Such is the nature of steemit. However well done on the writing and wit abundant. ^_^

Oh! Thank you very much @pathforger. It is a real pleasure and very gratifying to have received your welcome comment and opinion. I'm glad you like my little gem.

That's precisely the beauty of interacting among weavers. True wavers constantly have, develop and nurture further the great and always desired virtue of patience. Therefore, they are never in a hurry or rush to enjoy the benefits of the finished product alone.

They all enjoy observing and deciphering every stitch that has been given to a final piece in order to extract from it its true beauty and meaning. And for that very reason they are always rewarded with the wisdom, knowledge and the 'knowhow' of how things are and how things really work.

Those who do not take their time and do not stop to analyze things in front of their noses. And also refuse to explore and discover the origins and intermediate processes of how a "product" achieved its final existence. They invariably will never learn or understand how these products got there in first place nor where they themselves are standing. :)

as many don't like to work that hard to extract meaning

As for dividing my dense babbling gossamer into several posts, hehe, yeah! I guess I am not such a considered laborious spider. }:)

What a nice idea! I'd like to start this off with my Home made bounty recipe post. So tasty, so I'd like to give it some extra views this way :-)

Gonna wait and refresh here for other comments!

Yum! Simple recipes are my favorite and anybody could make these.

Oh definitely, they are so easy to make! :D

Now you have gone and made me hungry. :c)

I used to absolutely adore bounty bars - and ate more of them than I should have in my teenage years. ^_^;

A lovely nostalgic recipe that looks easy to follow. I'd be tempted to try making them now if I had the ingredients ready to go. :cP Tempted to make pancakes instead - but no. ^_^

Thanks for sharing.

Oops, I'm sorry! :D

I never really liked bounty bars much to be honest. Only later I started to appreciate coconut more and now, I really like these home-made ones :-)

Ah well I doubt that they are less "healthy" than either form of bounty bar. :cP

Its funny. I ate so many of them that there came a point in my mid teens when I went off them entirely.

I 'do' fancy them - or your bounty cakes. :cP

I remember this! Did you ever try with the cashew butter?

I did not! You know what my problem is? I tried making something with ground cashews a while ago and it was so yuck! Most stores I visit don't really have any ready-made cashew butter though, so maybe it will taste much different than simple ground cashews.

I find a lot of recipes that call for cashew butter. I really do need to find it one day!

I did a followup to a post that did really well. It didn't do nearly as well hahaha - How to make your Music sound EVEN better

Here is my entry.
https://steemit.com/life/@nidhisrecipes/positivity-quote-1-2017710t15310843z

I am sharing this post because posts like this are, according tm me very important to make people think positively in any situation of life.
People will get to know that thinking positive will also make their behaviour and attitude better.

I am new to Steemit and I only started a couple of weeks ago. I find I am learning everyday... Its great to have tips and help each other. Thank You @Sarojkumari77

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98