Winners of the first Deadpost Initiative Contest & Changes to the contest ($20 SBD/STEEM prize pool)

in #contest7 years ago

Our first Deadpost contest is over and the winners have been chosen based on number and quality of comments received on submissions and some discussion in the Be Awesome chats. The winners were promised half of the post payout or a minimum of 20 SBD split between them. Since I'm out of SBD at the the moment, some will be receiving STEEM instead.

IMG_1519.JPG
Image link

So here are the winners

@kendewitt 6 SBD

@kendewitt has been very good to me and we can relate in many ways so I was trying hard not to be biased towards him in any way. This was hard because I loved his story but I wanted the winners to be determined by the community and not just me. Luckily the community all loved his story as much as I did. It takes you through a dreamy landscape that reminded me of the interactions with various deities in American Gods. It explores the nature of reality, what is real and what is a dream? There was a lot to unpack though. Hopefully this support helps motivate him to put more energy into completing his novel. Go check it out yourself!

The False Promise of Steemit

@lindahas - 6 SBD

This post was very well received. I had just been made aware of @lindahas through our mutual participation in the Steemit Writers Guild, a project dedicated to promoting individual writers off of steemit while simultaneously generating interest in the steemit platform on Facebook, amazon, etc. In her post @lindahas explores how the little things in life define us. I feel a strong passion for life in her writing

The Little Things that Matter


Runner up: @avrdan - 4 STEEM

@avrdan provided a post that kind of went over my head but was really interesting and informative. It was a more scientific exploration of the nature of reality, focus on sphere like shapes in higher dimensions. What does a 5D sphere look like? You'll have to check out his post to find out.

Hyperspheres - What are They? How does one visualize them?


Honerable mentions - 2 STEEM each

@spaingaroo and @emptyintentions will receive 2 STEEM each not only for good posts but also for good participation!


Changes to the Deadpost Initiative

Since this was our first time around there are still a few kinks to work out. The generally idea will be the same but next time expect these changes:

  • Instead of joining in the chats, I will try to gather your opinions in the comments to make a decision about which posts were the best. This change is because it's hard to gather with our different time zones and other responsibilities. We will have guest judges once the initiative becomes a little more well known.

  • Quality comments will make one more likely to win. Consistent participation in Deadpost contests also makes you more likely to win, though not guaranteed, we still need quality posts.

  • I want to employ an idea proposed by @surfyogi in this deadpost of his that comments should be worth as much as posts, so I encourage you to upvote submissions the same as you would a regular post so we can bring some more SBD where it is due and even those who don't win can win.

  • If @timcliff doesn't mind, we will use his #discussion tag, which he writes about here since one of the main purpose of this Initiaive is to generate discussion.

  • For now I have to lower the minimum reward pool to 10SBD because I won't be able to keep doing this if we don't generate a little more payout on the posts. If a few big fish could help us with an upvote, we can offer an even higher reward than before though!

    • Due to our relative success with the first Deadpost contest, I'm thinking of making his a weekly contest, starting on Thursday's or Fridays depending when I have time. One week is a long time and there were a few quite days in between so the initiative went too overwhelming for me. I think it's easy to generate interest in this initiative so once a week should be fine. What do you think?

Looking forward to our next Deadpost submissions. The next Deadpost contest could come as soon as 12 hours from now depending on your replies

IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (my fiction) @ patreon

Sort:  

Been so busy this week I forgot about this. I think I'll reinvest the SBD back into the project so you can offer a bigger payout on the next one.

Wow dude, humbled! Everybody loved your post, We are all rooting for Merwin!

Thank you @whatamidoing for doing this awesome contest! I'm resteeming this post and I can't wait for the next one, this is such a cool idea.

You won't have to wait long, I'll be posting the next one in the next 24 hours, I have something else I want to post first though. :-D

Omg, thank you for the prize, I feel honored, and @kendewitt your story is amazing, I really enjoyed reading it as it has so many lessons in it. And it is a great contest @whatamidoing, something different and refreshing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04