WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #6

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

This is the Week #6 of the Whaleshares Short Story Contest series. I'm so happy because there were a lot of good entries last week. I hope the contestant and number of entry will be increased by time.


First of all, Congratulation for the winner of last week Short Story Contest. If you haven't check it, here it is:
The Winner of WhaleShares Short Story Contest Week #5


Contest Rules :

  • Write an Original ShortStory ( Plagiarism will be flagged and reported )
  • The Story contains no longer than 200 words
  • Write a ShortStory based on the topic that I will give every week
  • Only 1 entry per user
  • Submit your entry in the comment section below
  • The Winner will be decided by the number of valid and genuine upvotes received. So don't try to cheat with the bot upvotes or community upvotes ( I will check them manually).
  • There will be 3 winners this time.
    -1st Winner will receive 7 SBD and 20 Whaleshares Token
    -2nd WInner Will receive 3 SBD and 10 Whaleshares Token
    -3rd Winner will receive 2 SBD and 5 Whaleshares Token
    Special Thank's to @steemerhrn for donating 2 SBD for this contest reward
  • If you're wondering what's whaleshares, you can check this thread:
    STEEMGIG - A COMPLETE GUIDE ON HOW TO USE WHALESHARES! by @eirik
    Whaleshares Project | My Experience with Whaleshares Project
  • Upvote and ReSteem is appreciated to help me grow the contested interest.


If you're interested in Donating for the winner rewards, Feel free to contact me in Discord or Steemit.chat. My username is walterz on both platforms.


These tokens are on BitShares! So make sure you have a BitShares Account to receive and send them for upvotes on your Steemit posts!

Register Bitshares Account




Be sure to join us on the fastest growing steem-related Discord server! Over 1800 users in under 8 weeks!

https://discord.gg/hskTseT


Sort:  

Here's my entry.

The Journey to The Future

The years of pondering over the uncertainty of the future drove Ned into a desire to take a journey, not only in the physical but in his inner beign. His wife, Nora has just prepared his favourite meal ( beans and ripe plantains), set the table in their small hut, which served as sitting room,bedroom, kitchen at a far corner and dinning room,all in one. Something beyond the physical, beyond food was running through his brave mind. He could not hear the call to eat, his mind was far away. He has to embark on a journey, a tour to see the future and it's happenings. His father would not like the idea of his journey to the unknown, since he's the only heir, having lost his two brothers and mother in the thunder storm that claimed their family abode. But if he doesn't leave, he might never satisfy his curiosity. A time has come for a new start, a new adventure, a new destination. He parked his small hunter's bag, no idea of where he's heading, but he has to go somewhere, a place, a destination called the future.

MADNESS

The loud sounds of the dog barking next door wouldn't let me sleep!! I was going to go mad!! The next morning I woke up at 11 am in the morning I was very tried and exhausted. I told my parents about last night and they said they would talk to the neighbors. The next night I couldn't sleep again!! The dog was still barking all night!!! I told my parents again the next morning and they said they would talk to the neighbors again. The next week the dog barked again and again every night until one night it didn't bark. I still couldn't sleep I missed the barking of the dog too much. One day I told my parents that I wanted a dog ad I got one but it didn't bark at night just slept with me on the bed. I finally went to sleep without having to get mad at a dog.

THE END

my submission

Title: Mad Over You

Henry is restlessly on the phone meeting Annie’s voice mail. Annie, is sitting beside the shelf with her face curved on her kneels weeping. He meets her voicemail again and…

“Annie, (in frustration) please pick-up the phone. I… I am very sorry. I have dropped over a hundred messages since the last time I saw you, and you never called back…” A fresh tear flush down his eyes. “There is a certain insanity, (sniffs and cleans his nostrils with his arm), an insanity I feel for you. There is an insatiable hunger for you, a stirring that has filled my every thought with you (speaks with a heavy heart) I am so sorry I drove us this far apart, but I need a life-line”.

Tries a giggle “I had proposed never to bother you again like I said in my last message, but the madness in me will keep trying until there is a strong intensity that we become one. Yes, there is a madness in me, I know it now, I am mad over you!”

The flow of tears from his eyes increases and Annie is by herself wailing, aloud.

I kidda connect with this ATM....

hahahaha...thanks for the upvote and comment. i greatly appreciate

He grabbed the gun from the goo. The melted marshmallows would make wonderful God bullets. It was God who’d sent him the marshmallows to kill the virus. God was his neighbor. God couldn’t say he was God, so he named himself Greg Oswald Daniel. This was obvious to the Marshmallow Man, God always hid behind acronyms.

The virus had arrived two days ago looking for its next victim. The Marshmallow Man knew it was a virus because he’d been sneezing since its arrival. Anyone who knew anything about viruses knew they made you sneeze, before they make you die. The Marshmallow Man wasn’t going to let this happen.

He knew the virus was attracted to the sound of a can opener. He opened a can of tuna. The virus appeared, it rubbed itself on his legs as it purred. He picked up the sticky gun, God’s gooey vengeance dripping from the barrel. He aimed it point blank at the furry demon and pulled the trigger.

The gun clicked, marshmallow oozed from the barrel’s end. The virus licked it but didn’t die. Marshmallow Man sneezed. The God bullet must need another ingredient to work. He’d have to wait for deliverance.

Rouge Policemen.

"This is madness." I shouted as I was being bundled into the police car with handcuffs in my hands.
"Common get inside before you start speaking big grammar", the policeman pushed me roughly into the back of the car.
"I am a student and I have done nothing wrong", I tried to explain but he wouldn't listen. "If you check my pocket, you will see my ID card". By now, I was dragged in by the policeman who was inside the car.
"You drug dealer, you think you can escape?", the policeman said. "instead of you to confess you are speaking English.
"Drug dealer ke?" I shouted. Now it just dawned on me that these are the rouge policemen I have heard so much about. This country is going to hell.These policemen go about harassing and extorting innocent people.
"This is madness.., okay officer, what do you want me to do?" I asked in a calm voice knowing this is the only way to get them to listen to me.
"Now you are talking" the policeman who was inside the car said, "your money is N5000, you pay it and we will not charge you to court".
"Whaaattt?" I shouted.

This happens alot. is this a true life experience?

this is really a nigerian thing... though funny, it has led to the deaths of many young nigerians

What is the topic? Perhaps I can write a data driven story :)

read more carefully sir. I've put the topic above.

Oh my bad, I tend to read fine prints and skip graphics. Got it now thanks

Bitshare account: greatness97

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32