VDux Haiku Contest -- Win 2 SBD, Upvotes, and More for Writing 17 Syllables About…

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Do you want to win 2 SBD for 30 seconds of work?

You're on Steemit so you probably enjoy the many contests. There are TONS of great contests on Steemit, producing some great (often little-noticed) content. Lots of poetry and writing competitions, too. Follow @moneyinfant to hear about all of them, including this one!

If I had more time, I'd enter all these contests. Instead, I started my own! If you have 30 seconds to spare and you can write 17 syllables, you can win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, how I'll select a winner, and how you can contribute.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku that includes a color. Any color.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Vdux wears purple

He confuses it with blue

He is color-blind

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

(HINT - if you've created a haiku for a previous contest, and that haiku includes a color or refers to a color...use it!)

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, March 23, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, March 23, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.


Source: Giphy

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

(For examples of shout-outs, read the shout-outs for my most recent contest: Congrats to @Millennialnow and Congratulations to Yahia Lababidi.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit. So far, it's been very, very close call with lots of great entries to choose from. Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want.

I run this haiku contest regularly so if yours doesn't win, try again next time.

Awesome job everybody who entered my previous contests. Read their haikus:

Suggest a Theme

Do you have a topic or theme you want me to use for a future contest? I'm collecting ideas.

Reply to Suggest a Haiku Theme? and I'll add yours to the list. @acousticsteveo gave me "soup" which I used for the most recent contest.

Feel the Haiku!!!


Source

Sort:  

Steem Dollars are red
Steem is just sizzling white smoke
Bear market is here

Oh I see what you did there. Green is coming soon!

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

winter is over
start coloring outside lines
to live a little

Yes! Please! Thank you for your entry!

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

Part of the beach
Where you can see the sunset
The sky turns orange

Nice! Can I change "Area" to "Part" so your entry fits the rules?

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

Ah, a secret admirer? I'm jealous! Thank you for entering my contest!

You are runner up! Read the winner announcement for more: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

Her pillow is red. 🎟️
She liked to stay in her bed 🛌
With books she had read . 📚

Nice. And it rhymes!

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

A symbolic hue
As love, rage, warmth and courage
Red is beautiful

Passion, fire, blood...

Great entry. Thank you!

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

That's one good-looking cat. Helping you garden?

Always! That's her job! :-)

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

4D963B62-594A-4C32-A703-59FBD91A7304.jpeg

Violets are blue
My love for you remains true
But I’m not your hue

Clever! Thank you for another great entry.

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

When I think of March
Pisces and Aries compete
Aqua verses Red

Two colors! Upping the ante?

Lol. For sure. 😎

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

Dreaming of the Other Side

Greener over there.
Tastier too, it must be.
Now, how to get there...

Dreaming_of_the_Other_Side_haiku.JPG
https://steemit.com/haiku/@viking-ventures/dreaming-of-the-other-side-haiku-for-vdux-s-contest
(I tagged you too... and feel free to come over and enter my limerick contest!)

Mmmm, the multi-talented @viking-ventures :))

Thank you for reminding me to check out VDux's contest! I enjoyed participating in the previous one.
Note: the picture is mine too.

@viking-ventures - You're welcome. Hopefully, the cows are too!?

The cows were not mine, unfortunately. But they seemed friendly enough.

Great! I didn't see the limerick contest -- can you paste the link here?

Thank you for your haiku! Here's the winner announcement: https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/2bwufc-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84