VDux Contest #3 -- Win 2 SBD, Upvotes, and More for Writing 17 Syllables About…

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

You're on Steemit so you probably enjoy the many contests.

I recommend you follow @moneyinfant to hear about all of them. Also check out some really interesting writing prompts from these guys: @firepower, @terrycraft, @dpatcher, @lymmerik, @mermaidvampire, @karenmckersie, and so many more!

If I had more time, I'd enter every contest. Instead, I started my own! If you have 30 seconds to spare and you can write 17 syllables, you can win 2 SBD, author awards, and some free publicity.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner. This week's theme is courtesy of @acousticsteveo.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about soup. Yes, soup. Any soup. Anything you do with soup. Anything that has to do with soup. Possibilities are limitless!

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Vdux makes good soup

Easy recipes only

Simple is tasty

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, March 11, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, March 11, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit. So far, it's been very, very close call with lots of great entries to choose from. Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want.

I run this haiku contest regularly so if yours doesn't win, try again next time.

Awesome job everybody who entered my previous contests. Read their haikus:

VDux's Contest #2! Win 2 SBD, Free Upvotes, and More for Writing 17 Syllables.

Contest! Win 2 SBD, Free Upvotes, and More for Writing 17 Syllables.

Feel the Haiku!!!

Sort:  

Thank for the tag @vdux! Another awesome contest you have here! Keep it up.

Thank you!

Inheritance lost
Cry my nourished dying soul
The pottage sod wailed

Thank you for your entry. Is that a reference to Jacob and Esau?

The age old question
Is chili a soup or stew?
Perhaps it’s neither

Whoa. Mind. Blown. Thank you for the haiku!

Philosphy in a bowl. You are a genius. Good luck!

TLC Soup
soup.jpg

Momma always said
Ingredients won’t matter
Until you add love

Very nice! Good luck. We could all use more of moms wisdom today.

I didn't want to mention that I actually have some beefaroni in my fridge! It's a "Patricia" version with ground turkey instead, but, spicy just the same; Because yes, It's best with chili heat!! Good luck to you a s well sir!

Ah, love. The magic ingredient!

Teehee! TLC- I put it in EVERYTHING! (heart emoticon)
Not to be confused with THC... LOL!

3E0BBC97-263C-483D-9FE6-724D481F9F7B.png
Soup


An inner embrace,
when you need reassurance—
some warmth in your life.


64333FF1-1526-43B0-BD0A-6EB36DB21194.jpeg

Nice! Bonus for the photo.

Many thanks, @vdux, I'm grateful that you appreciate the presentation :)

Beefaroni treat
It looks like noodles and meat
Best with chili heat

You were my almost
And it hurts more to know that
I am your never

Whoa that is really good. Thank you for entering!

https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/vdux-haiku-contest-winners

BTW I really, really liked this haiku. It's brilliant, truly. Unfortunately the theme of this contest was soup. Would you use it for my next haiku contest, which I'll open in the next few days?

Yes, I would love to join again. Thank you! 😊

A Mom's Dream

Tonight we have soup!
Kids moan and whine at the news.
Until they taste it.

okay - posted it separately too. :-)
https://steemit.com/haiku/@viking-ventures/a-mom-s-dream-haiku-for-vduk-s-contest

(Note: corrected the spelling now - sorry!)

Cool! Yea, your kids are better than mine. Or maybe you make better soup. My kids moan, whine, and...get mac and cheese instead.

Or I just made it up... lol.
Occasionally, they do like it, but yeah, usually it's a bit more like yours - though mine don't get mac and cheese as an alternative - or I'd never get them to eat anything else!

20180311_065924 - Soup from turkey bone broth.jpg

Soup is my big thing
my specialty for decades
always made with love

https://steemit.com/poetry/@crescendoofpeace/soup-is-my-big-thing-my-entry-to-vdux-s-haiku-contest-3

Thanks for keeping the contest going!

Pictured is my latest soup, also made with turkey bone broth, that we're just about to finish off.
It has been really, really good.;-)

Looks delish! Recipe?

I started to post it here, but it wound up being ridiculously long, so I made it into a post.
You can check it out here:
https://steemit.com/recipe/@crescendoofpeace/turkey-bone-broth-soup-recipe-health
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00