Reflections #1 : A Mixed Media Collaboration Contest (Pre-announcement)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Reflections: A Mixed Media Collaboration Contest

This will be the first of a series of three announcement posts for my Mixed Media Collaborations Contest. It will be the first of three because I want to give everyone plenty of time to find a partner, brainstorm to your heart’s content, and produce exceptional material. I want you to make the lives of the judges very, very difficult.

reflections.jpg
Image courtesy of Bess-Hamiti via Pixabay

Those of you who know me, know I paint and write, and am a fervent lover of music as well as an amateur singer myself. I’ve done a few twin posts where I write a poem and make a painting that reflects its meaning. One post is about the poem, and one goes into more detail about the painting. I love doing things like this because it challenges me to think outside the box and go far beyond my comfort zone (which is fiction, to be honest).

I would love to challenge you all to do the same. Think outside the box. Be original, creative. Go where no one has gone before.

How It Works

Entries to this contest will comprise of two parts.

One part will be in written form. I am not going to limit you in any way. It can be a piece of fiction, a philosophical discussion, or a poem. I only ask that this post be made up of words. Preferably ones that touch me somehow. They can be pretty, sad, painful, harsh or passionate. But write them with feeling.

The other part will be art. And I mean this very liberally. The art post can be visual (paintings, drawings, photography, etc.) or musical.

The two posts need to link to one another, and reflect one another. I’ll give you an example of my own, since I don’t know someone else who does twin posts like this.

Fallen Giant is a poem, a tanka, that I wrote about a horse I loved very much. The post contains the poem, some information about its subject and why it meant so much to me, and an image of the painting. I also added a link to the post with the painting. In that post, I talk about the painting, and the process I went through in working on it.

That is what I would like to see from all of you. I do realise not everyone writes, paints, draws, and sings. That is why I will allow entries from a team of two people, as well as from one person who creates both pieces themselves.

I want people to think outside the box, and connect outside of their own niche. Since coming to Steemit, I’ve met amazing singers, artists and writers. It’s a shame they often don’t get to meet each other or collaborate. But Reflections #1 might change that. I certainly hope so.

Save These Dates

The contest will open three weeks from now. You’ll be able to submit from December 16th, which is, I believe, a Saturday, at 20.00 CET (Central European Time). Submissions will close one week later, on the 23rd, at 20.00 CET.

I will be posting weekly reminders, with some extra tips on how to wow the judges, as well as more details about those judges.

The Prizes

Thanks to a very generous donation from @tanglebranch, the prize pool is currently at 40 SBD. The exact division of this pool will depend on the number of entries received.

I am very excited to see what you will come up with.

Stay tuned for more details!


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.




Sort:  

This could be an interesting colab with my hubby @mrlightning

Looks good! Going to try to get the wife @morodiene to collab with me. Maybe if I'm nice to her she actually will.

I am very definitely looking forward to your entry.

Woot woot! Looking forward to seeing the entries!

Sounds good. As a pro photographer and pro-ish (only a few paydays under my belt from it) haiku translator, those would seem a natural combination, but I will think about what to do and enter if I can!

Photography is allowed, but there also, I encourage you to think outside the box. Play with lighting and angles and surprise us. ;-) Can't wait to see what you bring to the table. And don't underestimate your sonnets either.

Thanks for attending Pimp Your Post Thursday @tinypaleokitchen. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday on Discord. Love your work.
https://discord.gg/KP2tNq4

Thank you for having me there! Hugs

Great idea for a contest! And I have no idea what to do...
hmmm. thanks for the long lead-time! I need it!

Find a partner and go from there. You can brainstorm together. ;-)

the spirit in art is very good let alone the art that we create bermamfaat for others such as music almost of all people love music, senian skin writing we can be mamfaatkan by others

Thank you for your comment, I think.

I can't wait to see the entries for this! Great idea! :)

You could enter, Trishie. 😉 All you need is a partner.

Might have to give it a go ;)

Ooh, I'm thinking! I may do a photography/writing piece. However, if any artists are seeking a partner, please feel free to tag me!

I look forward to your entry. ;-) Stay tuned for tips on how to wow the judges.

Thanks for putting this on, @tinypaleokitchen. It's so clever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45