Beta reading contest Ragnarok Conspiracy : Part four 28.000 STEEM in prize moneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest7 years ago

Like the previous three months, this month, December, I am running another set of beta reading lotteries.

Like in the previous installments of this lottery, I am looking for beta reading style feedback on my draft chapters.
This month there are ten prizes to be won:

  • A 2.000 STEEM prize for each of the nine chapters.
  • A 10.000 STEEM prize for part four of Ragnarok Conspiracy as a whole.

After the last of the five parts, that should run somewhere next month, there shall be an extra lottery with an extra prize that your entries will automatically compete in:

  • A prize consisting of 500 SP, delegated for six weeks, for the book as a whole. This one won't be a @croupierbot lottery. This prize will go to the suggestion that I would consider hardest to find.

So how does it work? Below are links to each of the nine chapters of part four of Ragnarok Conspiracy. I need you to beta read them. If you see anything that needs improvement, check the comments first to see if you are the first to notice. If you are, create a comment.

If it is a useful and constructive comment and not a duplicate, I will upvote your comment and my upvote will equal you receiving one lottery ticket. I now know about the quotations issues, so you don't have to point these out again, but all other improvement suggestions are still welcome.

You may enter up to six non-duplicate comments per chapter. More upvoted comments mean a bigger chance of winning. You may also comment on this post. Once for each chapter, you commented on. If I upvoted any of your comments on the chapter I will also do so here. Oh, and if you have read each of the nine chapters, please also create a comment below telling me which is your most and least favorite chapter of this bunch, and why. I'll also upvote that comment giving you one extra ticket in the 10 STEEM lottery.

On the date mentioned behind the chapters, a winner shall be drawn for each chapter. The winner for part four as a whole shall be drawn on January 1st. I shall call in @croupierbot on each of the chapters, AND, on this post. The bot will draw the winner.

Oh, and remember, I am looking for constructive criticism. Not for praise. I want to learn what needs work so I can improve my story and make my first Novell, as high quality as I possibly can.

Have fun reading and good luck in the lottery.

Part Four: Midgard
In part four of the story, a not-quite-alien abduction gone bad keeps escalating while quantum entanglement morphs into magic realism. The story picks up pace once more as events in this part take up a mere 3 days.

  1. Tables Turning December 25th
  2. Sleipnir December 25th
  3. Captured December 26th*
  4. Reset December 27th
  5. Weaponized December 28th
  6. Air December 29th
  7. Coordinates December 30th
  8. Foreign Dreams December 31th
  9. Forgotten December 31th

If you didn't read the chapters from the first three parts of the story, and if you are interested in more context for the chapters above, you can consult the index. Just make sure you are back in time for commenting on this months chapter before the lottery draw commences.


Cover art by Keith Draws

Sort:  

Chapter 2 done. Sorry I did not get far on this contest/help section.

Hi @bashadow, would you be in for a part five beta reading lottery? I'm considering running it but don't want to end up like part four this time.

I would certainly try to help, I am not much of even a spell checker but I can find some things generally, I have been pretty busy, but when have the time, I still like to read, so I will try, not sure I will make it for every part, but I will try. I also know an editor type person that might be interested so If/when you run it, I will let them know, I don't know if they are into fiction or not, but the more the merrier. And apologies for the end of last one, life just got in the way as it tends to every now and then.

Part five is live now. Looking forward to your entries ;-)

Chapter 1 done.

As far as favorites and least favorite chapters go, I liked chapter 5 the most as that was the "action chapter"; as I was reading it I could picture the scene playing out in my mind as if it was from a sci-fi/action movie. Chapter 7 was my least favorite because the cliffhanger at the end of the chapter felt like the equivalent of watching an entertaining show or movie on TV, only to abruptly cut to commercial right when the viewer is really anticipating what is going to happen next.

Read through chapter 9, left a few comments, will finish after the new year.

Read through chapter 8, left a couple of comments, will finish after the new year.

Congratulation on winning pibara's @croupierbot lottery with this comment.

Chapter 4 done and commented upon.

Chapter 5 done and commented upon.

Chapter 1 done and commented upon.

Chapter 2 done and commented upon.

Chapter 3 done and commented upon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59