WILD EDIBLES SCAVENGER HUNT UPDATE - 65 STEEM ALREADY PAID OUT!

in #contest7 years ago

How would you like to earn STEEM just by learning something something new or sharing what you know?


Since @papa-pepper has been enjoying so many of the wild edible plants growing all around us lately, I thought that I would run a fun contest to reward others just for taking a photo of something edible that grows near where they are. This knowledge can be very healthy and nutritious to know, and it may even save your life one day.

Here are the verified entries so far:

@therealpaul - 15 STEEM


@hammaraxx - 15 STEEM


@maninayton - 15 STEEM


@gregory-f - 20 STEEM

What about you?

Do you know of any wild plants growing around you that are edible? Can you find a Dandelion or some other wild edible and photograph it with some verification? Look around and check it out. I'll still be rewarding entries and I love seeing what plants you've got nearby that you could be using as food if you wanted to. Check out my official post on this Scavenger Hunt by clicking the link below!

https://steemit.com/contest/@papa-pepper/wild-edibles-scavenger-hunt-contest-starts-now

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-65-STEEM-paid-out-already

Except for the photo entries from others


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

We are in the start of the remains of Cyclone Debbie here, rain for the next week, 500 + people in our nearby city being evacuated before the floods get there type rain.
Imagine pictures of Puha [a damp ground prefering] native weed, Manuka [tea tree] shrubs, [used from Captain Cooks time to cure scurvy the sailors suffered from], Ti Kouka, [cabbage tree] the inner leaves are boiled and taste like cabbage, it kills the tree to get them though. If I sent you pictures you wouldn't know what you were looking at anyway.

Good point. I hope that all will go well down there.

The Rangitikei district has been declared a 'diaster area' those in low lying area have been moved to the town hall. Where we are is still above water. They are forcasting sun for Sarurday. Roll on the weekend.

Nice! Thank you, I enjoyed finding something for this contest, always liked learning new wild edibles, and violets were a fairly new one for me, growing all around me my whole life.

No kidding. What we overlook can often be far more useful!

Thanks for getting out there and making an entry! Enjoy the STEEM my friend!

Thank you! It showed up as a big fat notification on my wallet, I appreciate it.

HAHAHA! Glad you liked it!

I will give it a try but theres more out in Beaverdell then here by my apartment lol ! Heres a link to another cool appreciation contest , if anyone is interested put on by V.O.T.U. to help keep the economy going on here while its slow .Some great prizes too. https://steemit.com/votu/@karenmckersie/my-entry-in-the-v-o-t-u-appreciation-contest
Thanks @papa-pepper ! Upped and resteemed !😊👍

Cool, thanks for the link too!

Keep building this community!

Yes for sure ! Especially right now while its slow.The more the merrier😊

Dear @papa-pepper! Good post. Thank you!

I love scavenger hunts! In my current neighborhood, there isn't a thing I would want to forage. This place is filthy. The good news is I'm moving last weekend of the month! Then there will be wildlife and wonderful foraging opportunities. It's not my own personal land but it's a step in the right direction.

If you still see something that counts.... even if you do not eat it, you could still enter.

Plus, if it is laced with chemicals and pesticides, it could be just like shopping at the grocery store... LOL!

My goal is to grow & nurture the bulk of my own food supply. Have you looked into aquaponics? Imagine a fresh source of fish as it creates a natural ecosystem to naturally feed/fertilize your plants. I'll be starting small to experiment and hopefully keep it mobile enough for when we eventually find our place on earth.

That is on my to do list! (along with everything else!)

Thank you @papa-pepper
Your Scavenger hunt is a great idea. So much food right under our noses.
The (cashless) birds have got it right.

Yeah, they eat for free every day!

Thanks for entering my friend!

You as always amaze and amuse! I love all posts and competitions .

I'm glad that you enjoy it! Thank you!

A big thank you @papa-pepper for the Steem. It has made my day!

Congrats and thanks for entering! (Can't win if you don't enter!)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you @papa-pepper! I really appreciate the very generous reward.

And I appreciate your entry and effort! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42