Winners of "What Does Your Forest Taste Like?" Artisinally Infused Vinegar Contest!

in #contest6 years ago

Last week I felt inspired as I was out in the woods to make an Ozark-infused Spring Artisinal Vinegar featuring wildflowers, wild oregano, pine tips and more! I set out a challenge for others to do the same. Here's the original post:

What Does Your Forest Taste Like? How To Make An Artisanal Herb-Infused Vinegar & 6 SBD Contest: Make Your Own Flowers, Weeds & More Herbal Vinegar for Spring!

DQmQmxT51c1jUs6ii2THPLX2eBSUFLjvmCqKq5E58m4WSdk.jpeg

The Guidelines

  • Make an herbal vinegar from plants coming up in your area.
  • Document your experience through photos and text and create a post sharing your wildcrafting adventure.
  • Tag us in the article @mountainjewel, link to this post, and drop a link in the comments so we see your post!

We had 3 lovely, unique and amazing entries and each of these people have received 2 SBDs. Congrats!

Here are their posts so you can check them out for inspiration!


@walkerland's Artisanal Herb-Infused Vinegar: Acadian Forest Edition

I could literally smell & taste her forest through her post and it is divine!!

DQmT9CgDbM5D5JBKVWqPLzioao6PLK1b5e4xzPreE13LcTA.jpeg

Can't wait to see how it turns out!! (Not that I'll get to taste it, but hopefully you'll share with us haha!)


@riverflow's Home Brewed Vinegar: Pear-egar and Quin-egar

Incredibly enough, each of these first two winners made the vinegar! I hadn't done that before so I found @riverflow's post especially intriguing - not to mention so so cool and educational!

U5drb7Zdizqzs4DaZ9SN2FevFd31eH7_1680x8400.jpeg

It's autumn where she is and oh what a dream to have so many pears and quinces to make this awesome vinegar with!


@ironshield's The "What does your forest taste like" Challenge: Rosehip Vinaigrette

Ironshield by far had the best bottle haha! And I love that he got his kids involved in making a what-is-sure-to-be-delicious rosehip vinaigrette!

DQmYM9ZXRS9xdxLPvw4GcpmgGtGrJMm9feXfBECLwR2e4U9.png

Can't wait to hear how it turns out!!


Thank you two each of you who got outside and connected with your local area to show us what's going on in your neck of the wood! I plan on making Forest-inspired vinegars all season long- perhaps I'll have another "maker" contest as the seasons shift ;) Also, got a lot of good feedback about this idea so thanks everyone for the encouraging words. I really appreciate the feedback.

Steem on!

Screen Shot 2018-04-24 at 2.51.00 PM.png

Sort:  

Yippee! Thank you so much! The vinegar is much darker pink/red now. We haven't sampled it yet, probably tonight or tomorrow. @ironshield

yay! glad to hear it...<3 !! congrats :)

I LOVE...THIS!!! I do weekly hiking sodas but have never tried the vinegar. I'm gonna make some with white Sage and lavender for my hair rinse!!! Thanks for the idea love ❤️!!! Upvote and resteemed!!!

White sage and lavender would be GORGEOUS!!!!

oh my gosh! great idea with the hair rinse... ahhh ~ white sage ~ and lavender! what an amazing combo!! <3 thanks! :)

It was an inspired competition and you put it together so well. I feel humbled- I felt I was breaking the competition rules as I couldn't womble wild plants at this time of year. I loved @wildwalkers wood walk and the beautiful magic they put in their vinegar, and the rosehop in the bottle look sooo lovely @ironshield ... I would be interested to see how it tastes, but it sure would have medicinal oomph!!

I love this. I'm inspired and will definitely make a vinegar of my own to share with you, straight from Yokohama, Japan! A few years ago, I wanted to start a tincture and salve business here. Always great to have a new reason to work with herbs.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

hadn't thought of doing that before, clever idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61