Home Brewed Vinegar: Pear-egar and Quin-egar

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


Rainbow1524042855999.jpg

@mountainjewel's competition this week is about making your own herbal vinegars by foraging in your gardens or in the wild for herbs to flavour vinegar. It's a beautiful idea, especially in Spring time in the U.S where everything is blossoming and blooming. I was really excited about it and then (cue disappointed noise) I realised that yet again, I was out of the running of a competition because I was on the flipside downunder and it's Autumn here (or Fall, if you need the translation). No problem! said @mountainjewel - you can play (yay!) - and sent me on an Autumnal contemplation and wander.

Olives and the red flowering gum are about the only plants really showing signs of fruit and blossoms right now

Except, my garden (and the entire landscape) at this time of year is in decline. The deciduous trees are losing their leaves, the summer vegetables have been ripped up and composted to make way for winter plantings (although there are a few tomatoes ripening on the vine) and the herbs have really suffered - we trimmed the oregano the other day as the flowers had died off, and we had to replant our thyme because it just didn't get enough water during the long, hot summer we just suffered through (we only had rain this week, which was a relief, as it was much needed). As for bush foods, there was none around my immediate environment, and it felt like cheating (as well as time consuming) to go bush to find some.

It sounds bereft around here, doesn't it? But the light is beautiful, and the birds are singing. The sky is the bluest of blues, and the colour contrast of reds, golds, whites and oranges are stunning against blue skies. If you listen carefully when you play the video below, you might be able to hear cockatoos and parrots.



I was just about to go up and go inside when I remembered the pears and the quinces. Wait - I thought - it's just after Easter, and what do I do every Easter? I MAKE VINEGAR. Literally make it from scratch, from wild pears and wild apples in the Otways. We usually go out foraging and fight our way through brambles to find fruit that's grown from tossed cores and manages to survive drought and fire and that most people drive past in their cars rushing to their various busy projects.

Thus, I decided to check my vinegar cabinet. What, you don't have a vinegar cabinet? My husband thinks I'm hilarious. Vinegar is so cheap, he says. But yeah, I say, what if there is a ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE AND WE RUN OUT OF VINEGAR! (of course, I win this argument - you can't argue with an apocalypse).

In my vinegar hideout I find a jar of raspberry kombucha vinegar. If you've made kombucha before, you know what happens if you leave it for ages, don't you? It's face suckeringly powerful, and no hipster label is going to make this sellable to anyone. My second ferment, when you flavour it with fruits, was left to go to raspberry vinegar, which was quite good, but I'm still not sure what to pair it with. Look at those scobies in there, nestling up against each other like big fat babies! I'll chop those up for the compost, I think.


20180418_144932.jpg

However, next to the raspberry vinegar are my bottles of Pear-egar and Quin-egar, as I like to call them. This is homemade vinegar made out of pears and quinces. Sure, call it 'pear vinegar' if you like, but this is way more fun! I'd made apple last year too, but we'd used it all up already. The pear vinegar is really delicate in flavour and quite crisp. You can literally smell the pears and it's quite gorgeous. The quince needs a little longer, as it smells like quince cider (I know, who's had quince cider, right? No one. But if you can imagine a proper apple cider, scrumpy style, that's what it's like, except redolent of quinces).

Last year I realised that you could make vinegar out of any fruit, not just grapes. Of course, Italian balsamics and grape wine vinegars originated out of those delightful accidents where they forgot about wine and it turned to vinegar (impossible, right? How could anyone FORGET about wine?), but of course, we all know apple cider vinegar too, which has wonderful health benefits. Thus, it follows that you can make vinegar out of all kinds of fruit. And as mountainfeed.com explains it below, it's full of live bacteria.

THE BENEFITS OF LIVE BACTERIA: Long viewed as a contaminant in beer and wine making, the acetobacter bacteria that create vinegar are in fact useful and agreeable organisms. Acetobacter live everywhere, all around us, on the skins of fruit, the feet of flies, in even the cleanest of kitchens. They give kombucha its characteristic tang, and, while it is true that they do not make for good beer, wort inoculated with acetobacter will quickly turn into a fine malt vinegar. Like many fermented beverages, vinegar creates a SCOBY as it digests the sugars present in whatever liquid is being fermented. SCOBY, as you may know from other fermentation projects, is an acronym for Symbiotic Community of Bacteria and Yeasts. The opaque material that makes up the SCOBY floating on the surface of the fermenting wine is composed mainly of cellulose, which is a byproduct of the action of the several strains of acetobacter and yeast that work to turn alcohol into vinegar. https://www.mountainfeed.com/blogs/learn/41176641-understanding-and-making-your-own-vinegar

It's super easy to make, as long as you have some fruit! Today I decided to combine the pear and quinces to show you how I do it.

Homemade Pear and Quince Vinegar

  1. Chop washed fruit into medium sized pieces. Place them in a sterilised wide mouth jar. Here, I used about 6 pieces of fruit.
  2. Mix about two tablespoons of sugar (the 'mother' will feed off this if your fruit is too tar) with water and pour over the apples to cover.
  3. Weight the apples down so they don't float to the surface. The first time I did this, I forgot this step and ended up with a mouldy mush, which you DON'T want. You can try a plastic lid and weight that down with a cup if you don't have proper brewing weights.
  4. Cover the jar with cheesecloth or paper towel and secure with a rubberband, which helps keep fruitflies at bay.



    Then - the hard part. You have to be PATIENT. Put it in a warm, dark place for a few weeks. When you check on it, it will smell like fermented cider (yum!). Strain out the liquid and dispose of the fruit, and return the liquid to the jar. Let it do it's thing - it's dependent on the air temperature really and can take 6 weeks or 6 months! I actually forget about mine until the following year. After a few weeks, though, you can taste it - when it gets to the taste you like, you can put it in a nice bottle and start using it.

    20180418_144840.jpg

20180418_144923.jpg

I'm sorry I don't have any gorgeous flowery decorative flavoured vinegars to show you, but I hope you get a little something out of this post - maybe next time you can make the vinegar first, THEN flavour it! Woo hoo!

However, what I DID realise, is that I already did it - a few weeks ago (is there a vinegar that makes you less forgetful?) - I flavoured my vinegar to make it into a fire cider, a medicinal vinegar that helps ward off the flu. I'm going to down a shot now, as I feel some wintery autumnal sniffles coming on! Please do [check it out] - if you get it started now, it will definitely be brewed for your winter!

Thanks @mountainjewel for prompting me to write this post - what an awesome idea for a competition.


DQmV3i2GXrWMSJAgHgNtBS6u1iyRAec4Yn7uMCVWe3uK28b.jpeg

DQmXZppccpNVa5K76yTyhadU2rQonijUtFAEu4GHvBdGbPW_1680x8400.jpeg

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

I love this on so many levels!! While I have experimented with making apple cider vinegar, pears never even crossed my mind. Your writing is full of so much honesty and fun, it's a complete joy to read. Thank you for sharing this!

Also, zombie apocalypse beats everything

Thanks so much! Your appreciation gives me motivation! Yes, I was blown away by the fact you could make pear vinegar, but at the same time OF COURSE!! If you can have perry (pear cider, or PIDER as we call it here, as we are stupid silly fans of a portmanteau) you can have pear vinegar!! Thanks for appreciating my writing. I think I do okay, but you never really know, do you? Especially when there are such wonderful writers on this platflorm. And I always wonder whether people get my stupid sense of humour!

He he, the zombie apocalypse... ! If only vinegar was like a stake to the heart/silver bullet/donk to the brains, I'd be fine!

Yes I think you have a great style of writing combined with some humor and photos...what more could a person want?!

I have to ask though...what are quince? Is it a type of apple? I noticed on the directions you talked about weighing down the apples...so I wad curious. Excuse my ignorance...zombie brain 😂

Quince are a quite old fashioned fruit. They are big, like big apples, with peach fuzzy skin. They are very tart and not good raw. However quince jelly was a common old school recipe, and the spanish make membrillo from it, a fruit cheese thats AWESOME on a cheese platter. I have 2 quince trees. Oh and they are great baked with marscapone! They have become quite trendy of late.

YAY! Wow!!! those vinegars look amazing! i'm so inspired; both you AND @walkerland featured homemade vinegars in your posts, something i have yet to try! totally inspired now. and i had to laugh at these two fantastic quotes (yet another!) from you

It's face suckeringly powerful, and no hipster label is going to make this sellable to anyone.

Look at those scobies in there, nestling up against each other like big fat babies!

lol so good! thanks for this and it's so cool to see the beautiful blue sky, olives, and awesome blossom where you are. god i'm glad i held this challenge so we could even just see what everyone's neck of the woods looks like!! transference: Taste of the Forest :)

Oh man!! I adore your enthusiasm - it's so contagious!! @walkerland 's post was gorgeous, I was telling my husband about you guys and how gorgeous it is over there. It's more reminiscent of England which makes him a little homesick (especially the plants) - it really is awesome to go for a walk with people through their landscapes!

He he - oh my god, every shop you go into these days has a zillion kombucha brands!! It's crazy. With all the scobies I have I could keep the whole town supplied for a year! Thanks for your appreciation!! Did you listen to the birds? They were what truly made the afternoon. If only Steemit could capture smells too!

This makes me thirsty for a Amber Ale

What, with vinegar??? Maybe some pear and blue cheese - now there's a thought!

I use bananas and mangoes to make vinegar. They taste great on salads!

wow! if you ever make a post on that, please tag me :D!!!

Wil do for sure!

I know right!!! Tropical vinegar!!! I'm going to make it next mango madness season!!

OH. MY. GOD. Tell me more!!! That's amazing!! Yes, tag me too! Wowballs!

Loading...

If you find a vinegar that makes people less forgetful, definitely tell me! I forget things like it's my mission in life!! Very much enjoyed your post :)

Ha, forgetfulness is more about our attention - reading your last post, if it's because you are trying to do so much at once, there's little wonder you forget things! That's what happens to me, anyway. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for reading!!!

Your like the queen of the vinegars!
What a post :) And actually- never say never, quince cider (i tried to make wine) was the first alcohol I ever made bloody delicious it was and 7.5 %, one liter and you felt it!

I had many different ciders and thus many different vinegar's when the flies got in the bottles. Oh it was all done gypsy style in my caravan of course!

Good luck everyone in the competition :)

Awesome... quince cider would be delicious!!!!Love a gypsy wine... 🤣...

thanks for your participation! you're a winner!

I have my first jar of Kombucha vinegar that is almost 30 day old now. Will see how it turns like.

Let me know!! My raspberry 2F boosh vinegar is still quite strong and I wonder if it will mellow across time..it would be nice with a green bean dressing I think..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56