Mike's Writing Contest *** Week 3 Art Prompt Reveal *** $20 SBD Prize Pool

in #contest7 years ago

We have new Art for you to work on!!!

DQmdqTPSSKBJpif46Dj9c9R879R1mNpYtdwBcDNpUpFSx4E_1680x8400.png

Image Credit: mohamed1982eg on Pixabay

There's still time to get in on week 2. Entries will be accepted through this evening. It is currently 11am Central Time, let's call the deadline 20:00 Central Time, so you have about 9 hours to put together a story about randowhale and get it listed in the entries over here: Week 2 Art Reveal

As a refresher, and for those just joining us. The goal here is to write an original story or poem based around the art prompt. All of our art prompts are from your fellow Steemians, so we are trying to expose some good writing and good art together. There are no length limits, style limits, or restrictive guidelines. We're just trying to get those creative juices flowing.

Prize pool works like this:

First Place: $10 SBD
Second Place: $5 SBD
Third Place: $3 SBD
$2 Runners up pool to be divided at judge's discretion.

Deadline for entries will be one week from today, Thursday September 21 at 20:00 Central Daylight Time. Winners will be announced no later than the following Sunday, and new art prompt comes out sometime on Thursday.

Ready for this week's prompt?

This week I chose a selection that should put us back in the Science Fiction/Fantasy realm. @creativesoul offered this piece, and will be receiving a $5sbd gift from me for allowing us to use her work. You can go to her page and check out the original post, though it does give some background on the character that you should try not to allow to affect your creativity. Please go over and give her work some upvote love!!

DQmQ3PN8oAE9noMiEBgwiAUnHCi4NNEMW2eq91dFUN9ReKs.png

Please use the tag #writingprompt in your entry, and include "Mike's Writing Challenge - Week 3". Then come drop a link to your entry here so I can find it.

So off you go! Get to writing!

Bonus, as a way to remind myself whose entries I have read, I upvote the below comments as I read them. My current upvote is good for 25-35 cents as long as I keep my percentages up, so that's not terrible. Invite your friends to upvote the entry as well. It will only be me judging this week, so I will take entry upvotes into account, though will not let votes sway me from picking a terrific entry because they did not get as many upvotes. Sometimes us authors have a hard time making friends. haha.

Interested in Sponsoring the writing challenge?

I'd love to keep this going for you guys week in and week out. But until we really take off and get some heavy hitters to pass some upvotes to my Challenge posts, I am operating at a loss, which is only sustainable for so long. If you are interested in helping out, please get in touch with me either here or on Discord (mikepm74). I'd be happy to announce credit for anyone who wants to participate in keeping a decent reward pool going. I don't want to have to switch to a percentage of the liquid rewards, as that tends to lead to much lower prizes. I want to reward people as much as possible!

Sorry for that little plea. I don't like asking for help, when so many people are out here begging for votes, but the truth is the truth, so if you can help out, I'd be much obliged.

I hope you enjoy this week's prompt from @creativesoul! I am really looking forward to reading what you guys come up with!!

Steem on everyone!!

Sort:  

Better late than never! I just saw this contest and put together my story. Thanks!

https://steemit.com/fiction/@negativer/silence-original-fiction-mike-s-writing-challenge-week-3

hey Mike there is my link entry, that short story I wrote in thealliance chat :-) hope you guys like it!!!

https://steemit.com/writingprompt/@raphavongal/steemit-in-a-shot-mike-s-writing-challenge-week-3

Yuppie so my head is already churning with ideas

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Pinky Mike [Mikepm74] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Can't wait to get started on a new piece for this contest. Thanks!

So very happy that you chose my art! And thank you for the gift!
Looking forward to seeing the entries :) <3 <3 <3

Very cool idea Mike. I wish I had time. Even as I read I was thinking of a haiku, but my brain is scrambled. Maybe some time in the distant future I'll have time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55