RE: [🎨 Artposting ✏️ / Vicios... (animated) 🌹] My entry for @lilyraabe's ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 05

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Vicios_animation_600.gif

Hello There Steemians!



I'm reposting this artwork as my entry for @lilyraabe's ART MIX-UP CONTEST, since this contest is about mixing art genres, well I just thought I have the perfect candidate for that, An animated GIF with music I did some time ago, yes the music isn't mine but by the Seatbelts as part of Cowboy Bebop's Soundtrack, I chose this specific segment of Space Lion as fits perfectly with my animation evoking those feelings of sadness and loneliness...


Here my Artwork, the silent GIF first, and then a link to Dtube and Embeded Youtube video.
Vicios_animation_800.gif
Dtube video + music




Now more on the story of this piece, it started 1st as a simple sketch I had done in my sketchbook, this was being done for the ArtExplosion#22 contest.
The contest theme was "Vices"...and well I thought the smoking vice was perfect representation for it, I started looking for inspiration and references and well I came up with a sketch, here bellow you can see a still of it.
Vicios_early_72dpi.jpg
Which then was digitally coloured and tweaked a bit ending up in this:
Vicios.jpg

I further made a GIF showing the different stages of the creation process, see bellow:
Vicios_Progress.gif

If I remember correctly I did all this in a rush because it was almost on the deadline for the contest...and predictably I wasn't fully satisfied with the results so after some days I revisited the thing and started to changes minor things, like colours, text position...and since I had recently experimented with doing an animated GIF that changed colours I thought why not do something similar with this one...


Well I didn't stay at just changing colours but went ahead and animated the smoke, which took me almost a whole day....then continued animating the eyes for a more dramatic effect and well it was really near to what I wanted...it just needed a bit of music and well, already told you how I came up adding that music segment.

I absolutely liked doing this and I hope doing more things like this with my own very music, of course this takes me more time but gives better results than usual drawings done in some few minutes or sometimes hours...


Feel free to share your comments about my work, what you do think about it and what makes you feel, that would be a really great feedback for me.

Thanks people!
Thanks @lilyraabe for your contest which made me post this thing again and give it a deeper look, this is really the direction I want to go as an artist...so expect more short clips like this 😀


Until next post...
Ciao 😉



Chimp%20Logo1-01.pngSteemThat.com-4.png
Accepting ETH or any ERC20 Tokens Donation to:
0x9cfBd7da93eD2fB175A0CFD7275816A982F8FaDd
Follow @steemartists and check out our Discord Channel.

Sort:  

Wow, this is really awesome. The sketch alone is great, but the animated gif is really spectacular!

Thank you so much @lilyraabe 🌹😁

By the way! I’ve started a group for multidisciplinary artists on steemit. It’s new and in it’s “baby phase” but I’d love to have you in from the ground up if you’re interested. You can find out more in our Discord room if you’re interested @TheNewAlchemists: https://discord.gg/N6YNtZN

Also, I’m paying 5sbd to someone who can design a logo for my ArtSearch curation initiative and I’d love if you’d consider submitting.

Cool! I shall check it out, thanks for inviting @lilyraabe!

Oh thanks for let me know about the contest, I sure want to give it a shot

Esta bonito el dibujo pero...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mel182 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40