Mortimer Steps Over the Line original short story for steemit day 3 of the U Pick it I Write it Contest

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

This story was written as a part of a writing prompt contest, found here.

It started, like everything with actors, at an audition. Mortimer Jones was trying out for Equus, in the role of Alan Strang. Although, he didn't get the part, he fell in love with the play and came back to see it for each of its 16 performances.

At first, it didn't seem like a big deal, after all, Equus was a world renowned play and Mortimer wasn't the first actor to dream of playing Alan. He memorized the role and was eventually asked to leave his acting workshop, when he attempted to undress to do a reading from the script, since parts of the play were originally staged in the nude.

"Dude, you took your pants off in a room with twenty-five people," his best friend, Dan Bishop reminded him.

"Well, acting is all about vulnerability, you wouldn't understand," Mortimer said.

"Why? Mortimer, why wouldn't I understand?"

"You're not a real actor, that's all," Mortimer said.

"Why? Because I gave up on going to auditions every day and took a job? Look, I've been to fifteen auditions this month, no one's casting me, but you know, that one performance you had off Broadway as the understudy for the bus driver in Speed the Musical, that's being a real actor, huh?" Dan said. "You should hear yourself, Mort, you really should. Besides, you know I started film classes. I'm more of a director really."

But Mortimer wasn't listening. They were sitting in a bar in Brooklyn, in the bottom floor of an old brownstone, and outside a horse carriage had stopped. Mort was drooling as he stared at the bedraggled white mare.

"Dude, what is your problem?" Joey asked. "Guys, take a look at this, I think Mort's slipped a cog or something, he's been making eyes at that horse for five minutes. Man, go to the stables, Central Park, you can "ride" one."

Mortimer turned to Dan.

"You ever get the feeling you were meant to be something else?" he asked.

"Sure, like rich and famous," Dan joked. "Or gorgeous, with pecks and a chiseled six pack?"

Mortimer lifted his chin toward the equine visitor, "No, like that. Like you're trapped in the wrong body."

"Dammit Dan, put your camera away!" Caroline said."What did you just say Mortimer Jones?" she asked.

She had known Mortimer since grade school. They were practically siblings.

"Is this going to be like that time you followed Woody Allen home?" Caroline asked. "Mort, do I need to call Judith? Are you taking your medications? Seriously, Dan, if you don't turn that off and put it in your pocket, I'm going to give it to you as an enema."

Dan reluctantly snapped one still and slipped the phone into his pocket.

Judith was Mortimer's mother, who's basement he lived in. Of course, as he always pointed out, it was a legally separated, sublet basement apartment with it's own walkdown.

"No, and yes, I take them," Mortimer said. "That's not it. But Equus really stirred something up in me."

"Which part, like the worshipping horses part, or the part where the guy wanted to make it with one?" Dan was laughing. Caroline punched him.

"Shut up, Dan, I think this could be serious," Caroline said.

"Look, I don't know why you're all being so specist about it. I thought you were open minded people, right, like Lenny," Mortimer said. "Surely, you get what I'm saying?"

Lenny looked up, her blonde wig swinging just over the shoulder, exactly the way she liked it.

"Look, Morty baby, just cause I'm pre-op don't mean I understand no freaky feelings for horses. You're on your own there. There's a reason people say stuff like, 'long as it don't involve children, or farm animals, it's none of my business' you work out your own stuff, don't be dragging me into this," Lenny said.

Mortimer left the bar and wasn't seen until four days later.

"Stop the cab," Caroline said. "Isn't that Mortimer over there, Joey?"

"Where? All I see is that nutbag with a horse head...oh man! Just shut the door, this is not our problem," Dan said, grabbing for the taxi's handle as Caroline swung the door wide.

"Mortimer! Mortimer Jones!" she yelled. People started staring.

The horse head turned. Then started towards the cab.

"Hey, guys, how's it going?" Mortimer's voice said, from inside the mask.

"What are you doing?" Caroline said.

"Watching my friends workout," Mortimer said.

"What?" Dan looked around. "There's nothing in that field but horses."

"What's the matter Dan? Jealous of my new friends? You should come meet them," Mortimer said, grabbing Caroline's hand.

"Um, we have somewhere else to be, actually," Dan said.

"What are you talking about?" Caroline asked.

"That, uh, thing, remember?" Dan said.

Caroline laughed nervously, "Oh, right, work thing. Maybe another time."

"But, Buttercup and Sunshine Bunny have been dying to meet you guys, I've told them all about you. Sunshine used to be a racehorse. Buttercup's a retired cop," Mortimer's voice said. "What's wrong guys? I thought you were supportive of my choices?"

"Well, that was when you wanted to play a horse on stage, mostly nude," Caroline said. "But, look, there are some lines you just can't cross."

Mortimer snorted, and pawed the ground."I see how it is!" he whinnied, galloping away.

"Great, now I've got to find a new best friend," Dan said.

Caroline sighed, "He'll come around Dan. If there's one thing I know about Mort, he's never into any one thing for too long."

"Somebody should probably tell that poor Buttercup, before he breaks her heart," Dan said.

Mortimer galloped out into the field and up to the two startled horses, who shied away from his mask. Buttercup reared up and Mort's limited visibility from inside the mask disoriented him.He stumbled into her and caught a glancing blow to the temple.

"Holy crap!" Caroline screamed. "Buttercup's trying to kill him!"

She leaped from the cab, dragging Joey behind her.

"Should I wait?" The cabby called after them? "The meter's running!"

Without looking back, Caroline snatched her wallet from her purse and threw it over her shoulder, hitting the driver in the chest.

"Keep it running!" she screamed.

"Where am I?" Mortimer stirred.

It was the first time in three days. He looked around. He was in a Hospital, Caroline lay sound asleep in a chair near his bed.

"What?" she said sleepily, "Oh, wow! You're awake!"

"Yeah, what happened?" Mortimer asked."Why is my head so huge?"

"Well, about that, Mortimer, do you remember anything?" Caroline asked.

"Not since the Equus auditions yesterday, did I get it?" Mortimer asked. "Seriously, what kind of bandage is this?"

He pulled at the rubber casing surrounding his head.

"Well, you thought you were a horse for a while," Caroline said.

"What? No way, that's crazy, even for me!" Mortimer said.

"Right?" Caroline laughed."So, you really don't remember?"

"Nothing, I told you, not since yesterday."

"Mort, that audition was nine weeks ago," Caroline said, cringing.

Mortimer sat up. "What? No, that's impossible. How long have I been out?"

"Three days."

"Whoa! You're awake, dude!" Dan stepped into the room from the hall.

He carried two styrofoam containers of dinner for him and Caroline.

"That smells amazing, I want some," Mortimer said.

Caroline cringed again. "I don't know if you can, Mort," she said.

Dan smirked. "You didn't tell him?"

"Tell me what? What is going on?"

"Look!" Dan held up his phone, with the screen toward Mortimer and the selfie camera on.

Mortimer studied himself on the screen.

"What? Why the hell did you put this horse mask on me? It was you, wasn't it Dan? Did you think it was funny?" Mortimer struggled with the mask.

"Relax Mortimer, I wouldn't do that if I were you," Caroline said.

Mortimer sighed. "Why not?" he demanded.

"Doc says it needs to stay, buddy," Dan said.

"What? Why?"

"May be the only thing that saved you, so they left it on, in fact, glued it in place," Caroline said.

Mortimer screamed. "NO! That's not true, it can't be! Why?"

"You were wearing it, when..." Caroline hesitated.

Dan thumbed his phone to life and pulled up a video. "When this happened! You were trying to make out with this horse called Buttercup, ex cop, she tried to kill you, got it all on camera!"

Mortimer sank back in the bed.

"So, I was almost killed by a rogue horse I apparently accosted and my best friend films it? Great! You haven't shown it to anyone have you?"

"Well, here's the thing, it might be paying your hospital bill," Dan said. "I may have put it on Dtube and it's been trending for five days so far."

It would be six months until Mortimer was released from his rubber casing. The mask had held his severely fractured skull perfectly in place. He healed without any complications.

Buttercup was moved to a facility away from people. While the owner was pretty sure it was Mortimer's fault, he couldn't risk it happening again.

And Mortimer became a "real actor" after all, in a live action spinoff of Hugh Jack Horseman, and Dan got his first real directing job as show runner, and they all lived happily ever after.

Sort:  

I love it! I think I know Buttercup, I am glad to know ol buttercup is still alive and kicking after what kenny did! You are an awesome writer! So glad I happened across your post yesterday!

HA! That's awesome. Thanks. After ten years of doing a thing a million words a year, you start to get the hang of it.

You are right about that, I hope to one day be able to just come up with a story so easily, thank you for sharing and keep up the great work!!!

Well, I directed theater for almost twenty years before I started writing professionally. And I spent my whole childhood consuming books . It's really just about studying stories until you can tell them in your sleep. Anyone can do what I do, but not just anyone will put in the time to be able to do it on cue.

Have you heard about the writer's block and the adsactly discord channel? I think you should join them, you have the passion in writing.

I kind of prefer doing my own thing. Been doing all right for the past two years teaming up with those that want to work with me. I'm not hip to Adsactly winning the fiction category every day. Especially when so much of what they post is completely crap writing. No offense, I like some of the people that write for them, but their standards are not mine.

Thank you for that insights. ;)

Sorry, I don't want to dissuade you from joining them, they've helped some people get some attention, and some of what they share is awesome, but they seriously need to put a bounty out for an editor.

something interesting is in your discussion, hopefully can be a motivation for many people

It's okay Mr. @markrmorrisjr, no problem, You've been here more than I do. You already knew the ropes here and I heed your advice, in fact I find your other account very helpful for giving tips to new Steemitians. ;)

Yeah, I need to get my work flow down on here so I can focus on that. I'm trying to just get one day ahead. I may just have to call in dead for 24 hours and write the next day's posts, to get ahead! LOL

Whaaattttt !! My first cast !! I'm so happy. You rock man. Thank you for taking the time to work with us. I look forward to your next short, and I'll try to catch up with your other stories as well. My respect to you and all of the time you put on your work every day. Cheers aand Thanks!!

Awesome! Well, stick around, I haven't banned multiple wins yet. LOL

Haha - that's hilarious! Well done.

LOL, thanks. It's always fun to just make stuff up on the spot. My brothers and I love to do long form improv for an audience, so, doing it with a delete key is like having a saftey harness on the tight rope!

Oh boy, improv of any kind would frighten the life out of me. I admire people who can do it well. Such a talent.

I need to be very well rehearsed in any performing. I am a long way from being the best singer in the choir, but I may be the one that works the hardest at learning the songs.

haha crazy story lol thank you brother!

Thanks for the kind compliment. Glad you enjoyed it.

Awesome. Hilarious ending. Wasn't quite what I was expecting when I picked that option but then what exactly could I have expected? It was a captivating read. Thanks for the time and effort you put in to make that.

Absolutely, it was my pleasure. Win/win, I get an audience, you guys get fresh hot entertainment for the cost of an upvote. It's a perfect arrangement. LOL

I wasn't quite sure what you could do with the prompt for this story, but I am pleasantly surprised. Best use for a horse mask I've seen yet.

LOL, thanks. I only knew about half of it myself when I started typing. What some don't get is, this is literally first draft, check for major typos and post fiction. LOL So, it's raw and it's all hanging out there.

They called her horseface too.

dmg-is-that-ed-sheeran-gameofthrones-got-aryastark-edsheeran-26051917.png

Yep, they sure did. Pretty sure she's better looking than that mask, though. Love her character on GOT.

Hahaha...awesome stories i swear they're all gold

Thanks, Otto. I really enjoy sharing them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63060.85
ETH 3455.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51