Contest (Win 10 SBD, 100% upvotes) To celebrate my reaching the F-1000 club. “Write a photo description”

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

UPDATE –– This contest will close on Saturday, 24 February.

Woohoo. I've made it into the F-1000 Club! Yes, I’ve reached 1,000 followers.    

I started out slow, but thanks to some great advice and plenty of support from my esteemed followers, I started attracting more and more followers. Now I consider myself a full-fledged, relatively successful Steemian – on the way to further and greater success.

The Contest … 

To celebrate this achievement, I’m organizing a short writing contest, as follows:


For the photograph on the left, write a heading and a description / story about the photo.

Pretend that the photo is yours, and write as if you are telling us the story behind the photo.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Prizes for the Top 5 entries …  


I will choose the 5 best entries. The #1 entry will receive 10 SBD. The following 4 will each receive a 100% upvote. (My current upvote is worth about $4.80)    

Rules and Guidelines …

  1. Write a catchy HEADING of 5–25 words. 
  2. Write an interesting and informative DESCRIPTION or STORY. Your text should contain 80–200 words. 
  3. Post your entry as a Comment below. 
  4. The first line of your Comment must begin by stating “My Entry in Writing Contest.” (Re-read this rule.) 
  5. The subsequent lines must contain only your description / text / story.  (Re-read this rule.) 
  6. Your comment must NOT contain any extraneous text or personal messages such as “I hope you choose my entry” or “Thanks for organizing this context” or any such text. (Any violations of this rule will probably result in automatic disqualification.)
  7. Your comment must NOT contain any photos or images, NOT even a copy of the above photo.
  8. During this week (before next Tuesday), any queries or comments are welcome.
  9. Contest closes 1 week after this post is posted. That is, at Tuesday, 27 February, at 12 noon, Thai time.
  10. Additional Notes …  

    You can write anything you want and you can write about anything you want, as long as it is related to the above photo in some way. It can be real, or it can be imaginary. Be creative and compose an interesting post.  

    I will judge the entries in terms of the following three aspects:

    1. Writing quality / writing style
    2. Content / interest-level
    3. Overall impression

    (For your info, I took this photo in Singapore, at dawn. You can use that info as the basis for your story, or you can be creative and concoct an alternative scenario. That is, you can set your story in New York City or Mumbai or wherever. It’s up to you. Those facts do not matter; the only thing that matters is that your writing is good).

    Samples of My Writing (for your reference)  

    You may want to check out some of my recent photo posts (links below), to see what kind of posts I compose and what kind of writing I like. ☺ They might inspire you or help you.

    Sunrise through Foliage … Click Here.

    7 Swathes of Color … Click Here.

    Abandoned Colonial House – Click Here.

    Just remember … creative thievery is condoned, but uncreative copying is never appreciated or tolerated. 

    Consolation Prizes … 

    I will give all the (non-winning) entrants a minor upvote, based on the quality of their entry.   

    Finally, I’d like to express my sincere gratitude to the Steemit team for developing this superb platform and for inviting us on this grand journey to the beyond. 

    Furthermore, I'd like to thank all my followers in particular, as well as the many others in the Steemit community who are always there to  provide support, insight, and encouragement to all.


    Good luck to all participants.

    Onwards to the F-10,000 Club ...


    Images sourced from Google Images


Sort:  

My Entry in Writing Contest

Sun is about to set

On the way to go back home from office, I take this photo when stucking with trafic jam in the peak hour. While everything around is so noisy and hustling, the beauty of sunset gives me a calming effect and a sense of peace. After a hectic day's work, the awesome view of the sunset just removes all my fatigue. Sunset marks the end of a busy day, the end of many tasks. It brings for me a relief feelling from stress and tireness.

It could also be one of the heart warming things to watch. It just spreads the sky, just like a special rainbow with plenty of colors. It’s just a moment, but I feel like I’m seeing one of the most beautiful display of art. It’s so gorgeous. The golden light just instills something wonderful in my heart.

What could I ask for more?

My entry in writing context.

A TRIP IN THE TRIP, with Lord Skyscraper

I'm walking on the highway in Singapore, no sidewalks and I came across this view, where I took a photo to witness the hubris of this city.
Excuse me, Lord Skyscraper, excuse me!
I am so impressed by your highness.
Would you talk with me?
Can we discuss the reason you are there, standing in the middle, covering what would be a glorious sunset?
You, arrogant wanker!
You upset me.
I have been reckless, weirdly content and in love with every being.
You are a being too, isn’t it? Do you have dignity?
I want to embrace the sun, the nature and the sky.
You are ruining the magic.
This is the second afternoon in a row I took mdma and I haven’t been sleeping since 50 hours.
I'm not sure for how long I haven't changed my underwear and washed myself. I’ve justified myself in all the possible ways and now I'm taking photos and talking with Lord Skyscraper personality.
What a poetry is this life, this city and this view, not quite same same but different.

Based on a true story.

My Entry in Writing Contest:

Woke Up To This - When in Singapore

I don’t usually wake up early coz I’m not a morning person. But when I’m in a new a place, I make sure to find a right spot for an amazing sunrise or sunset.

This picture was taken during my last visit in Singapore. I may have not seen the sun shines coz of the clouds but it made the golden color perfect. It amazes me everytime I see the sunrise. It’s a good way to start your day.

Have a nice day!

Safe Travels 😊

My Entry in Writing Contest

Dawn in Asian New York.

When twilight recedes, and the glow is already visible, but the sun has not yet appeared, there is a feeling of anticipation. Everything stops, as if preparing for a miracle. The night goes away. Out of gloomy darkness, the vague outlines of the surrounding world gradually appear-the silhouette of a high-rise house, trees. Sleepy silence reigns around. On the highway, which is overloaded during the day, only one or two cars pass. But over time, the sky in the east brightens, the sun's rays make their way through the clouds and illuminate them in pink and bright yellow colors. Soon a bright spot on the horizon will be greater, the lanterns will turned off, a new day will come.

"My Entry In Writing Contest."
I took this picture in a Sunday afternoon when I was walking around to discover the city..

Even if it was a bad day, I realised that at the end of the day at least one thing is beautiful - the sunsets are the proof that endings can be beautiful. So no matter what happens during the day, just watch the sunset and enjoy the little things. When you feel like nothing else matter, because I know there are a lot of ups and downs in life, just look up at the sky. You are not alone and you will never be. Watch the sunset - someone, somewhere, does the same thing in the same time. There is always good in bad, you just have to look closer, to let the sound of the city cover the sound and screams from your head and soul. Make something big! Live the life as you imagined!

Congratulations on reaching your goal! :D

Congratulations to @wanderingdanish, for winning the top prize in my F-1000 Club writing contest.

His entry was a fine balance of fiction, personal narrative, and photo-description. It was well-written and easy to read. It caught my interest and kept it, right through to the end.

Excellent work! The prize is coming your way, soon.

I’d also like to note the 5 runners-up. Actually, I had planned to include only 4 runners-up, but there was a 3-way tie for the final spot.
2 – @sandrina.life
3 – @hanggggbeeee
4 – @iwanderela
5 – @gabrielatravels
6 – @sky777

Each of them will receive a 100% upvote. (Unfortunately, the value / price of SBD has dropped over the past week. But the price will surely rise over the next little while, so you'll soon recoup the difference.)

Thanks (and various upvotes) to all the remaining participants. I appreciate your efforts, and encourage you to continue writing high-quality posts.

FYI, the following were the elements that I considered in judging the entries:
Writing quality / style
Content / interest-level
Overall impression
Relevance to photo

(Note: I may consider organizing similar writing contests, if I have the time and energy (and funds!) to do so. Stay tuned.)

Congratulation for the winners. 😂😂 entry of @wanderingdanish is really awesome. And most of entries here, too. Looking forward to your next writing contests. 🎉🎉🎉

Thank you @majes.tytyty!!!
I congratulate the winners and all participants! We are waiting for new competitions!

I'll see when I can do a similar one again. This was a good little exercise for all involved.

Congratulations to the winners and the runner ups. I like the selection process, even though my entry did not do too well based on the criteria used for selecting the winners. I can only hope that I would do better in your forthcoming contests.

Once again, congratulations on your 1000+ landmark. It is my wish that you attain your Steemit dreams. And thanks for providing the platform for quality writings to be showcased. And to those of us who look up to you for mentorship, we are proud of you. Regards.

I'm honored. Thanks for your meaningful comment.

(p.s. For these few days, I'm giving no upvotes, cuz the contest upvoting sucked out a lot of my voting power. (That's a good thing!)

So, I'm letting it recharge.)

It is all well and good. That wouldn't stop me from commenting.

Thank you so much!! Respect! :D

Feels good man, thanks for the win! Was a tough competition and didn't really expect much, so this is really amazing and I feel truly honored. Glad you liked my style of writing and the content, only encourages to do more.
congrats to all the runner ups, good job all!

Yes, there were quite a few other good ones. But you squeezed them out by getting a few more points for the overall quality. To be honest, the last day, one of the final entries, by @sandrina.life, almost edged you out of the number one spot.

But you ended up with only one point more than she did. So, maybe there was a bit of luck ...

Thank you so much :) I'm so glad you liked it. Even with grammar mistakes and my simple style.
I was going to ask you feedback, because I am still very insecure about my English =) but you are gaving me a very rewarding feedback. I wish I was able to write poetically and be able to use the vocabulary other participants have used here. I had to open word reference to understand what @wanderingdanish wrote!
May I share the story in one post using your photo and of course giving credit of the photo and the contest? Oh well, I guess I can, since you proposed to the winner as well. In case, I can always take it down :P

There were very few mistakes in your piece, and any errors were minor. And your mid-level (or mid-high-level) English made your text easy-to-read and easy-to-follow.

Your talking to the skyscraper was unique and interesting. And it was very well done. Normally, I do not care for such strange writing conceits, but somehow, I really enjoyed yours.

Since you came in second place, and since I've been praising your writing here, you no longer have to be insecure about your English!!! That's in the past.

As for sharing your story in a new post, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO DO SO. I suggest that in the heading you say something about "My Winning Entry in F-1000 Club ..... etc" And of course, you can use the photo.

Again, congrats. I did not expect the final entry in the contest to almost beat out the leader, but you came so close. Keep writing, and keep being unique! (In your case, I believe it's inevitable that you will always be unique!!)

My Entry in Writing Contest

Perhaps I Was Just Being Stupid

It is all my fault. I did not follow my instincts, that inbuilt voice which warns us of impending dangers. The mighty, elegant tower which rises in the distance, punctuated by colourful streetlights, is the famous Eko Hotel in Lagos Island Nigeria. Last night, we had an all night birthday party there. And I drove off at about 4.00am, snubbing my instincts.

A few metres away from the premises of the hotel, two young men flagged down my car. I halted. They pointed a gun at me and ordered me to alight. Afterwards, they hopped into my car and zoomed off, leaving a thick cloud of dust behind.

I stood still, confused. I didn't know what to do, whether to scream. Then, an idea struck me. I brought out my phone and snapped the crime scene.Perhaps it would give the police a clue. Perhaps it was a waste of time. Perhaps I was just being stupid.

I am glad you did love it. Thanks.

My Entry in Writing Contest

Clash between Bear and a Wolf

I was returning to home after my office.Suddenly, i saw something in the sky which was quite unusal. A bear was snoring at the wolf with his arms ready to turn wolf into pieces.The wolf was not frightened rather he was looking at the bear with his red eyes and his sharp teeth were ready to bite t bear's body.Then i realized something i was missing to wear. I found my spectacles lying beside me on the car.When i wore it, all the scenes was a pattern of the clouds and so called wolf's eye was a sunset. Then i took the picture to post on steem.😂😂😂"

My Entry in writing contest

A sorrowful evening of this ephemeral life at my hometown

IT was a dark mournful evening of my life.I was returning home after buried my loving father.It was about seven years ago.I was only 17,on my way back, i captured this photo.A sad sunset with a lot of sad memories.I clicked this photo with this high rise building.Thinking about life.
How temporary is this life?
We forget it in our busy life,In making wealth and homes
we are losing our loving relations ,one by one ,day by day
One day we have to go.I remember my father prayers and they have always followed me.

My Entry in Writing Contest:

Breaking  Dawn  

It's summer time,we are so excited to cool down and take a splash on the cold waterfalls so we  decided to leave earlier from the Cebu City proper to catch the first trip going to the Majestic Kawasan Falls of Badian.At the bus morning people are eyeing on the golden hour that greeted everyone as we go on our journey to the Southern municipality of Cebu,Philippines.

As the dawn breaks,the street is still empty,the lampposts on the roadsides are on and the graveyard shift workers are coming out from the BPO skyscraper that proudly stand,reflected by the sun's warm orange rays.The morning mist gives a chilling effect and the aroma of the newly brewed coffee on the stranger's hand on the other side keeps me awake while reminiscing good old days on a Sunday's retro music being played on the bus antique radio.I was sitting beside the windows and the morning breeze kisses my cheeks as the bus headed South,I had the opportunity to capture these beautiful piece of art that is  called sunrise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35