News Report Task #3

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Second Creative Writing Challenge: Task #3

The prize

The following message is from our host.

The total amount of the prize pool is 75 SBD. It looks fine, however I'd still shout out to the Steemit community for additional SBD. Why? Because all the participants are putting a lot of effort to follow each single task. I've read some amazing stories and posts that have received a decent amount of SBD.

Task Number Three: The News

Find a news item that interests you. Using the 'who, what, when, where, why' of the item - and your imagination - rewrite it as a detailed narrated story.

The Story!

Coming to you live from Steemit.com is your favorite news reporter in Purple and Pink!

“Thank you Charles, I placed my story on your desk,” said Kubbyelizabeth. Charles picks up the article to read.

Facebook Won’t Hire You for Its Data Center

Facebook, like all the big tech companies, are making promises to small towns with statements like the following: “We promise to decrease unemployment and improve the local economy.”
Which may sound good; but did you know?

Delfina Eberly, the vice president who oversees Facebook’s five data centers states,

“The commitment we have to these communities is to provide full-time jobs.”

After over $140 million dollars spent as tax incentives, some are asking, where are all the jobs?

Facebook received about $100 million in combined tax incentives from state and local governments to put its first three standalone U.S. data centers in Forest City, Prineville, Oregon, and Altoona, Iowa, plus $147 million from Texas to put the fourth in Fort Worth. The company will enjoy $57 million in combined tax breaks when it builds facilities in Papillion, Nebraska, and New Albany, Ohio, and won’t have to pay property taxes on one it’s putting in Los Lunas, New Mexico, for thirty years. The states and municipalities seem unlikely to break even on those deals, or to materially boost local employment.

Why are these small towns still in the red and seeing little to no improvement in the percentage of unemployment? Why are they allowing these powerhouse companies to come in?

These tech companies need server space, not more work space. Although they don't hide the fact that this is the direction they are moving, what are the local townspeople suppose to do now that they’ve already let them in?

The logical answer seems to be to go back to school and become engineers. It appears that targeting these small rural areas and making promises wasn't really intended to help unemployment, just intended to keep the employed employed.

Charles places the article down and shakes his head. Not too shabby, Smalls.

The end....

My story is based on the article found here: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-09-25/facebook-won-t-hire-you-for-its-data-center

Ps: Looking for a witness to vote?


Vote for him by clicking HERE!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and vote me too

Thanks, why did you start following me?

I too have started following you. Now don't ask me why? I really dunno! 😜

I know why! Your following me because you too love pink 😉

Could be because I'm dumbfounded with your intense love of pink 😉.
I'm sure if someone follows you for a while, he / she will naturally begin to love pink anyway 💓

-- With all my love for pink 😊

** YOU MADE MY DAY!** I've been admiring this comment all day! ❤️ 😍😍 you know there is only aspect of our friendship missing!

Every corporation works for their own selfish motives only. All their concern for social causes, if any, are because of their hidden interests only. No, I ain't going back to school to work for Facebook. I'd rather die unemployed! 😉

Best wishes to you for this contest ...and for carrying out all your future tasks!

Thank you my friend for stopping by and hanging out me. I wouldn't mind going back to school to learn code/programming and work for google. Maybe Facebook, but that's a big maybe.

Have you voted for any witness yet?

You are welcome!

Well, I don't think I voted for anyone this month ....at least not for the ones you suggested.
(Seriously, I don't want him to eat his cake).

May be another day!

Hahaha, your so funny! I want to eat that cake, but more importantly I want the shirt! Go vote!!

I think of the town had done any kind of economic assessment of this proposal they would have found this out in advance. It's like they went "ooh Facebook! Yes come to our town, here's some discounts".

Unfortunately, I think that is exactly what they did and are now paying the price for it. They should have hired someone with a PHd in economic assessment that loves yoga, is from Aussie, but lives in Panama! AM i rite? ahhah

Lol. I'm out of the consulting game these days Kubby. I have no desire to go back. That said, I do know some good economic consultants that I would recommend (in Australia anyway).

Sadly too many cities and states are into legally bribing companies to move into their area. They offer insane tax breaks, and other incentive things like permits, and very loosely written legal obligations to meet the “requirements.” Which is why you see these big companies eyeing these small desperate towns. They are willing to do almost anything to try and ease the suffering of their people; even if, that means just not making it worse.

It is so true, and we only hear about it after the damage was done. Someone could have warned them if they had known about it. I hope they can recovery and learn from it. Thanks for stopping by all the time Enjar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44