Second Creative Writing Challenge: Task #3

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,
For the last few days you had the chance to work on Task #2. Some of you said that it's a tough task this time, but based on the posts I think you all did a great job.

Old men as central characters always have a huge potential. That's why I love movies with guys like Clint Eastwood, Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman.


Image source

It's now time to move on.

Here's how the table with entries from Task #2 looks like.
Do not worry if you do not see your submission here. If you have published your post, however I can't discover it below, it means that I haven't discovered it yet and it will be added as soon as I spot it.

ChallengerEntry
@irwanumpalTask #2: Tom and Joey
@mjcarvajalpTom and Joey - Long Long Time Ago
@kirrakimbrell016: A Tale of Blue Eyes
@mitchelljaworskiA Basketball Bond
@edurleyFriends forever
@ellievallieThe Master
@mother2chicksFriends for Life
@rnunez09Long Lived Friends
@neiraurdanetaMore than close friends
@negativerForgotten Sons
@kubbyelizabethThere was a Tom and his Best Friend
@flemingfarmTom & Joey - Buffet
@therovingreaderTom's Pizza and Joey's Pasta
@alemars16Come hell or high water
@morodienewo Monks with Spunk
@oriiLack of Charm
@mikepm74War Dogs

Let's also thank to our generous sponsors. Some of them are also participating in the challenge :)


A list with our sponsors , their contributions and the total amount of the prize pool:


SponsorContribution
@kubbyelizabeth8 SBD
@juliakponsford5 SBD
@oleg3267565 SBD
@eturnerx5 SBD
@scrooger5 SBD
@flemingfarm10 SBD
@crimsonclad5 SBD
@sircork10 SBD
@scaredycatguide5 SBD
@therovingreader5 SBD
@em32 SBD
TOTAL75 SBD (+10 SBD from me)

The total amount of the prize pool is 75 SBD. It looks fine, however I'd still shoot out to the Steemit community for additional SBD. Why? Because all the participants are putting a lot of efforts to follow after each single task. I've read some amazing stories and posts that has received a decent amount of SBD.

Now, we should announce Task #3.

Task #3: The News

Find a news item that interests you. Using the 'who, what, when, where, why' of the item - and your imagination - rewrite it as a detailed narrated story.

I think that this is an opportunity for you to go after your interests, learn some news and write something that could bring you a decent amount of SBD if done well. I'm mostly referring to the trendy topics. They are often controversial. You'll often see a lot of conversations with people agreeing and disagreeing.

However, you could also write about a shipwreck in the 70s for example and still outperform everyone else :) Enjoy it! :)

If you need further clarification just type your questions in the comments.


Final words


Submit the URL to your post in the comments.

If you see any kind of flaws or errors feel free to to let me know as soon as possible.

Hopefully most of you will be able to finish the task on time.

Enjoy it!

Keep writing,
@steemfluencer

Image Source

Sort:  

Well I got Task 2 in ...right down to the wire. I think it was 11:58 EST. But it turned out pretty good. ....and now to start on Task 3!!

Cool! Plus or minus one hour isn't that bad. Once I was participating at the STEEM-POCALYPSE and made my choice 2 minutes after the deadline - guess what happened :) GAME OVER :) But that's fine since it's a contest of a totally different nature.

When is the deadline for Task 3??
Thanks!!

Hello, the deadline is by Monday night :)

So my struggle bus continues, heres to hoping I get my creative side kicking in!

https://steemit.com/contest/@kubbyelizabeth/news-report-task-3

Thank you, with some huge huge delay :) I should think of announcing the new task with delay or just checking for the last comments the next day as a rule.

What are your thoughts on getting the fiction team involved in judging some of our writings? We could have them help us determine the best writer for each topic and overall most improved?

I tend to find the news depressing and sensationalist, but it was surprisingly fun going through stories! I picked one about when good intentions go bad. Thanks for another fun challenge!

My entry: Second Creative Writing Challenge Task #3: Crabby Karma

So I have been locked out of my Steem account since Saturday and just got it back this morning. I apologize for being late on the deadline. But I wanted to get something in on this in hopes I might not be instantly disqualified for the remainder of the challenge. My story is here:

https://steemit.com/writing/@mikepm74/steemfluencers-second-writing-challenge-task-3-the-shooter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44