Fiction contest - Better Late Than Never – closing soon

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

It’s not too late - you’ve still got 9 hours to enter the contest!

contest.jpg

Original contest post is here: https://steemit.com/contest/@kiwideb/fiction-contest-better-late-than-never

Guidelines for the contest:

• Put the story into your own post and tag it with #betterlatethannever
o Put Fiction contest in the title, but feel free to have a different title for the story
o Choose your own top image, or use mine – your choice
o Link to your post in the comments of either this post or the original one
• Start the story with what I’ve written, but you can adapt it to fit with your own writing style, as long as the meaning is the same
• The intro is currently just under 200 words – the complete work is to have at least 500 words, but I’d like to see about 1000 (or more is fine too)
• Questions I’d like to see answered in the story:
o What did Mr Green ask him to research?
o What did he learn?
o What else did he end up finding out?
o What happened as a result?
o Did he ever make it to school?
• Although contests are all over Steemit, requiring an upvote or Resteem for entry, apparently this is considered bad form. So they’re not required. But just remember, the more votes, the better the prizes.
• The contest closes 7 days after posting. Winners will be posted, and payments made within 3 days of closing. Judges decision is final, but I reserve the right to call in a guest judge to help me, if I can’t decide.
• If you’re a published author, with books on Amazon, this contest is not for you. I’m particularly looking for original ideas from unpublished authors.

Prizes

The SBD from the original post (and this reminder post) will be shared between the winners, but I’ll guarantee a minimum amount of 6 SBD.

1st prize – 50% of the SBD (min 3 SBD)
2nd prize – 33% of the SBD (min 2 SBD)
3rd prize – 17% of the SBD (min 1 SBD)

Thanks for the entries so far from @iamthegray, @cheekah, @seyiodus which have been resteemed and upvoted at 100%. I would still love to see entries from the people who showed an interest - @mandelsage, @nobyeni, @xawi, @tuwore and of course anyone else reading.

elegant-divider.png

How the story starts

Terence was late for school again. To be honest, Terence was late for school every day. But this was late even for him.

His form teacher had long since accepted that Terence ran to a timetable that nobody else could fathom, and that no amount of detentions, canings or extra homework would make the slightest bit of difference. But Mr Green liked to think of himself as a progressive. So it suited his image of himself to find a way to teach Terence, despite the obvious difficulties.

The facts that Terence was a genius, and his father was on the PTA, had nothing to do with Mr Green’s attitude at all. Or so he had persuaded himself.

One of his tactics was to tell Terence what classwork he had missed and ask him to research it himself, and present it to Mr Green after school the next day.

Terence was usually able to do this in a matter of minutes, and since he liked Mr Green well enough, he usually humoured the teacher.

But today, it had all gone wrong, in ways that neither of them could have foreseen.

Thanks for reading and good luck!

Pictures from Pixabay.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

9 hours left I see. You will get a post on this within seven. I saw the contest and put it off... but now I'm back. Resteemed this in case there are any other procrastinators like me.

Cool! Looking forward to seeing it.

I have pondered on this for some time time @kiwideb, trying to come up with something. Its crazy how sometimes the words will just flow out and sometimes they get all clogged up... I am drawing blanks my dear.

I know the feeling! For me, the muse will not be commanded, either the idea is there or it isn't... I guess that's why authors write every day, to keep the muse fit!

Wow! I thought it was almost up already

Good thing I still went ahead to create something

Resteemed

Blessings

Yes, it was indeed a good thing ;-)

Ii have been very busy with other stories that I haven't had time to really dive into this contest, unfortunately. It's also not an easy task, as the prompt, even though you mention it can be changed as you wish, is really specific. A real good challenge, which I don't think I'll ever manage within 7 days... hope you have some good entries!

If it was easy, maybe I could have done it myself, so I hear ya! But I will keep an eye out for other stories from you.

I enjoyed writing this. I think you will enjoy reading it.

https://steemit.org/@mineopoly/gravity-kiwi-deb-fiction-contest

I did enjoy it :-)

Aww! I would've had a blast adding to this! Unfortunately, I've been having a tought time readjusting my schedule. One day I'll be able to add an entry. Until then, I hope the entries to this contest has been fantastic!

Jed! How are you, and how is married life? I enjoyed all the entries, so was really happy with how it went. Must pop over and see if i've missed anything on your blog.

Deb! I'm glad you enjoyed them! Admittedly, they weren't what I hoped they would have been, but I was pressed for time and I had to churn them out. Married life has been awesome so far! Most of the disputes are a direct result of cohabitation issues, but we're slowly working through them. I hope everything is fine with you and @sift666 as well :D


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Follow me back https://steemit.com/@a-0-0



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51