Fiction contest - Better Late Than Never

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Here’s the back story for this contest. A couple of months ago, after I wrote Kitty and the Unicorn, I thought I’d see if I could get some more ideas for writing fiction. It didn’t go very well – at least so far! I saw a contest by @iamthegray which was just closing, so I was a bit late for it. I got the glimmer of an idea anyway and wrote the first part. But then I got stuck. I put it on the back burner, but the rest of the story never came. I guess it’s not my story to tell – could it be yours?

contest.jpg

Guidelines for the contest:

• Put the story into your own post and tag it with #betterlatethannever
o Put Fiction contest in the title, but feel free to have a different title for the story
o Choose your own top image, or use mine – your choice
o Link to your post in the comments below

• Start the story with what I’ve written, but you can adapt it to fit with your own writing style, as long as the meaning is the same

• The intro is currently just under 200 words – the complete work is to have at least 500 words, but I’d like to see about 1000 (or more is fine too)

• Questions I’d like to see answered in the story:
o What did Mr Green ask him to research?
o What did he learn?
o What else did he end up finding out?
o What happened as a result?
o Did he ever make it to school?

• Although contests are all over Steemit, requiring an upvote or Resteem for entry, apparently this is considered bad form. So they’re not required. But just remember, the more votes, the better the prizes.

• The contest closes 7 days after posting. Winners will be posted, and payments made within 3 days of closing. Judges decision is final, but I reserve the right to call in a guest judge to help me, if I can’t decide.

If you’re a published Fiction author, with books on Amazon, this contest is not for you. (Edited to specify Fiction writers.)

I’m particularly looking for original ideas from unpublished authors, especially ones fairly new to Steemit. I’m talking to you: @angelacs, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @iamthegray, @joannereid, @mandelsage, @monchhichi23, @peggyhazelwood, oh and lots of others who are not popping into mind for the moment.

Prizes

The SBD from the post will be shared between the winners, but I’ll guarantee a minimum amount of 6 SBD.

1st prize – 50% of the SBD (min 3 SBD)
2nd prize – 33% of the SBD (min 2 SBD)
3rd prize – 17% of the SBD (min 1 SBD)

elegant-divider.png

How the story starts

Terence was late for school again. To be honest, Terence was late for school every day. But this was late even for him.

His teacher had long since accepted that Terence ran to a timetable that nobody else could fathom, and that no amount of detentions, canings or extra homework would make the slightest bit of difference. But Mr Green liked to think of himself as a progressive. So it suited his image of himself to find a way to teach Terence, despite the obvious difficulties.

The facts that Terence was a genius, and his father was on the PTA, had nothing to do with Mr Green’s attitude at all. Or so he had persuaded himself.

One of his tactics was to tell Terence what classwork he had missed and ask him to research it himself, and present it to Mr Green after school the next day.

Terence was usually able to do this in a matter of minutes, and since he liked Mr Green well enough, he usually humoured the teacher.

But today, it had all gone wrong, in ways that neither of them could have foreseen.

Thanks for reading and good luck!

Pictures from Pixabay.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I finally did it within a short time and I hope it interests you @kiwideb. This is my entry to the fiction contest.
https://steemit.com/betterlatethannever/@seyiodus/fiction-contest-by-kiwideb-20180422t234957742z-post

Thanks for your entry. Well done on doing it so quickly! I'll be judging soon.

Here's my late entry

https://steemit.com/betterlatethannever/@iamthegray/better-late-than-never

It's rather very late but then it's better late than never

Smiles

Blessings

Not late at all :-) Thanks for the entry and I'll judge soon.

I am so sorry its coming so close to deadline. Here is my entry
https://steemit.com/betterlatethannever/@cheekah/a-fiction-contest-better-late-than-never

That's all good. Still 9 hours to go! Thanks for your entry, and will be judging soon.

Excellent, thank you!

Got it, ta!

I'm just seeing this @kiwideb... this is a cool idea. I'll sit down for a bit and see if I can come up with something!! Thank you for tagging me!!!!

Oops, missed seeing your comment. Still 9 hours to go, not too late...

This sounds like fun.

There is something I see in regards to contests of late. Contests that asks for votes and resteem, that do not acknowledge an entry or resteem the content.
Writing is not a meme challenge.

If anyone reading wishes to develop a contest . . . please resteem the entrants and at least say thankyou. We write to be read.

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you,
H. G.

Thanks for your comment. I've resteemed and upvoted all entries to date, and hope to get some more in the next 9 hours.

What a great idea for a contest! I am actually a published fiction writer but use a pen name. I hope you get tons of great entries!

Thanks, Peggy. Sorry I only just spotted your comment. I'm surprised how many of you are already published!

Thanks for tagging me here =) I'll definitely give it a go ^^

Just a question though... What is a form teacher? ;P

Good spotting! In NZ, when I was at high school, that was called Forms 3 to 7. Even in NZ, they're not called Forms any more. I'll take that word out, which also opens it up to Terence being any age. Look forward to seeing what you write.

Wow

So you still remember? Haha

Upvoted and resteemed. You may expect an entry too

Blessings

Excellent! Completing the circle. Keen to see what you come up with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52