Art Prompt Writing Contest #9 Results

in #contest6 years ago

The latest round in my art prompt writing contests ended a few days ago. Apologies for me taking longer to judge this one, I'm just getting over the flu.

https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/art-prompt-writing-contest-9

Authors had a choice between the following two pieces upon which to base their stories, the first by @bex-dk and the second by @anikekirsten.


 

Thanks to everyone who took part in this and for giving me such wonderful reading material. Now, without further ado, here are the winners:

  • In first place, winning 20 Steem plus the SBD payout from the announcement post (15.626 SBD) is @bex-dk with her touching story "Whale Song". I felt something of the author in the principal character, and shared in her joy of freedom toward the end. Well done Bex.

  • My first runner up is @nobyeni with "Spark in the Darkness", imaginatively using both prompts and the deep-pov of a tree. Nice work @nobyeni, you win 5 Steem.

  • My second runner up is @diebitch with "A Murder Mystery-The Clearing", a fast paced mystery that kept me guessing until the very end. Congratulations, you too win 5 Steem.

  • My final runner up is @jayna with "The Secret Stash: A Whodunit Short Story". Again, both prompts were utilised while @jayna also managed to introduce me to a literary mechanism called the unreliable narrator. Well done, you also win 5 Steem.

All of your prizes are winging their way over to you.

Congratulations!



gmuxxxx.png
Banner by @Bembelmaniac

Spam comments WILL receive a flag, you have been warned.


Like what I do? Vote for my witness by clicking THIS LINK. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Hi @gmuxx, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Great job guys! I'm stoked that I actually got to read all of the entries :D

Thank you, @gmuxx! And congrats to @bex-dk, @nobyeni, and @diebitch! It was such a fun contest!

Congrats, everyone! I loved reading the interpretations.

All four are great stories, and they each couldn't possibly be more different from each other. Excellent variety and creative takes on the prompts. Congrats to all!

Hey @gmuxx, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40