The Secret Stash: A Whodunit Short Story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This story is an entry for @gmuxx’s art prompt writing contest. I have some more notes at the end about an intentional literary mechanism at work, which I really had fun with in writing this piece. But I don't want to spoil it for you.

Oh, and one more thing. I have a little treasure hunt for you. This story is inspired by Clue (the movie and the game). See if you can find the specific place where I've alluded to it. The first person to mention it gets 1 SBD!

The Secret Stash

Two detectives looked out across the grounds of the estate with its heir, Andrew Sarcophogus. Some serious shit had gone down. Andrew’s parents were dead and a work of art had been stolen. The forensics team still crawled the house. Meanwhile, Detective Peter O’Slooth wanted answers. “So all this is yours now.” He glanced at his partner and raised an eyebrow. Detective Gumheel smirked back.

“Yes,” Andrew said, “but it’s not what you think. I would never have killed my parents to inherit their estate. I don’t even want the burden of dealing with it. Look at this monstrosity!”

It was true. The place was enormous, with a tennis court, a riding ring, gardens, and a pond with a beautiful white swan. The cost of the grounds maintenance was likely astronomical. Not to mention the property taxes. Still, who wouldn’t want this place?

swan-LubosHouska.jpg

(Image credit: Lobos Houska, Pixabay)

“So, help us out then, Sarcophogus. Who may have had a motive?”

“Please. Call me Andrew. Or Honest Andy, if you prefer. That was my parents’ nickname for me, may they rest in peace. You see, I always tell the truth.” He covered his face with his hands. “Oh God. I don’t know if anyone in their circle would have wanted to do them in. It’s possible. They had a lot of so-called friends.”

O’Slooth pulled a small notebook from his pocket. “So-called?”

“Yes, because of their money. And their art collection--the Rembrandts, Picassos and Chagalls. My parents were high society types, but honestly, were not well liked. People just wanted to see the art. Most of their friends were leeches. Or in competition with them. Rose and Indigo White, for example, seemed to take a vicious pleasure in one-upping them in the who-owns-what game.”

O’Slooth jotted notes in his notebook.

Detective Gumheel took out a notebook as well. “So, Andrew, I understand the stolen artwork was a piece by a lesser known artist, rather than one of the masters.”

“Yes,” Andrew said. “It was an original Anike Kirsten. Lovely artwork, titled The Whale.”

AnikeKirsten-whale.png

(Image Credit: @anikekirsten)

“I’ve seen a picture of it,” O’Slooth said. “It’s a magnificent piece.”

At that moment, a woman in a bright red dress, a floppy black sun hat and enormous sunglasses emerged onto the grounds from a garden gate and walked over to them. Sarcophogus smiled. “Hello Candy. Come meet the detectives investigating my parents’ case."

Candy removed her sunglasses and extended her hand to the detectives. “Good day, I’m Catherine Candlestick. But I go by Candy. I’m the accountant for the estate. And you are?”

“Detective William Gumheel.”

“And Detective Peter O’Slooth. Nice to meet you, Candy.” He looked over at Gumheel, who somehow maintained an even expression. They would have a lot to talk about back at the precinct. An accountant would certainly know the value of the art collections. A potential motive, perhaps?

Candy put a hand to her chest. “What a terrible thing, these murders. Oh, and the missing painting. It’s just awful isn’t it?”

O’Slooth could not help but notice her somewhat disingenuous tone.

The sun had dried the dew from the leaves and flowers, and it was getting hot. Andrew produced his cell phone from a hip pocket and made a call. “Hello Cooke. If you wouldn’t mind, we’d love some tea. Yes, with ice. The detectives and Miss Candlestick. On the veranda. Thank you.”

O’Slooth looked up from his notebook. “Your parents had a professional cook?”

“Not technically, no. He does a bit of everything. More of a butler slash housekeeper.”

“But you called him Cook.”

“Well, yes. That’s his name. With an ‘e’.”

O’Slooth and Gumheel both jotted in their notebooks. Gumheel squinted at Andrew and Candy. “So, let me ask something of you both. Why would an art burglar steal the Anike Kirsten, instead of, say, a Rembrandt or a Chagall?”

Candy laughed, presumably at Gumheel’s naivete. “Have you ever tried to sell a stolen Rembrandt?”

Gumheel glanced at O’Slooth. “But why even collect the lesser artists? Isn’t the big money in collecting masterpieces?”

Andrew shrugged. “You would think so. But my parents found that there is excellent money to be made by discovering a lesser artist early on. The goal is to find a promising painter on the cusp of broad awareness amongst the art collecting community. When they rise in fame, you can see a tremendous increase in the value of your collection.”

“Interesting. I suppose that’s why the Anike Kirsten went missing. Is she an up-and-coming artist?”

“Oh yes. You can say that again. In fact, since The Whale went missing, the value of her pieces has quadrupled.”

O’Slooth tapped his notebook with his pen. Very interesting. What happened next was even more of a surprise.

Cooke arrived--a sinister-looking fellow with a high forehead and a long jaw so deeply set with fissured wrinkles that they appeared to have been carved there. As he placed the glasses of iced tea on the patio table, O’Slooth couldn’t help but notice the jangling of keys from Cooke’s belt. Certainly Cooke had access to every room of the house. Access, yes, but motive?

Cooke spoke to Andrew in a deep resonating voice. “There was a call for you on the house phone, Mr. Sarcophogus. It was Ms. Kirsten.”

Andrew wiped a handkerchief across his brow. “Ah, thank you, that will be all then, Cooke.”

O’Slooth took a sip of his iced tea and looked at Andrew. “So you’re in touch with the artist, then?”

“Yes. She seems to have a vested interest in the outcome of all this. Interesting, isn’t it?”

O’Slooth made another mental note. Anike Kirsten had clearly benefited from the theft of her artwork. The list of suspects was getting more interesting by the minute.

With iced teas in hand, they stepped down off the veranda and strolled past a lush flower garden, where a gardener in brown overalls was kneeling, pulling weeds. He squinted and looked up, his white grizzled beard catching the morning sunlight.

“Good morning, Mr. Brown,” Andrew said.

O’Slooth was glad to be crossing paths with the fellow by broad daylight, as he was a strapping big brute of a man and looked none too pleasant. Evidently the Sarcophoguses hired thugs, perhaps believing it would protect them. The gardener held up a gloved hand in a solemn wave and returned to his work. O’Slooth remembered the mud the EMTs had found on the parquet entrance floor the night of the killing and added the gardener to his list.

The four strolled across the manicured lawn. O’Slooth noticed a thicket that seemed to have a rough footpath going through it. “What’s this?”

Bex-thicket.jpg

(Image credit: @bex-dk)

“Nothing much,” Andrew said. “The dog runs around out here.”

O’Slooth walked to the edge of the thicket and parted the branches. There was a clearing on the other side, where an ancient building stood. “It’s a bit more than a dog run.” He parted the brush, and waved the others through.

Andrew ran a hand through his hair. “Oh that. It’s just an old out building.”

ancientbuilding-ddzphoto.jpg

(Image credit: ddzphoto, Pixabay)

“I’d like to check it out.” O’Slooth nudged both Candy and Andrew forward, and they all walked over to the building and stepped inside.

The place was in ruins. It appeared to be the previous mansion structure, from before the current estate was built.

They scuffled through the debris. The windows were gone, and the structure was badly damaged from weather and years of neglect. Most of the doors were open and a hot breeze moved through.

ancientbuilding-SIFotografie.jpg

(Image credit: SIFotografie, Pixabay)

Gumheel split off from the group. Andrew took Candy’s hand and turned back the way they had come. “Well, I think you’ve seen what there is to see here. Shall we get going?”

“Soon enough. Once we look around.” O’Slooth took their arms and guided them along the hallway. He peered into each room.

“O’Slooth, I think you want to see this.” They followed Gumheel’s voice and found him standing before a door bolted shut with a shiny brass lock.

O’Slooth looked sternly at Andrew. “I’m absolutely sure you know what this is.”

Both Andrew and Candy looked pale. “I suppose there’s no use denying it,” Andrew said. He worked the lock until it clicked. When he swung the door wide, cool, dry air emerged.

Stacked against several other works in the temperature-controlled room was the Anike Kirsten. “Care to explain, Andrew?”

Andrew looked at Candy. “The jig is up, honey.” He turned to the detectives. “Fine. I'll tell you everything. Things had been going well for us. But my parents figured out that we were siphoning money from their accounts to buy work from emerging artists, and that we orchestrated a burglary to steal this one. Then, well, we had end things. For our own protection.”

O’Slooth took out a pair of handcuffs. “But I thought you said you didn’t kill them, Honest Andy.”

As O’Slooth cuffed him and Gumheel cuffed Candy, Andrew said, “No. I said I wouldn’t kill them to inherit the estate. And I was telling the truth!”



Thank you for reading!

Here's the reveal I mentioned at the beginning. This story uses a literary mechanism called the “unreliable narrator." You can read about it in this post from @steemitgraven describing the latest Write Club prompt. The #writeclub group is debating whether an unreliable narrator story can be told in third person. Wikipedia says yes. I decided to test the theory. Meanwhile, I'm also working on the actual story I'll be submitting for Write Club.

I won't mention the reference to Clue here, but I will reward whoever first finds it and posts it in comments with 1 SBD. I hope you had fun with this!

I'd like to extend a sincere thank you to The Writers' Block for their editing assistance. @therosepatch, in particular, helped me with last minute edits! Thank you!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Are you a writer looking for a writing community and editorial support? Join us at The Writers' Block on Discord. And be sure to follow @thewritersblock.

TWB.png

Sort:  

I read this one when it was in edits at TWB, and it's even more fun now.

As a writer, It's great to read something that you know you could never possibly write yourself. I couldn't even come close to the flavor and whimsy here. Plus, you saddled yourself with the unreliable narrator goal, as well as Clue, AND the story image prompts.

Great result!

Thank you for that wonderful comment, @negativer. You just made my day!! And yes you really could write something like this. I’m 100% confident of that. Now I could see why it wouldn’t strike your fancy to do so, but if you wanted to write a tongue-in-cheek mystery, you definitely could.

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh, nice! Love it, Jayna! I think you nailed the Unreliable Narrator quite well here.

And i'm so flattered to be part of the story. :$ I like the ring it has, haha.

On the Clue: is it perhaps St Andrew's Cathedral that you're alluding to?

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, @anikekirsten. Your inspirational image really is beautiful! I hope you didn't mind being one of the suspects. :-)

Good guess on the Clue reference. Oh dear. I think I'm going to have to start dropping clues to the clue soon.

Oh, I love it. I'm suspect, haha.

Oe, you've hidden a proper Clue, then. goes digging again

@therosepatch has almost got it.

Oooh, fun story and NICE twist :) Is it the candlestick reference? I've never actually played Clue, but have heard enough about it... that's the only thing I recognized!

I love it!

I’m so glad you enjoyed the story!

The candlestick reference is a good guess! No, the secret came out the other day and I ended up splitting the SBD between two people who both came up with part of the answer. In the game of Clue, you need three things: a perpetrator, a murder weapon, and a location. And there are many possible combinations. So the answer was “four of us”, “with ice”, and “on the veranda,”

Now you need to play the game! 😊

I had so much fun with this that I will probably do more treasure hunt stories.

It is incredibly creative! I loved feeling like I was watching for clues as to 'whodunit' I thought it was going to be the up and coming artist, doing it to increase the value of her art. :/

I’m so happy to hear that! I got some wonderful editing feedback from The Writers’ Block editors, because it was too obvious who the perp was at first. I’m so glad it was a surprise. Thanks so much for reading and commenting, @byn!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @thinknzombie from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you, @thinknzombie and MSP!

I'm gonna go with either the colored names (Brown, Rose, White), or Candlestick ;-)

This turned out well! I had a lot of fun reading it. Good job working in the unreliable narrator, haha.

Those are good guesses! If no one gets it soon, I'll start posting clues.

I think I got it!

The detectives and Miss Candlestick. On the veranda.

Darn you @therosepatch!

Very close! There's one missing element. What do you need for a crime in Clue?

Goodness gracious, @jayna. I'm gonna have this story memorized soon, haha.

Ha ha! Okay, here's your clue, since you're so close. It's in the same paragraph. A crime in Clue has some kind of implement, a perpetrator, and a location. If you've ever played the game, it echos again and again, "Mrs. Peacock... with the Candlestick... in the Kitchen." "Colonel Mustard... with the revolver... in Ballroom." In this case, it's not something you would think of as an implement, except that it could be if it was really sharp. :-)

The ice?

Ice?

See I thought "the detectives" was the perpetrator, "Candlestick" was the implement, even though it's a person in your story, and then "veranda" as the location.

Cause candlestick is an actual implement in the game and movie, lol, which is why I thought it was the implement. But the only other thing it could be from that paragraph is ice.

There was a Cook in the movie. Is that it?

D'oh! Ha ha, no, you've got the "perps" (the detectives and Miss Candlestick) and you've got the location (on the veranda). You're looking for the implement. (And of course it's not really a "clue" in this story. It just harkens back to the Clue game where you have to have those three things.)

Gotcha. The only thing I can think of as the possible "implement" from that paragraph is ice.

Yes, with ice. The detectives and Miss Candlestick. On the veranda.

You got it! Since it was a teamwork thing, I'll split the SBD between you and @anikekirsten. Good job, sleuths!

I never trust anyone who tells me who they are. You can almost make the opposite assumption about them. Clever story write, Jayna:)

Thank you, @prydefoltz. Hopefully it wasn't too obvious.

No it wasn't too obvious ... it was more like a piece of good foreshadowing. You have to lay clues or you aren't being fair to the your audience. I think you did that well:)

That’s good to know! You lose all perspective on your own stuff after a while. Ideally I would have been able to step away from it, but I was up against the contest deadline. Thanks so much!

I totally understand ... I write fiction too. Time is so essential to editing:)

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.
https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-19

Hooray! Thank you @muxxybot!

I liked the story and how you combine all the pictures to the story. You've got quite imagination.

Thank you! I really had fun writing it.

Clever, thanks for sharing! I love the Clue flavor :) I'm looking for Minnesotans to connect with and noticed your comment on the meet-up blog. Sadly I won't be able to attend on Mar 10 but look forward to future gatherings with MN Steemians. Here's my introduceyourself blog so we can connect in the meantime. I'll follow you and look forward to more of your creative offerings :)

Thanks for reaching out, @mininthevity. I look forward to reading your intro post. I totally forget there was a local meet up coming up, so thank you for the reminder. I hope to meet you in person at a local event sometime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81