Merry Muxxmas Contest #2 and Result from #1

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

merry muxxmas.pngOriginal Source

Four more sleeps to go!

 
I love this time of year. The faces of children, meeting up with family, the food, the decorations and the giving of gifts to loved ones.

I kicked off this series of posts last night, asking for comments which I upvoted at anywhere from $0.37 up to $1.80 by way of little gifts. I promised one lucky winner will receive the SBD payout from that post, which currently stands around 3.295 - or around $40 in FIAT. I am happy to announce that my winner from the first Merry Muxxmas contest is @stormriderstudio. I know he has been going through a tough time lately and I hope this puts a little smile on his face. His SBD will be sent in just under 7 days time.

Onto today's contest. I want to hear about your festive memories of Christmas past. Share something from previous years. Did you receive an awesome gift? Maybe you received unexpected but welcome visitors? Did the weather put paid to best laid plans? Was love on the cards?

You don't celebrate Christmas? Not a problem. Just something from whatever holiday you celebrate around this time of year.

Again, I will upvote the comments anywhere from $0.25 to around $1.00 - hoping others will join in and spread a little cheer. The comment I deem the best will go on to receive the SBD payout from this post. The more this post is shared and upvoted, the more they win.

Have a very Muxxy Christmas


Page divider source

Sort:  

Thank you for this amazing contest.I remember the last christmas year when my wife gave me gift of baby boy! cheers

Congratulations! My son and daughter were both born just after Christmas.

Muxxy, are they twins?

Lol, no. There are 5 years between them.

I think my favourite Christmas was when I was a teen, about 13 or so. A group of six of us decided to go Christmas caroling in the community to raise funds for a family in need.

We weren't very good at it but people were kind enough to donate a bit to the cause and we collected just over $100 on a cold December evening. The local Sally Ann told us of a family in the area where dad was a raging alcoholic and thwarted every effort to get things to the kids at Christmas.

The Sally Ann Captain had an idea though. We went and shopped for the kids. Had a ball doing it. Then wrapped the gifts and packed them into a sturdy box. The only markings on the box was to the family and the children.

Meanwhile, the Sally Ann Captain had a chat with the local Postmaster. He agreed to have the mail delivery person drop the box at the family's post box in the country at no charge. The totally anonymous nature of the delivery made it impossible for the father to refuse the gifts.

I received a valuable lesson about giving to others and letting that pleasure be the only return.

Favourite Christmas. I was sixteen and the farm was hit with a huge blizzard... power was out for two weeks so we were using the wood fireplace.
We live half a kilometre from the nearest highway where we had to park and walk back to the house; Even the tractor got stuck.
Feeding the cows was a huge feat done by all the teens from the different houses helping out; Indoor water was bringing in snow, melting it; cooking was using a propane tank on the balcony.

It sounds bad but it really is one of my favourite memories.

It's funny how hard times can create such treasured memories, isn't it?

I wish you a very Merry Christmas, and hope the weather isn't too bad.

That's what I tell people too... I remember at the time hating it but now its 'there were some good moments.'
Merry Christmas to you as well.

Lol. Last year i got malaria. This year Christmas came early--just recuperating.

Oh no, sorry to hear but glad you are getting better.

I hope this Christmas is a happy one for you.

I hope so too. Thanks.

Did you receive an awesome gift?

When I was 8 or 9 I was begging my parents for a cat for the whole year. The answer was "No". And in the christmas morning I've heard "meow-meow-meow" near my bed)

That's awesome!

What did you name it?

Vas'ka :)

p.s. thank you for your contribution.

I wanted to gift a person who is new to Steemit and her post has not received any love and so she might become despondent

So instead of asking something and coming up with something wittybfor me I hope you can instead visit her and give a little upvote

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@hobbok/a-pisces-woman-ebf27bfcd0ccd

What a great way of you spreading Christmas cheer!

I have upvoted her post by $1

Have a very Merry Christmas.

Omg thank you so much! I am so happy for her and words cannot express how both of us are thankful for this wonderful gift!

My pleasure.

Last year my Dad gave me smart phone as gift , i am still using it.

I remember when I was little - can't remember the exact age - we actually got something 'big' for Christmas. Mom had worked really hard to get us a Nintendo, something which we would never be able to breathe at, let alone get. In previous years, we didn't get much, but that year was a very big deal. It was the first year we had gotten an 'expensive' gift. I also remember back then women would volunteer to take kids in poverty to go and get coats, boots, hats, etc. I was one of those kids. Safe to say that anyone who knows my husband and I knows that we have come a very long way since the days of our youth.

Loading...

Fun thinking back to my favorite christmases. I remember my first bike. It was a Christmas present when I was 10. I rode all day in the snow and was so cold it hurt.

I also remember the first Christmas I spent in Brazil. NO SNOW! So weird to not have a white Christmas for me. The people in Brazil were so awesome to have me over to dinner because I had to family around. Awesome.

I remember a go-kart I received when I was 6 or 7. We had a long driveway and spent all day riding up and down in the cold. I spent the next day in bed with the flu.

Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63