Week 2 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite - Contest Closed

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

presents (4).png

A Favorite Freewrite

You have spoken and we are listening!! many of you indicated that you would like this initiative to be a regular occurrence at the Freewrite House.

Here is the plan. We are going to publish this post every Tuesday and you have at least 24 hours to respond. Usually more. As always, plans are subject to change - but that is it for now.



Another chance to win a membership to Steem Basic Income SBI at the Freewrite House.

Try to win one, my friends. A constant vote on your posts is nothing to sneeze at.

We want to make it super easy for you. Your task is to tell us in the comment section about one - or more- freewrites of others you have read in the last couple of days and really liked. Yup, not your own!!



In an ideal world, you also give that person a nice upvote and comment- but we are not going to check on that.

*So, to be entered into the drawing, tell us about a freewrite you liked and why. Choose from the last couple of days so others can go, visit inspired by your description, and leave a vote.

Here are the contest rules



Win, Win, Win!!!

You Tell Us for a Chance to Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

This is what you have to do for your chance to win a membership:

  • Leave us a comment as specified above*
  • The comment must have at least 50 words
  • We will let you know if your comment is accepted and give you a number.

Here is a free word count tool

Usually, at 5 PM Pacific time the day after the publishing of this post, we will close the contest and draw the winner through a random number generator. This will give you almost 36 hours to post your comment. But only this time, You have until Tursday morning Pacific time to post your selection.

The winner will be announced and sponsored the same day.



Finding a Freewrite

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of freewrites.



Join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@alimamasstory/5-minute-freewrite-prompt-cane

It makes me smile inside, having read this. She writes about two close friends and how they interact with each other. Sometimes life throws you a curve ball and it is only then, that you find out the true meaning of friendship. Her story depicts that very clearly and beautifully.

1 @pixiehunter

Yay!! You were able to take some time off from doing dishes to read some freewrites 😉

Lol, I told @brisby it was her turn. She almost said no way, until I grabbed the curry jar and opened the lid, in an attempt to throw it on her. :)

You are too funny!!!

@dennisauburn - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@dennisauburn/just-pull-em-in

This is my favorite one. It touched home for me. Our radio stations - at least in the The U.S.A. - are plagued with the same old tones I’ve been hearing at least since the days of my teen years. Most of us are caught in a loop of repeated songs that keep us stuck in old memories. Not saying all of the songs are terrible; however, there is so much more to music than the ones set on repeat on commercial radio.

Most of us never think to examine the images being produced by the words nor the energy the music creates in our bodies. No, we mindless sing along to the songs we all know because it is a very catchy toon. Take for example ”rap.” Most rap nowadays is filled with b..., n..., f..., here’s my bling-bling, that my hoe; basically, devoid of any meaningful, substantial content. Ask one who listens to this stuff and you’ll probably get ”I love the beat and I don’t listen to the words.” (Then ask if it is okay for you to speak to them in a similar way this ”song” does; duck! You might get hit as they shout f... NO N...! 😳) - I may have given a similar answer back in my teen years - I loved that depressing music.

Don’t we have Clear Channel to thank for this? Anyways, I’m sure I ruffled a few feathers with this one. 😛🙏🏼🤣😏

3 @tristancarax

No worries about ruffling feathers :) That was a great comment!!!

@freewritehouse shortly after I found out about the SBI, I connected with them. Shorty before writing this post, he got back to me saying he’d sponsor me. I haven't yet received the wallet message confirming this but He did assure me it is happening.

I only bring this up because I don’t know if this disqualifies me or not for more extra help should I be chosen this round or any other future rounds (I don’t fully understand how this SBI works). I’d like to keep things on the up and up.

Peace.

No worries. The more shares you have in SBI, the better. The beauty of the system is that it always benefits both parties. The one who sponsors and the one who gets sponsored. I know some people who have several hundred shares now. Each one adds a little bit to your vote. If we ever get rich, we would love to sponsor everyone every day :)

I agree with your observations. Commercial radio loops make me crazy.

Most of us never think to examine the images being produced by the words nor the energy the music creates in our bodies.
Music really does things in our minds and thoughts. It's one of the most powerful mediums.

I began crying one day when this sank in a bit. I had read Proganda by Endward Berneys and a few other books like it. It hurt to know.

Thank you for the book recommendation. It looks interesting.

A must read!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/remembering-grandma-a-short-story

This #freewrite from @byn, that she created from the prompt "sweater" is so touching. She did a little twist with the word, which made me want to read more. Stories about loved ones always make me remember my mamma, and byn's grandma story took me right there. @byn has been hitting it out of the park all week, and it's only Tuesday.

2 @wonderwop

You got that right. she is amazing!!!

Awww... your support means a LOT! Thank you for the wonderful comments. :)

We 💖 you!

I'll give this up to @byn with the way she immortalize her grandma with a heartrending story, funny, sad and bring hope to us all in the afterlife.
@byn is my favorite for this week with her post https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/remembering-grandma-a-short-story

6 @botefarm

byn really did it with this story - Well, she shines in all of her writing... Thank you for participating and remember, we will do this every Tuesday. Keep the good ones you read on​ your side to enter :)

Thank you so much for the support! I really really appreciate it and it makes me want to write more!

Please continue to post in our post promotion! This is the best way I can be involved as I set aside 2-4 hours at night to curate our group manually! I'm excited as I'm sure you will continue sharing these there! I must admit this is my first time outside of creators conference that I've visited free write but I have sent a couple of people this way! I look forward to more! Thank you for everything!

Thank you!!! I will post the prompt there as well ever so often :) Not every day...
Just an FYI - we are going to do this particular contest every Tuesday from here on out...

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wandrnrose7/the-fisherman-s-wife-day-194-5-minute-freewrite
Just this morning, after doing my freewrite, I was reading a few of the different other blogs and this one by @wandrnrose7 leapt out at me! I could picture a windswept wife waiting on the shoreline for her husband to come home. For memories to be constantly working inside of her and the feelings she would have. Loved it (even if it is sad, it is still great writing!) Well done

4 @mysecondself01

Oh, she is such a good writer and always pulls at my heartstrings!

I have 2 recent favorites:

  1. @improv for sweater: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@improv/sweater-5minutefreewrite
    I loved how he turned a girls wardrobe into a sea of sweaters and there was even a yarn whale. Then, like a true freewriter, his mind goes in a totally different direction and begins talking about something else. I love it when that happens.
  2. @byn for sweater: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/remembering-grandma-a-short-story
    This was such a fun story about her grandma, who kept everyone laughing at her expense.

7 @whatisnew

improv always delivers :) and so does byn - very different but both so good!!

I couldn't agree with you more. : )

Thank you, thank you! :) I appreciate your kind words and your support!

Interesting contest here, I'm nominating @improv.
I enjoy a lot of his posts, but since I have to pick one, --> https://steemit.com/freewrite/@improv/hook-5minutefreewrite

Many don't see it, but his writing style utilizes a lot of clever wordplay and unorthodox metaphors. As a song writer and hip hop head, I appreciate a good play on words. In this particular one he's following the topic "Hook" and proceeds to spin it into different meanings and puns. Its all fun, after all we are here to express ourselves in diverse manners. I suggest everyone checks it out. Thank you.

9 @ulqu3

His writing is great and so very creative. I am so glad you came over and joined the contest. Results will be posted tomorrow morning (my morning lol) (mw)

I'm probably biased because I love all things erotica, but I like this sexy story that captures the complexities of our human minds when we're in the throes of passionate thoughts. Contemplating and yet getting carried away by the physical at the same time.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@beemillz/day-195-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-the-entryway

8 @eroticabian

We are all biased :) Human nature. That is why we love to hear from you all what you like. thank you for participating!

Oh crap... I have been out f the loop for the last weeks. I promise I will name someone for next week!!

You have at least 20 more hours to find one you like :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54