Top Secret Homeschooling Activity. Level: ClassifiedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest6 years ago

The fact that I'm even writing a post about this is a borderline offense.  Are you familiar with Fight Club rules?

Rule number 1 and 2 apply to this project.


But here is what supercedes Rules #1 and #2  (but just barely)


Homeschool mom pride.

                                     

                                                                                                                                                     Source

So - I will continue to tell you the BASICS of this project, but you are all pretty much on a "need to know" basis.  I'm sorry.  But that's the confidentiality pact I have agreed to, and I'm sticking to it!


Before I get to the project - let me just preface it with a few more words.


We live in a very rural area.  So rural, it takes us 90 minutes to get to the grocery store.  


On the plus side, we have a pretty amazing community surrounding us.  It reminds you of one of those Hallmark movies.  On Christmas Eve, there was a knock at the door.  I opened it to 4 rosy-cheeked faces wrapped in plaid scarves, singing, "We wish you a merry Christmas" and handing us a plate of homemade almond brittle. 


                                               

                                                                                                                                                           Source

That's the kind of amazing I'm talking about.

Our kids get along with every other child in our neighborhood, and because they are all kindred spirits - they started Project OurTown.  Of course it's not really called OurTown!  "need to know", remember?


You have no idea how badly I wanted to post pictures of Project OurTown - but my daughter flat out refused.  (sigh)


Family A, B, C, and D have 15 children in total.  Seven of them created Project OurTown.


Family A has access to some land, and the children of Family A sectioned off plots to be "purchased" by children of Family B,C, and D.

Each child who decides to take up "residence" in Project OurTown will buy the land from the "government".  OurTown has a currency made of pieces of metal, hammered flat. There are two types of coins and each resident of OurTown receives the same amount of currency upon moving in.  They select a plot of land (each plot has different value based on location, size, and topographical features) and begin to clear the land.  They may hire others to help, or they can do the work themselves.  They cut trees, break down pallets, reuse materials that they find, and generally become amazing at repurposing all sorts of material!  If they have outside (real world) jobs, they might buy some things from the store and "sell" to their neighbor or barter for some services.  Today, they built a massive stage for holding talent competitions.  Tomorrow, there is an election happening.  The townspeople have been asking my daughter to consider becoming mayor.  (Excuse me while I wipe away a tear!!!)  

                                                       

Here's the thing!  As homeschool parents, we are always.... ALWAYS striving to have life create lessons, and hope that lessons apply to life.  Parents can come up with the greatest ideas, but we can't always sell our children on them!   


They fully embrace this idea because IT WAS CREATED BY THEM.  And the applications are absolutely ENDLESS.  Economics, politics, government, marketing, mathematics, engineering, wood working, social skills, teamwork, ingenuity, entrepreneurial spirit, leadership skills... and I'm sure you can probably come up with a bunch more!   I WISH I could claim this idea - because it's absolutely brilliant.  I can't claim it as my own  - but I can do one better.


I CAN CLAIM THE CHILDREN!!!  Is that not the pinnacle of every homeschool parent's aspirations?  That we give our children the tools to plan, think, and do!  I love that they aren't rushing to get their school done quickly so that they can play video games or watch TV.  They're filling their afternoons with being outside: building, dreaming, and exhausting themselves on fresh air, dirt, hard work and fraternity!  I have never been so happy to buy new jeans for my kids! hahahaha


As far as the age group and the materials needed for this project - it can be customized to any age group, really.  This particular project has children ranging from age 7 to 15.  The materials they used are based on their skill and age.  I wouldn't be handing a saw to a 6 year old!  But a 6 year old might want to use large cardboard boxes for their house.  Whatever tools they do use, I would highly suggest that a parent is on-site, just in case!  


I so wish that at some point, I can take a picture of this Project OurTown and post a follow up.  If not, I will totally respect their privacy and their protection of their little world!  Then, I will just hope that you can peek into your own little Project OurTown in your neighborhood and be amazed at what creativity lives inside these kids of ours! 


Happy to be among you!  Love that we're all impacting our children by investing our time and energy in their lives!   


This post is part of @pennsif 's homeschool activity contest listed here: Go check it out!!!!


The original post has been resteemed by me!!! and if any of you are homeschool parents - you should DEFINITELY enter the contest and share a great learning activity that you plan on doing - or have done successfully in the past!!! :)   Hope to see your entries there and meet some more kindred spirits :)    

Sort:  

Thank you for this insight into homeschooling... it helped to dispell some misunderstanding I had ... when someone tells you "I was homeschooled" my immediate reaction is "I gotta get out here" lol maybe I'll stick around next time ... thank you for your post

I don't know.... Some of those homeschoolers... Might be best if you DID run 😉

I hope they will somehow come to seriously understand the difference between leading and ruling, and that they will live by this:

"You shall love your neighbor as yourself."

Human government as we know it coopts people into egregiously violating that command without being consciously aware that they are doing it.

😄😇😄

@creatr

HOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW did i know you were going to pick up on the "government" issue and make a comment on it hehehehehehehe

well you know my children - and... you know they already live by that command ;)

but i don't know.... my daughter with all that power???? you know what they say... absolute power corrupts absolutely. LOLOOOL

and... on another note. I fell asleep while reading the post you sent me. I woke up multiple times (while also dreaming that i was reading your post) and the whole thing made absolutely NO sense whatsoever. I finally pushed myself to keep my eyes open long enough to finish the post and then promptly fell asleep. I woke up this morning to find my phone still open to your post.... and noticed that I didn't recognize the conversation two characters were having ...from the previous night's attempt to read.

I scrolled up and RE-READ your post and found that I had basically dreamed the most ridiculous twists and turns of your story and MY BRAIN was the culprit to your post not making sense.

It DID make sense in the morning (without my subconscious scribbles all over your script LOL) and was very good. I upvoted it - but since the post was from months ago.... my upvote was valuable in theory only hehehehehe

speaking of which.... i can't seem to stop draaaaaining the power of my vote LOLOLOL i'm at a mere 2 cents now. but now..... when i vote on something i can write "just my 2 cents!" in the comments and it will be metaphorical AND factual!!!!!! LOLOLOLOL

I didn't homeschool. Not because I have an opinion one way or another it just wasn't even on our radar.

I read your post and kind of felt a pang of "something" - I can't think of the word for the emotion. Sigh. It's a good thing anyhow. :) (Maybe it was the brittle brought to your door by singing carolers)

They're filling their afternoons with being outside: building, dreaming, and exhausting themselves on fresh air, dirt, hard work and fraternity! I have never been so happy to buy new jeans for my kids!

This. Is what it's all about!

I laughed at the beginning as you described what was happening in the community with Family, A,B,C,D.....and immediately went to a math question. If Family A cut some trees, and Family B hired 4 people to do the job, and Family C donated the land, what person in Family D became mayor? lol

I love this lesson and I thank you for sharing it.

oh @countrygirl. that almond brittle was the best i have ever ever ever tasted. my entire family (and visiting family included!!!) were fighting - WARRING over the last few pieces! What happened to the spirit of giving during Christmas!?!?!

they all said - yes! Exactly ! Spirit of Giving. GIVE IT TO MEEEEEEEE.

hahahahaha and yes - i so agree with you. it IS what it's all about!!!! LIFE! we are creatures in this beautiful creation by our wonderful Creator... let's actually interact with it and enjoy it! :)

LOLOLOL and mayor.... well... elections were today. we shall see, we shall see. hehehe

thank you for sharing your story with us very good post

Thanks! :) I can't wait to see how it all turns out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29